We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Olive Garden - Great traditional dining in Rome”
Review of Spinosi

Spinosi
Ranked #9,971 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vatican / Borgo
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Not Olive Garden - Great traditional dining in Rome”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My family wandered in here after several days of overpriced lackluster meals at flashier places. It was the best meal we've had in 4 days. I have to agree with the perspective that if you want a picky restaurant experience this might not suit you, but if you want to a great meal in the classic Italian tradition, stop in. Graziella and Alberto are charming (if a bit gruff) and enjoy feeding fine traditional meals to appreciative folks. This is no frills, high flavor food with classic "table" wine for lunch. This is not "Olive Garden", but if you have any sense of adventure or appreciation for family dining, you will not be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank edbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    20
    18
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Alberto and Graziella”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

After reading the bad reviews, I felt compelled to add my thoughts! Our family considers any visit to Rome to be incomplete without a meal at A. Spinosi! The review several lines down, by Margaret, from Kentucky is the real scoop on this delightful place. If you walk in, tell Graziella that you want "insalata, pizza, pasta" she will size up your group, give you family style platters of glorious homestyle italian food that is just enough, and you will leave full of wonderful food and having had a truly roman experience. If you are the kind of americans who go to Italy and want to have everything be just like it is at home; order from a menu and say things like "can you substitute walnuts for the almonds and put the sauce on the side?", don't eat here! If you want to feel as though you are really part of the culture, you can't pick a better spot for lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stop here”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

The food is terrible. Worst restaurant ever... even if tired after vatican museums it would be better to continue.

Helpful?
2 Thank sowy2net
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An experience that will have you talking for months afterwards.”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

On a busy Wednesday, after having mass with the Pope, the streets around the Vatican were jammed packed with people making it difficult to find a place for lunch. We came across this restaurant and decided to give it ago. As soon as we sat down we were "greeted" by the head honcho of the restaurant. The older Italian lady, proceeded to shout, literally shout various types of pasta at us. Funniest thing we have ever come across. To our surprise, the food just started to arrive out of no where, we didnt place an order, so we had to just eat what we were given. The food was really good actually and the Italian Lady was the main entertainment, watching how she interacted with the other customers, which was totally unbelievable and definatly worth a visit simply for her. Just a tip, if you can, ask the price before hand as it cost us 30euros for a bowl of salad!!! We couldn't actually ask the price as the lady of the house never let us get a word in! An experience we will fondly talk about, but not likely to return, once is enough for anyone!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HaughtyDerision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“''GIVE THIS PLACE A WIDE BERTH''”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Starving and exhausted after a long visit to the Vatican Museums, with three kids in tow, we stumbled upon what we thought was just the right spot for a quick lunch -----
we couldnt have made a worse choice !!!!!!
We were 'greeted' by 'the lady of the house'-who chose to 'bark' at us from the word 'go' --------ACQUA LISCIA ----O ...GASSATA ? even before we had taken off our coats--we considered leaving ---but for some reason chose to stay -even though the place stank -the decor left much to be desired ---and Graziella (the lady of the house ) hardly gave us 30 seconds to decide what to choose from the Menu !!!!!!!!!!-
the Pizza,(served in a soup plate !!), was minute and raw in the middle --the chips were burnt and the red wine was chilled -Our hearts went out to the poor husband-and waiter (incidentally ,the restaurant belonged to husband's father!!)
it was horriific -but so glad we did stay --because in hindsight it was one of the most amusing intances of our trip to Rome -----we just havent stopped talking about it !!! ----but ,bottom line is --'STEER CLEAR'

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SUPERGRANjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spinosi also viewed

 

Been to Spinosi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing