We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, welcoming , perfect”
Review of Palm Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Gallery Hotel
Ranked #21 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I travelled to Rome with my niece in November 2011. It was a first trip there for both of us. From the minute we were picked up by the hotel transport ( definitely worth it as hotel outside centre of Rome) the experience was fantastic. The driver pointed out some of the sights on the drive and the weather was warm and sunny. The hotel is a converted house, I noticed a previous review stating that they could hear noise through the thin walls, we didn't have that problem. We had a very early flight out of Gatwick and therefore arrived early but we were allowed into room. Daniel greeted us and couldn't have been more helpful. He offered to cook us breakfast or said we could help ourselves, choice of break toast, jams etc. The room was beautiful, tastefully furnished, comfortable beds. The room was light with 2 huge window looking out onto the quiet street. It was incredibly relaxing and after a busy few days in Rome you need to come back to a peaceful haven. Daniel, member of staff, gave us all the info we needed, bus routes, best hotels to eat etc and told us which buses to catch and where to catch them. He really couldn't have been more charming and helpful. We were straight off into Rome, the most beautiful city I have ever been to. There are many restaurants in central Rome but after getting the bus back to the Palm Gallery we just wanted to go somewhere close and within walking distance. As it is a residential area it is so quiet which was just what we wanted but luckily there are a lot of family run restaurants within 5-10 mins walking distance, no tourists, just Italian families which we loved ( check the list that the hotel give you as we went to a very expensive fish restaurant on the first night and all we wanted was a plate of pasta, although it was a nice place).
When we got back from all our walking on the first night, and it was dark and we were exhausted, Louisa, the owner was at the front door to greet us. She was welcoming and asked us about our day and offered us a glass of wine on the terrace. The small terrace ( where we had breakfast each morning) was beautiful, surrrounded by fruit trees and sheltered from the breeze, we found so much time had gone into making the hotel into a totally relaxing experience. Vincenzo and Daniel were a real joy, they couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and caring, I have never been on a holiday where I didn't want to leave but I really didn't. I loved Rome, I loved The Palm Gallery and hopefully we will be back in the Spring. Thank you so much to all of you. It was the perfect weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room onto the front, it was a large room with 2 beds , 2 chairs and coffee ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

739 - 745 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

Many wonderful reviews on this site. So here is my review. A bit out of the way. We chose to use the subway as the bus is a little adventurous for a short stay. About 20 min. walk to the subway station. A bit weary on the final walk home after walking around Rome all day. All the restaurants around are local place and by that I mean non-tourist hours. So if you arrive in the afternoon nothing will be open until 7:30 - 8:00PM, as in Rome, you know the rest.

Hotel is a renovated house. Rooms are very well done with nice classic furniture and a comfortable bed. Bathroom is clean, stylish, working towel radiator, gleaming and charming. Walls are thin. Door has padding on it presumably to block noise, but doesn't make a difference. You can literally join in the conversation of the neighboring room and hopefully they didn't hear us when our jet lag woke us at 3AM.

Only English channel available was the BBC news, not an uncommon experience in Europe.

Service was excellent. Breakfast was good. Nice meet and greet with good tourist information, good map reading skills are required.

It was a luxury guesthouse experience, old style backpackers will know what I mean, at 20 times the price.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
20  Thank Cam_6824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmgallery, Proprietario at Palm Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

I appreciate all the opinions about my hotel and the experience that you had.
Anyway I need to precise that the subway station is at 1km (0,6 miles) and usually it takes 13 minutes . And most important, to reach it, you pass trough one of the bus stops close to the hotel (3 minutes) where you can catch a direct bus to the city center, Vatican, Colosseum, Termini station,...
All the Restaurants in Rome (also in the City center) are closed between lunch time and dinner time. Anyway it's always easy to eat a snack, salad,... Also in our area there are good places open all the day and at the Palm Gallery Hotel we serve drinks, snacks, bruschetta's, prosciutto, mozzarella, tomatoes,.....
Our area is very quiet, no traffic and no crowd. During the night it's totaly silent, that emphatizes even a low internal noise. The noise perception is something very individual,.... anyway it's difficult to hear the voice of next door guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Prior to arriving in Rome, I had conversed with Luisa on numerous questions via email and she was always extremely responsive and helpful. She even helped me organise a restaurant on New Year's eve - the day we arrived in Rome.

On arrival, she greeted us warmly and organised some snacks and coffee as she gave us tons of information on what to do and see in Rome, and how to get around the city. This was such a wonderful welcome that made us completely at ease - this being our first time in Rome. That night, after dinner, she organised champagne and nibblies on the terrace rooftop as we celebrated the new year.

Every morning, she lays out a great breakfast that includes cereals, freshly baked bread and pastries, cooked eggs any way you like, coffee, juice, etc. This in many ways is so much better than nearly 80% of all hotels I have stayed in. For the new year's day breakfast, she even cooked up some special local italian dishes as our brunch. All in all great amazing, home cooked food for us all!

The hotel is very conveniently located just outside the city centre, plenty of good restaurants, a small supermarket nearby for groceries, and close to all types of buses. It is in a nice and safe residential neighbourhood, so gives you a nice feeling of living like a local.

The hotel itself is very safe, we left our laptops out on the desk all day while we were out. There is an in room safe which we kept our passports and valuables in.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough - it is very good value for money and much better than a cramped European hotel room. With the included cooked breakfast, and wonderful staff, what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Service was excellent. People at hotel were of amazing help. Our luggage was lost by TAP and people at the hotel were very helpful at all times. Room is really nice. At arrivel, we were served complimentary snacks because we were hungry. The only drawback is that hotel is not close to Colosseum and Trevi, but overall it is a great choice for it´s price, quality and service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The personnel of the Palm Gallery is just extraordinary - thank you for the good service and advice (particularly when there was an one day bus strike during our five day visit).

Public transport is very easy to reach and access to any city attractions is simple. As the hotel is not in the very city centre the restaurants, shops and other services nearby are local by price and quality. Our room was large, clean and very differently decorated ... not like hotel rooms usually.

Staying at Palm Gallery made us feel like home in Rome.

Paula & Jukka

Room Tip: Pictures and stories describing the rooms on the web-site are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JukkaPaananen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I can't imagine a more divine, elegant, warm experience for my first trip to Rome, Italy, and Europe! If they had a million stars I would give it to this hotel. Luisa, Daniel, Lorenzo, Vincenzo, and others (all the men working at the hotel) thank you for an amazing experience. This woman knows her stuff! They will graciously give you anything in their ability you ask for and recommend exactly what you are looking for! Thank you and will see you again soon! Buon Natale!

Room Tip: If you want an authentic experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allyson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We've been there 6 months ago, and i would choose this place again without an hesitation.
Very Good Value.
A little out of the center (just enough) in a very nice and peacefull area, but still with a very fast access to it.

The Welcome is perfect.....they make you feel at home right away.

Couldn't make a better choice.

Room Tip: No Worries, every room are perfect, then to get a better view or a bigger room, there is an extra co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,924 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#11 of 1,271 in Rome
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
4,310 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,271 in Rome
2,806 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#13 of 1,271 in Rome
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Gallery Hotel

Address: Via delle Alpi 15D, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £85 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 stars hotel, located in a very charming area 2 km from Spanish steps, in a liberty villa with garden, totally renovated. Design and liberty rooms. Private bathrooms, wifi, safety box, minibar, air conditioning, LCD TV, personal scale, hairdryer. Fresh pastries and high quality breakfast, wine & cocktail bar, airport pick-up, babysitter, indoor & outdoor relax area, solarium terrace and small swimmingpool, store, fitness, rooftop terrace & garden events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Palm Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing