We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but strange policies”
Review of Palm Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Gallery Hotel
Ranked #21 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel is very pretty and the service was great. The only thing we thought was very odd was the fact that they make you leave your room key in a bowl right by the front door before you go out. Can someone say security issues? The key ring has your ROOM NUMBER ON IT. There are so many things wrong with this: all the keys are in a bowl by the front door (that's always wide open), the "front desk" isn't even in visible sight of the bowl (so any random person could come in and take your key, knowing that you're not in the room AND knowing your room number, and get in. Their reasoning for this extremely ridiculous policy is that the key chains are so important and they want to know when you're out of the room...hello? Can't they just knock like every other hotel? And if the key chains are so important, why do they put them on the key rings anyways? This raised major security issues for us. When we voiced our concerns about this, all the man had to say was: "nothing ever happens here". Oh okay, I'm sure that's what everyone said before a crime happened.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
7  Thank Nikki0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmgallery, Proprietario at Palm Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

As soon as you arrived, you expressed your worries about the security, traveling in a big city, so young, so far from your house. The receptionist tried to provide you with all the information, reassurances and suggestions. Your tripadvisor profile confirms you were at your first traveling experience.
What is described about the security issue is not correct and suggests a wrong situation.
The reviews should express personal opinions, that are all welcome, but they should be fair, I mean they should describe correctly the hotel services, procedures, etc.. All of us, in our life, learn and practice to express solid and careful comments,.. maybe we should write hotel comments with the same attitude.
Why thousand of previous guests didn’t complain about the security?
First of all our property is in a private garden. To enter you have to open a gate, ringing or opening it by an internal key. Then you have to cross the garden, climb some steps and then you arrive at the internal gate (the open one mentioned in the review). This path and other areas are completely monitored by videocameras that also record everything happens 24hours. So no external or “random” people can be around, like it happens in the big hotels. The receptionist has a multisection-screen video with all images of the cameras, just in front of him. The reception is 1 meter from the Keys-bowl and the receptionist is there, greeting people coming in and out. During the day there are 4 people staff cleaning. The rooms are only 10 and at least 5 people staff working around.. and quite often me. All the rooms are provided with safety boxes.
Just to mention… Last may some guests have already checked out and our housekeeping staff found in their room a very nice, precious gold neck-lace. We emailed them,… the lady didn’t even supposed to have left the necklace here! (review Un HOTEL EXCELENTE1! UNM LAR EN ROMA! May 2014).
The housekeeping staff found a platinum wedding ring… check the review: Everything we hoped for … and MUCH more (November 2010)
The most of our guests, going out and coming back, like to manage the room-key just dropping it in the bowl, …. just very easy and fast. During our hotel experience, few people felt more comfortable leaving the room-key to the receptionist and we kept the key with us…. It’s easy to manage the room-key according the guest favorite way. You took the key with you, during all your stay, when the receptionist, proposed you to keep your key-room with himself, you refused and continued to bring the key with you.
We ask our guests to leave the keys in the hotel because we like to know who is inside who is outside (….. we take care and monitor the situation). We don’t like to knock at the rooms, disturbing people. We don’t like the keys go outside the property, to avoid to miss them and to ensure their uniqueness. Then … yes we have amazing key pendants, that I bought traveling all around the world and I am worried to miss them. I would like to have a small hotel, with nice details….we are not looking to be "standard". Thousand of guests have been pleased of our unique hotel, our attentive service, charming details and decorations which took me a long work, a lot of love.
Maybe other people, in your case would have not missed to mention in the review the room upgrade. As usual, we like to upgrade the room when it’s available and possible. You booked a discounted Double Design room and at the check-in we informed you about the upgrade (it would have been considered a nice welcome). We accommodated you in a Liberty room (the price should be 30% more the one you paid). There are many excellent reviews and posted pictures of that room (D2). Maybe other people would have also not missed to mention our breakfast, which you seemed enthusiastic about, tasting our different options and indulging everyday. So it’s odd to understand why you rated 3 the quality/price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Excellent personal service..we checked in on very hot afternoon and were greeted with a big smile, a beer for my husband and cold drink for myself. While we had our drink staff had already taken up our luggage, switched the a/c on opened up the louvres and turned on the English channel news for us. Very thoughtful and considerate service from everyone we came into contact with. The breakfast room is a haven , has a morrocan feel and food is varied with lots of small fresh choices and excellent juices, teas, freshly baked cake . You can order eggs anyway you like also. We do like to get the feel of every country by staying more residential rather than business corporate style and this did hit the mark. If you are not confident with travelling on public transport systems ,although very easy in Rome, you will have to taxi it. Staff extremely helpful with all your tourist map needs.

Room Tip: We had S4 which may be the largest room end of the first floor corridor ...very quiet, plenty of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karinr613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Palm Gallery Hotel is a beautiful, small hotel on the outskirts of Rome. Based on the Tripadvisor reviews, my wife and 2 kids stayed at the hotel in early August 2014. After a long drive from Cinque Terre, It was nice to be personally greeted by one of the staff members (Vincenzo) and then offered a cold drink. We then spent the next 20 minutes getting a lay of the land as Vincenzo used a city map to show us the Rome hot spots. Our room was modern and very comfortable.

My wife and i were torn on the hotel location. On the positive side, the neighborhood is not touristy and there are great local restaurants nearby. One issue we had was constant dog barking. Many of the local residents enjoyed walking their dogs early in the morning. On the negative side, you are far removed from the action. Its a 10 minute walk to the nearest Metro stop.

Ok, so location is a bit of an issue, but the bigger problem at the hotel itself was the service, and the hotel seemed to be understaffed. The shower drain in our room was clogged and we asked twice to have someone fix it, but nothing was ever done. Another problem was security. There is a locked metal gate and a staff member needs to buzz you in for entrance into the hotel. One time, there was nobody around to buzz us in, so my son figured out a way to 'sneak' us in. On another occasion, Vincenzo was unable to gain entry because no other staff member was around to buzz him in, so i had to do it. In aggregate, we saw a total of three different hotel employees over a 4 day period.....and these employees were all very helpful in their own way.

Overall, my rating is more like 3.5, but i believe the hotel needs to have some staffing issues resolved before i considered going back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skatz927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmgallery, Owner at Palm Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

I am sorry about your problems.
The main gate, during the day, is provided with a key that each customer can easly use to open... Maybe it's summer time, it's hot...... and one day... a mistake or a fault occurred... but it might be only a mistake and not a staff lack.
Anyway, we have 10 rooms and our staffing is over-dimensioned according to the italian hotel standards.. We dedicate one person for more or less 30 minutes to each check-in, serving welcome drinks and providing maps, informations,....
The receptionists are available to support our customers organizing their stay, museums reservations, buying tickets,..... Maybe you met the 3 different receptionists, but it should be right.

Total hotel staff: 8 person plus my personal effort.
Our permanent staff are:
3 receptionists who work in shift (7.30AM- 1AM) and one person for the night assistance (1AM - 7.30AM).
1 partime person for breakfast, who works from 6AM till 11.30AM. We serve breakfast from 8am till 11.30AM but the breakfast is available at anytime our customers like to wake-up or need it (night/early check-out, ...).
3,5 person for house-keaping who provide an obsessive cleaning....... Plus other collaborations for maintenance, supplying,...
None reported to me you had problems.
I really appretiate customers who to let us know if they have a problem during their stay, in order to solve it or at least try our best. The receptionists and me would have been pleased to make your stay more comfortable. Coversely it's frustrating, after an apperently smooth relationship, to realize some customers had unsolved problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stay at this hotel three night. Our room is small but very clean and quiet. The staff are very nice and help us a lot. This hotel serves excellent breakfasts, my wife and I are like it very much. The hotel located at the residential district near the downtown, we arrival there by city bus. We will choose this hotel again when next time we visit the ROME.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My family and I spent a really enjoyable few days at the Palm Gallery Hotel. We enjoyed the fact that it was out of the centre of town. It was easy to use public transport/ taxi and we felt like we were retreating from the crowds at the end of the day. We also liked eating out in more 'local' authentic restaurants. The Palm Gallery has lots of other things going for it. We loved the style of the place, the beautiful garden to sit and relax in, the lovely breakfast, but most of all the helpful, friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Triple room was lovely. Big and airy. Quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My girlfriend and myself had a great stay at the place.
It's a little bit outcentered, in a quite neighbourhood.
The reception was great. More that the kind welcome I'm used to get, here we were welcomed as if we arrived in a familiar place, with a bright smile and a nice refreshing drink. We waited on the comfortable terras for our rooms to be ready, and while waiting, we got all the information we needed to know about the city and the neighbourhood.
The bedrooms were not the biggest but more than ok.
And then there was the breakfast in the morning. I have been to Italy often, in this kind of hotels, and I have never seen a breakfast like this one. That's often the most disapointing part of a stay in Italy, but here it was a highlight.
And the people at the reception and at your service are the most friendly ever encountered.
The only thing, why I don't give it 5 stars, is the unfortunatly fact that we were woken up by the ringing of the doorbell in the middle of the night because the reception bell was broken and I had to open the door. But that doesn't happen very often I think.
Thanks for the great stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ThibaudDr-eren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I took my new girlfriend to Rome in July this year and spent ages trying to find a hotel which was reasonably priced, peaceful and within walking distance of the main attractions (or within easy access to public transport).

I booked a private fare from Ciampino airport to the hotel which the hotel staff arranged for me. On our arrival staff were very welcoming and cheerful taking up out bags to the room.

Initial impressions were that it is a small and quiet place, but at the same time very friendly and welcoming. The room itself was a standard double, with a small but decent bathroom and shower. It was very clean and modern looking with a free combination safe, free wifi, decent air con and digital TV. The towels and sheets were changed regularly, and the room cleaned daily. No issues with security at all. The street outside is relatively quiet even at 9-10am so having a lie in is no problem.

The hotel provides breakfast, which is cooked to order and a small continental style buffet is available should you want it. It's basic but there is no restaurant as such just a breakfast room.

The outside patio area is really nice in the evenings and we enjoyed a few cocktails, bottles of wine during our stay and had a good chat with the other guests (of which we didn't see many).

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the nearest metro station and 2-3 minutes to the nearest bus stop. I advise getting a Roma card which provides 72 hours of free travel with any mode of transport. We mostly used the metro which is extremely easy to navigate as it's essentially a big 'X'. Took the bus to the Vatican, easy to catch but a nightmare ride, it was 30C plus and packed with other sweaty tourists. Took the Metro back. I would ignore other comments about it being too far away, it's a short walk. The only time it may be an issue is if you have mobility issues or are elderly in which case the walk can be hard in hot weather, otherwise we found it quite pleasant. All the major attractions are easily accessible and the staff are very good at providing directions, instructions and recommending places to eat. Daniel in particular was really helpful and always came over to say hi and ask about our day.

Overall a real little gem which offers a bit of peace in a maniacally busy city. Would definitely come back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,107 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,272 in Rome
3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,272 in Rome
2,883 reviews
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#13 of 1,272 in Rome
431 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,272 in Rome
4,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Gallery Hotel

Address: Via delle Alpi 15D, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £82 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 stars hotel, located in a very charming area 2 km from Spanish steps, in a liberty villa with garden, totally renovated. Design and liberty rooms. Private bathrooms, wifi, safety box, minibar, air conditioning, LCD TV, personal scale, hairdryer. Fresh pastries and high quality breakfast, wine & cocktail bar, airport pick-up, babysitter, indoor & outdoor relax area, solarium terrace and small swimmingpool, store, fitness, rooftop terrace & garden events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Palm Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing