We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous place and charming host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Ranked #11 of 3,712 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

During the last years, we stayed in a couple of places (B&B, Hotels) in rome and althea inn is definitely the most charming place and with the best host. Alessandro is very welcoming, gives plenty of tips for excellent restaurants, cafes, traffic, places to watch besides the usual hot spots and is any time at your service. The B&B is located near by metro and train station and you can reach every place ( especially the hot spots ) in a couple of minutes. You have a big supermarket close by, plenty of cafes, restaurants and tabbaccis. The terrace is stunning and you will certainly sit there after a day in rome to relax your feets and minds by a bottle of vino or whatever. Breakfast is delicious and Alessandro will customize it to your wishes. Rooms are very clean and cozy, even with a mini bar / frezzer, nevertheless without the expensive price of a hotel. Finally we can say grazie mille

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maren x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Althea Inn Roof Terrace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

The room was spaceous, clean and charming.
Alessandro helped to make our stay in Rome as pleasant as possible, trying to arrange whatever he can.
In walking distance we found all we needed like supermarket, restaurants, metro, etc.
After a long day in Rome we loved to spend the evening on the terrace with a glas of wine.
The breakfast was a poem and "the guest is king" as we say in our language.
Next time in Rome we hope this room will be vacant again for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H0GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Such a nice place. A place with style, super terrasse, clean and fantastic and friendly service from Alessandro!

Breakfast at you choice is served by Alessandro. Perfect place for a romantic holiday in Rome.

Stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Palle Fløe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 wonderful days at Althea Inn and felt very welcome and taken good care of during our stay. The standard is high - this goes for service, hospitality and also room interior, which seems to be thoroughly picked out, and kept absolutely flawless. The private terrace with sun and shadow during all day is a wonderful quiet place to relax between the city activities. And the location of Althea inn is ideal with a direct train to the Fiumicino airport leaving from the station 300 m away - and a variety of public transportation around the corner. Only 2 metro stops from Colosseum.
But most important is the nice atmosphere in Althea inn and the great comfort.
We'll be back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank KatjaHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife & I stayed at Althea Inn for three nights during our most recent trip to Rome, and we could not have asked for or expected any more, or have been any happier with our stay there.

My wife chose Althea Inn because of the many positive reviews here on TripAdvisor, and (equally importantly) because it met our budget.

From the Trip Report notebook that I am updating on a daily basis to chronicle my wife's & my travels for our family and some of our friends:

"The Althea Inn is actually a converted three bedroom apartment in a five story complex in a residential area of Rome, about a fifteen to twenty minute taxi ride from the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. It rates very highly on TripAdvisor:

(http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/Hotel_Review-g187791-d1751325-Reviews-Althea_Inn-Rome_Lazio.html).

Once again, Margaret "got it right" in choosing our accommodation in terms of location, price, and value (I write this more than twenty four hours after Margaret & I first arrived at The Althea Inn)."

We could not have been any happier with our stay at Althea Inn:

Our room was large and spacious; comfortable; more than met our expectations and needs; the outdoor terrace was a great place to go for a drink in the afternoon or evening; service was comprehensive, and our room was very quiet.

If Margaret & I could spend a couple months in Rome, we would love to live at Althea Inn...!

We really felt "at home" at Althea Inn, and cannot say enough good things, or express our thanks and appreciation enough to Alessandro.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the Althea Inn Rome prior to getting on a cruise. Very nice room, we especially enjoyed sitting out on our private patio. Everything was well taken care of, clean and comfortable. The inn is close to public transport making getting around quite easy. The train is within walking distance so getting to the port for our cruise was no problem. Alejandro is friendly and available to help with advice and directions as needed. We felt that we got a good value for our money. We highly recommend the Althea Inn when visiting Rome and will stay there again if we make it back to Rome someday.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at Althea Inn at the beginning and the end of our Italy vacation. Alessandro took such good care of us, from accepting our early arrival times to suggesting restaurants. Every morning we were greeted with a nourishing breakfast and the best cappuccinos!

Other reviewers have commented on the style and cleanliness of the rooms and I can only agree. The patios off the rooms were spacious and comfortable.....it felt like sitting in a garden.

I would highly recommend Althea Inn to anyone spending time in Rome. It is convenient to transportation and the sites of Rome. And, there are wonderful restaurants within the area.

Many thanks to Alessandro for his exceptional hospitality.....nothing was too much for him!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATCQ495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,267 in Rome
737 reviews
Campanella3
#3 of 3,712 in Rome
382 reviews
Gianicolense
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
#1 of 3,712 in Rome
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#4 of 3,712 in Rome
1,133 reviews
Esquilino
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 3,712 in Rome
543 reviews
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althea Inn Roof Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Inn Roof Terrace

Address: Via Dei Conciatori 9, 00154 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 3,712 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £61 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Eternal City, a delightful penthouse, an oasis of comfort and hospitality, set within walking distance from the Colosseum, Circus Maximus, and many other tourist attractions.A cosy place, with elegantly furnished rooms with a large terrace where to take the breakfast or just sip a drink after getting back from town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Odigeo so you can book your Althea Inn Roof Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Althea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing