We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm in a great city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Gallery Hotel
Ranked #20 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in a great city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Palm Gallery Hotel for our 10th wedding anniversary. I'd booked it as a surprise for my wife, and arranged everything via email directly with the hotel, in English, which was easy. We had a 'mare and missed our flight (best laid plans and all that), and had to ask a friend to contact the hotel to change our booking - no mobile signal where we were in UK - but this was also no trouble. My wife is gluten-free and they laid on a brill breakfast for her as well. Our room was lovely, just what was needed after a day pounding the streets looking at the sights. Clean, cool, airy, and with a comfy bed. Also UK-style 3 pin sockets. not just continantal ones. Daniel in particular was very helpful with maps of what buses to get (don't wait for the 89; it never arrives!), suggestions of where to go and how to do it, he helped us book tickets for the Vatican, gave us maps of the area etc. Breakfast was deliciious, and if every you wanted something they obliged. Local restaurants were good, particularly Il Butteri for steak or lamb. 40 min walk to city centre, 30 minute walk to Termini. Would definitley stay here again if we came to Rome.

Room Tip: Don't know what the other rooms were like but ours was second floor 2i, overlooking a quiet resi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ochapman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    168
    31
    4
    4
See reviews for
252
555
46
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My family of 6 adults spent 3 wonderful nights at the hotel if September 2013. We chose based on Trip Advisor and other reviews. It was all we hoped for and more. Luisa, Daniel, even Eugenia and all the other staff enveloped us in their warmth. From our arrival, we were treated with warmth and hospitality that has not been matched in any of our other hotels. The front patio was lovely, the resto suggestions were delicious, rooms were lovely, breakfast perfect. Louisa took us to the bus station for our trip to Sorrento, we were rather late so she parked and came in to the station to see if we made the bus!!! After Sorrento, we returned to the Palm Gallery for one night before we returned to Canada. It was like coming back to a good friend. As we were 6 adults, we taxied to the centre of Rome for 14euro which was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majahTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Palm Gallery is such a wonderful hotel!! I spent one day at the hotel last weekend and I was so impressed - it feels as though the owners and staff really treat you as a welcomed guest. The garden and outdoor patio are particularly charming and relaxing – the perfect place to unwind outside in nice weather. It also helps that Giancarlo, Luisa, and Vincenzo were so welcoming on the patio with wine and espresso. Also, the interior design of the hotel is really unique – it is like wandering through a home after the Home & Garden TV staff has remodeled with all these amazing touches. The historical stonework, the bathroom fixtures, the tiles on the staircase landings, the quality of the linens, the furniture and painting choices – everything has been thoughtfully designed and curated in a way that is really cool to see!! It was a total pleasure to be at this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I spent three nights and three wonderful days at what I would call the best home away from home in Rome. Daniel (spelling?) was our host for my group of five and he was an absolute darling. He provided a local's perspective as well as invaluable information which imparted a unique sense of Rome. The breakfasts were delicious and the coffee was a dream. My group became infatuated with cappuccinos and espressos all day long.

If you can book early enough in the year, this is the only place you should consider.

Room Tip: You could not book a better place if you tried.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank urza101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK South
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Excellent hotel in a quiet part of Rome but within reasonable distance of the centre. Extremely helpful staff and a great room. The whole package represented good value for money. Would definitely return here if we went back to Rome. Great range of good value restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalBUKSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Nestled into a quiet neighborhood, only 15 minutes (by taxi) from the center of Rome, this 3* hotel was a quiet respite after our two full days of site seeing. We were greeted with Daniel’s broad smile and invitation to sit in the garden terrace and enjoy a drink. We toasted to Italy with Prosecco! He was very helpful with making dinner reservations for us, and a list of good local restaurants. Being a bit removed from the tourist center, these restaurants provided a taste of authenticity. Our room was very adequate in size and the amenities were better than most 3* hotels. But we were told by other hotel guests that their room was extremely small, so this is something to be careful about when making reservations. Breakfast was a buffet, along with eggs cooked to our preference from the kitchen, but the quality was hit and miss. Pro’s and con’s: It’s nice to get away from the frenzy of the center of Rome, but one must also account for taxi or bus fares. There’s a quirky mixture of Italian, Kenyan and Middle Eastern decorating styles; one must walk through the rather messy front office in order to reach the garden; the music (often too-loud) is not a style that most people would enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackhillssilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

There's no place like Rome.
More than 1200 years of history as one of the world's capitals surely leave a mark.
It is not a city to be visited but to be lived because that's the reason why it was built.
Living Rome is most definitely one of the most rewarding things to be done in a lifetime, but it can be tiring.
In the weekend I spent in the city I was lucky enough to know that after endless hours spent wandering around I would go back for a good night's sleep at the Palm Gallery Hotel.
One of the main reasons why the PGH is more similar to a home than a hotel is because it actually is.
The owner Luisa inhabits and runs the hotel as she would run a family, with open arms and an open heart.
She personally furnished the beautiful villa following her good taste, to best display and use the collection of furnitures and objects brought back from her multiple trips around the world.
The hotel's staff is happy to listen, talk and help, providing a service that goes beyond that of a conventional hotel and closer to an unconventional family, made of all the people that make the Palm Gallery Hotel their home in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valnicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,364 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Gallery Hotel

Property: Palm Gallery Hotel
Address: Via delle Alpi 15D, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 stars hotel, located in a very charming area 2 km from Spanish steps, in a liberty villa with garden, totally renovated. Design and liberty rooms. Private bathrooms, wifi, safety box, minibar, air conditioning, LCD TV, personal scale, hairdryer. Fresh pastries and high quality breakfast, wine & cocktail bar, airport pick-up, babysitter, indoor & outdoor relax area, store, fitness, rooftop terrace & garden events. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing