We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most friendly and cozy hotel in Rome”
Review of Palm Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Gallery Hotel
Ranked #20 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most friendly and cozy hotel in Rome”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The hospitality is really great: you feel like being at home
Rooms are furnished with excellent taste: modern and charmy
Super nice outdoor space in a quiet area, but very close to the city center

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarloTo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    175
    31
    4
    4
See reviews for
262
568
48
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Louisa Lorenzo Vincento and Daniel a big thank you for making our 3 days in Rome wonderful. Right from the warm check in with Louisa to the a la carte breakfast to the evening drinks in the garden with other residents, the palm gallery was perfect. Nestled in a lovely residential area with plenty of close by eating options the hotel was exactly what we wanted. But the personal attention warmth and helpfulness of all the people mentioned - priceless !! A big hug to the puppies catarina and baldasare too

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaglesarethebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed at Palm Gallery for four nights. What a beautiful hotel. Lorenzo and Vicenzo were so hospitable and kind. This was my first trip to Europe, and they were very helpful for these "newbie" travelers. The hotel is in a quiet, residential area, but it's convenient to city transportation and numerous restaurants and stores within walking distance.

We absolutely recommend Palm Gallery to anyone wanting a great travel experience in Rome!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherylBoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed at the Galley Palm as a solo female traveler. My objective was to feel safe and be able to meet people.

The Galley Palm not only met my expectations but exceeded them. The hotel is a 10 Euro taxi ride from Rome Terminus or closer to Timbutina. I was concerned about the location being more residential than central Rome. However this turned out to be one of the great things about the hotel. It's on a quiet tree lined street, where you can hear children laughing and playing from a local school. There are wonderful restaurants walking distance away which get you out of the tourist traps and give you a delightful authentic Italian dining experience.
I was met by the hotel staff who were amazing in their knowledge, friendly nature and willingness to assist in anyway to make your experience in Rome great. I felt like I was being welcomed into a beautiful Roman home. On arrival I was taken to the terrace for Prosecco and olives. The terrace area is a delight and I loved sitting out there enjoying the weather and meeting other guests of the hotel. It was friendly and sociable.
The room was gorgeous and sparkling clean, I felt safe and relaxed.
The owner of the hotel is an absolute delight, she will socialize chat and consistently ensure you are well taken care of. One of the other woman staying at the hotel became ill while I was there. The owner went out of her way to help and support her which was so lovely to see as this woman was also traveling alone.
The breakfast was gorgeous, nothing but the best fresh produce which I enjoyed every morning out on the terrace of course!
I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Rome, 6 stars!

Room Tip: My room didn't pick up Wifi, so if this is an issue for you make sure you don't get this roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amandah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
295 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My husband found this hotel using Trip Advisor. It is the sort of place that will be a terrific solution for certain types of travelers, and others will find it too challenging. The good points:
It is set on a quaint street outside the city center. You are in a neighborhood and there is not a tourist stand in sight. The staff is gracious and helpful and truly wish to have you enjoy your stay. They will arrange for taxis, have maps that show restaurants within walking distance, give you help with bus and metro lines, and are in general very good at what they do. The rooms are not large, but very comfortable. My husband said the bed was the most comfortable by far of all the places we stayed, including a 4 star place in Budapest. My kids got a kick out of having special embroidered towels with dinoasaurs, cars, animals waiting for them in their room, even though they are teens. The air conditioning works well in the rooms, which was essential during our stay when temperatures were in the 90s. The common rooms are not kept as cool. There is a lovely breakfast served in the morning with a variety of pastries, fruit, meats, and eggs if you request them. The have two cats, two turtles, and at the time of our stay two puppies on the premises. My kids got a kick out of playing with the cats and watching the puppies cavort outside during our stay. So why might this place not work for you? It is in a home and there are no elevators, so if you have trouble with stairs, you might find it hard to manage. Although they can call you a cab that will arrive in about 4-5 minutes, many cabbies in the city do not know where the hotel is located. We were careful to travel with a piece of paper with the name and address written out, plus a map with the location marked. And because it is a bit out of the way, not all cabbies are eager to drive you there because they can't easily grab a new fare. Although I know you don't need to tip cabbies in Rome, given the circumstances, I did provide a few euro tip to the drivers who had been willing to wander outside of the typical tourist area and they were very grateful. If you are very comfortable with taking public transportation, there is a metro stop about 1 km away and several bus stops that can get you to the major attractions. We had little time in Rome and wanted to stay "up top" so we could see the city, and given the heat, we weren't intrepid enough to try our luck on the buses. Again, this is a wonderful find for the right sort of traveler - but if your goal is to be near city center to "do" the big sites and have more amenities such as pool, spa, elevator, this is not the place for you. During our stay Luisa had been called away by a family emergency and we were not able to meet her. Which is a shame as she seems a big part of the hotel's appeal. Although I will say the other staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed here as a group of 12 for three nights In May 2012. Was particularly central to ammenities and local public transport into the centre of Rome was a 15 minute ride by tram. The staff were very friendly and helpful with all our enquiries. The afternoon drinks in the garden was a highlight seated beneath a large umbrella to shelter us from the sun. The rooms were all well appointed and clean.
Staff were able to point us in the direction of good meals and a generous list of tourist information to attractions about Rome including the Vatican and Colosseum.
The breakfasts were basic but filling, and the welcoming beverage on arrival was very much appreciated after a long haul.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012 via mobile

In a nutshell, worth way more than the price. My husband and I were spending our last night of a 10-day vacation at the Palm Gallery, upon recommendation of a travel agent. After a very fast, hectic stay and trip from Venice, we arrived by taxi positively exasperated and exhausted-- ready to go home. It seems that everything we had tried to do the prior 24 hours was a bit of a fiasco, and we were disenchanted by the rudeness and (way) over-priced tiny room we had in Venice at a 4.5 star hotel, where we were regarded as unwelcome invaders. The moment I stumbled out of the taxi at Palm Gallery, I was warmly greeted by Luisa, proprieter of the tidy, beautiful, picture-perfect little B&B. She knew and said my name when she saw me (her best guess) because she was anticipating our arrival, which delighted me (Feeling welcome before I even got inside the door). We barely had to say hello on the street-side before a concierge whisked our luggage up the stairs to the hotel ground level. This may seem obvious and expected, but this is not the norm in a bed and breakfast setting, in my exprience. And by then we were good and tired of the 5 suitcases we carried with us. Luisa immediately invited us to relax and get comfy on the lovely private terrace that was hugged by beautiful trees, flowers, and greenery. Lorenzo, one of Luisa's right hands and jack of all things, had us relaxing and sipping a crisp white wine within a minute of arriving, and they checked us in and carried our luggage up to our room while we sat comfortably. It was so nice there that we lounged for a couple hours before even seeing our room, nibbling on little goodies brought to us (unsolicited) to accompany our wine. When we finally ascended the wide, single-flight, spiral staircase to freshen up and change for dinner, our attitudes had entirely adjusted. We entered our (panoramica) room (one of only ten rooms) in the corner of the cozy home to find a spacious, tastefully-decorated bedroom, with very tall rectangular windows that had been left ajar for us to create a peaceful cross breeze that smelled faintly of the flowers and garden a floor below outside. The room felt anything but cramped, offered two comfy futon-chairs and a TV (if that matters to you) among the furnishings. We slept like bears in a big, cozy, inviting bed as comfortable as ours was at home. The bath and tile was nicely and newly finished. It was equipped with a good, satisfying shower and amenities that offered wee comforts. We were happy to discover that the room came equipped with a wall outlet with US voltage so we could charge up our iPhones before morning. Lorenzo, after carefully inquiring as to our likes and dislikes, preferences, and favorites, recommended to us a lovely, peaceful, authentic restaurant where we were treated like special guests. We dined on baked artichokes and the best Osso Buco I have ever tasted, by far. We couldn't round up our evening without spending another hour on the aromatic terrace to drink in a bit more of the comfortably warm Rome evening, and we enjoyed a nightcap offered by Lorenzo while requesting taxi service for our early morning trip to the airport. And in the early hours, we again laid not a finger on our luggage as the concierge greeted and loaded the taxi. And we enjoyed a couple of perfect espressos on the terrace, sorry that we wouldn't have time to enjoy what we had no doubt was a scrumptious breakfast (which is included, and which, by the way, they will happily serve you no matter what time of day you opt to rise.) These lovely folks have mastered the art of making their guests feel at home and relaxed. This place was perfect. It will be our only choice for hotel the next time we are in Rome. We rode away satisfied and smiling. (Tip your concierge well !!! They certainly don't expect it but undoubtedly go out of their way for you every moment you are out of your room.) ---Jackie and Scott from Virginia, US

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,559 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Gallery Hotel

Property: Palm Gallery Hotel
Address: Via delle Alpi 15D, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 stars hotel, located in a very charming area 2 km from Spanish steps, in a liberty villa with garden, totally renovated. Design and liberty rooms. Private bathrooms, wifi, safety box, minibar, air conditioning, LCD TV, personal scale, hairdryer. Fresh pastries and high quality breakfast, wine & cocktail bar, airport pick-up, babysitter, indoor & outdoor relax area, store, fitness, rooftop terrace & garden events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Palm Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing