We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$939
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$408
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveller rating
578
35
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
35
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morningostiense train stationhost alessandrotestaccio areala fata ignorantefresh fruitprivate balconybreakfast trayapartment buildingnon touristycomfortable bedcroissantswalking distancemini barplace to stay in romevisiting romelovely room
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 616 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We chose this Inn because it had justifiably had excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. Alessandro was extremely helpful before we arrived, booking restaurants for us, arranging a taxi collection at the airport and giving advice on tourist attractions. It is located in a residential area, 2 metro stops from Colosseum, and 2 minutes from a supermarket. The apartment is one of three on the 5th floor of a residential building. The terrace has been well planted with climbing plants to afford privacy from neighbouring apartments and is a lovely place to eat breakfast and relax in the evenings. However, if one were unfortunate to have poor weather, without use of the terrace, the apartment might seem a little 'cramped'. Also a word on the breakfasts. Alessandro brings the 'continental' breakfast in on a tray. You have to tell him the the day before what time you want it and just one small cup of coffee comes. If you are the sort that likes several cups of coffee at breakfast, you have to make the rest yourself using the room kettle supplied. Also, if you like to decide upon waking, what time you want breakfast, this system can be a little awkward.
Overall though, a great place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinjn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We booked to stay at the Althea Inn on our 4-day trip to Rome because of the great reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. Alessandro is the perfect host and gave lots of advice on local restaurants and places to visit. Breakfast was delivered to our room every morning to be eaten on on our lovely private terrace, which was exceptional. The terrace was also a lovely place to have a welcome sit down and drink at the end of the day. The room was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean.

There was also a minibar in our room, with prices that were certainly much lower than you would pay in any hotel that I have ever been to, which was also re-stocked daily with complimentary bottles of water. In fact Alessandro refused to take any money for any drinks that we had from the minibar.

The location is ideal and a little more relaxed than being slap bang in the centre of things but only a metro ride away from the rest of Rome or within walking distance of Trastevere, colosseum and many surrounding areas. There is so much more to be seen by walking around Rome but comfortable footwear is a must!

We would definitely recommend the Althea inn without hesitation and we cannot wait to return to Rome to continue our sightseeing and would definitely stay at the Althea Inn again.

A wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Please do not let the outside appearance deter you. The location is easily reached by train from the airport and perfect for the metro. The apartment was spotless, the breakfast delivered every morning by our charming host Allesandro was just what was requested and very enjoyable , but the private outside terrace was beyond welcome. We spent most evenings here resting our aching legs after spending memorable days exploring the sites (ensure comfy footwear!). Allesandro was helpful and provided all the information and suggestions needed to complement our stay in the Eternal City. Look no further we would not hesitate to recommend. Thank you Allesandro for your hospitality from the two English sisters celebrating a special birthday.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SueandMark103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Althea Inn lives up to the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Alessandro was very accommodating and friendly. He recommended some local restaurants and gave us a guide book to use which was extremely helpful. We had a lovely little outdoor patio, but unfortunately it rained overnight on every night we stayed so we never actually got to eat breakfast out there because it was wet in the morning. Speaking of breakfast, Alessandro did a nice job with it. We especially loved the Nutella filled croissants on our first day. Fresh fruit was left for us during the second day while we were out. We had the middle room and I noticed in other reviews people commented that it was the smallest room. It was a little on the small side but it was still fine for us. The bed was very comfy. It would have been nice to have had a couple TV channels in English, but since we were in Italy I can't really complain. I would definitely recommend Althea Inn to others based on its value, location, and service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Sitting eating our AMAZING breakfast on our own personal terrace on our last morning at the Althea Inn. Seriously couldn't asked for a better first experience in Italy! Alessandro was a fantastic host - full of local knowledge and very helpful. We arrived very early on our first morning just hoping to be able to drop our bags and come back, but Alessandro allowed us to change in another room and offered us breakfast before our own room was ready. Great location only 10 min train ride to the heart of everything! Spotlessly clean and just and just an easy place to be!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deannelee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews