We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Ranked #9 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

On arrival, the non-descript apartment block did not look auspicious but five floors up is a perfect haven of luxury and quiet. Our room was beautifully appointed, the bed was comfortable and the private terrace was a delight even in November. Alessandro and Maricar were most welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts were a feast for the eyes and scrumptious to eat. The location was ideal for exploring Rome - altogether perfect.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B for four nights in November. The reason we chose this B&B was due to the excellent reviews we had seen on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed with our choice.
Alessandro and Maricar were wonderful hosts. They couldn't do enough for us and helped us with all our needs. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this little gem.
It may not be in the city centre but do not let that put you off, it is less than 2 minutes walk to the Metro with all of Rome on your doorstep. The room was lovely and although we didn't get much use of the private terrace ( it was November ) it was a delight and must be a joy in the summer.
The rooms and bathroom was spotless and the breakfast brought to your room by Alessandro was amazing.
If we go back to Rome there would be no need to search for accommodation as we know exactly where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milanoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely b&b four nights, we have just returned. It was our pleasure to meet owner Alessandro, thank you for everything you did for us!
Excellent breakfast, lovely room and beautiful terrace. Very close to metro and train station, five minutes from the city centar. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this little oasis.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pticaselica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just returned from visiting Rome. Stayed at the Althea Inn, and very glad that we did as the location to both the Metro and Overland trains could not have been better which gave us very easy access to all the historical locations and also the airport.
Althea is a perfect little oasis. The rooms are lovely and the private terrace was a delight, everything was just perfect and all due to the owner, Alessandro.

The Inn received the 2012 Tripadvisor Award and we have to say that it was well earned. We would highly recommend a stay and hope that 2013 will also be an award winning year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Don't let the graffiti in the area frighten you. We weren't sure we had the right address when walking to Althea Inn, but it turned out to be all the great things others have reported and more! Alessandro is a gracious host and his accommodations are contemporary, comfortable and very clean. He offered the use of a tablet for internet connection which was very helpful. If we ever get back to Rome, we will certainly contact Alessandro to stay at Althea Inn - location, nearby restaurants, metro and host are top notch!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadians430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Lovely b&b, just a few minutes from the metro station.
The rooms are impecable, and the breakfast is delicious.
Alessandro is a wonderfull host, with very good recomandations and always willing to help.
Definitely will come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxana_M00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were impressed by the Althea Inn. The rooms were spotless, the linens nice, and the terrace/patio was heavenly. It honestly felt like we were in the country with all of the foliage and pretty lighting. We didn't seem to notice any road noise, and slept well. The beds were very comfortable

Walking distance to the train, and Alessandro very helpful.
We had the corner room, and it was nicely decorated. A/C worked like a charm, the shower was nice, and spotless.

We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: corner room for sure. Absolutely beautiful terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campanella3
#8 of 3,743 in Rome
395 reviews
Gianicolense
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
#1 of 3,743 in Rome
485 reviews
Gianicolense
Casa Eli Roma
Casa Eli Roma
#6 of 3,743 in Rome
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#3 of 3,743 in Rome
1,196 reviews
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Prati
A View of Rome
A View of Rome
#18 of 3,743 in Rome
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althea Inn Roof Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Inn Roof Terrace

Address: Via Dei Conciatori 9, 00154 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £60 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Eternal City, a delightful penthouse, an oasis of comfort and hospitality, set within walking distance from the Colosseum, Circus Maximus, and many other tourist attractions.A cosy place, with elegantly furnished rooms with a large terrace where to take the breakfast or just sip a drink after getting back from town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Althea Inn Roof Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Althea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing