We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Ranked #11 of 3,688 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Oasis of calm”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent a very lovely 3 nights staying with Alessandro at the Althea Inn in late June. The room itself is beautifully furnished and appointed, together with the pretty private balcony it made a wonderful respite after full days of sightseeing in lovely Rome. A good but completely manageable walk from the main sites but also a convenient hop from the subway. The breakfasts were tasty and generous which set us up for the day. We also loved the Gelateria at the end of the street - a lovely reward at the end of a hot day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahmcg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
329
22
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We really enjoyed our 6 nights here. Alessandro is not only a great innkeeper, but a great person and reliable resource. At first we didn’t want to bother him with our questions, only to realize later how truly helpful he can be. His three room B&B is very well kept, clean, and comfortable. Each room has an outside terrace that is an oasis after a day of sightseeing. His breakfasts are large by Roman standards and give you a very good start to your day. Want an extra cup of coffee in the morning? Just ask. For us, his B&B represents amazing value.

It’s also wonderfully located, especially if you want to live a bit like a local. Testaccio is a working class neighborhood, so you get easy access to great local restaurants with local prices rather than being surrounded by tourist spots. We also enjoyed regular visits to Volpetti, one of Rome’s best delis, and to Trapizzino for great Roman street food, both a short 15 minute stroll. There is also a grocery store just a few doors away if you discover you need something.

Transportation options are numerous. The Piramide Metro stop is a 10 minute walk and the Ostiense Train Station next to it makes catching the FR1 train to and from the Fiumicino Airport extremely easy. You are only two metro stops from the Coliseum and four stops to Termini where Rome’s two subway lines meet. There is also direct bus access to the trendy and fun Trastevere neighbourhood across the river, the Vatican area, and the Borghese Gallery, just to name a few. There is a plastic covered card in the room that has some bus information, but it’s best to ask Alessandro for the latest bus info as he says they do change occasionally.

A note to other travelers that may find some of the ever present graffiti in the neighborhood a concern. We come from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada where businesses are required to quickly remove or paint over any graffiti. Attitudes about it in Europe and around the world are quite different, it’s just part of the landscape of travel. We never once felt unsafe here.

Thank you Alessandro for creating a special little place in Rome. We hope to come back to visit someday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadianTravelers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My Husband and I and my two sisters stayed at Althea Inn for 5 nights from to 22nd April until the 27th April 2014, It was the first leg of our European / UK trip, we have been travelling for 9 weeks now and can honestly say the Althea Inn has been one of the best accommodations we have stayed in, Alessandro was a wonderful host and couldn't do enough for us. The accommodation was a 2 minute walk to the train and access to all the must sees of Rome, it was spotlessly clean, the beds very comfortable and the outdoor area was a wonderful place to come and relax after some very tiring days of sightseeing, the breakfast was fantastic, just can't say enough good things about Alessandro, from the time we contacted him to make the booking until the time we checked out he was wonderful with his information and care of his guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Althea Inn was a perfect stay for us...two adults and two teen daughters. We had two rooms with each own bath and own patio terraces. Price was good and Alessandro was great. He brought breakfast every morning which was wonderful. It's in a location close to train and restaurants but a little more urban than we thought it would be. But great stay!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Amgs16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

During the last years, we stayed in a couple of places (B&B, Hotels) in rome and althea inn is definitely the most charming place and with the best host. Alessandro is very welcoming, gives plenty of tips for excellent restaurants, cafes, traffic, places to watch besides the usual hot spots and is any time at your service. The B&B is located near by metro and train station and you can reach every place ( especially the hot spots ) in a couple of minutes. You have a big supermarket close by, plenty of cafes, restaurants and tabbaccis. The terrace is stunning and you will certainly sit there after a day in rome to relax your feets and minds by a bottle of vino or whatever. Breakfast is delicious and Alessandro will customize it to your wishes. Rooms are very clean and cozy, even with a mini bar / frezzer, nevertheless without the expensive price of a hotel. Finally we can say grazie mille

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maren x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The room was spaceous, clean and charming.
Alessandro helped to make our stay in Rome as pleasant as possible, trying to arrange whatever he can.
In walking distance we found all we needed like supermarket, restaurants, metro, etc.
After a long day in Rome we loved to spend the evening on the terrace with a glas of wine.
The breakfast was a poem and "the guest is king" as we say in our language.
Next time in Rome we hope this room will be vacant again for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H0GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Such a nice place. A place with style, super terrasse, clean and fantastic and friendly service from Alessandro!

Breakfast at you choice is served by Alessandro. Perfect place for a romantic holiday in Rome.

Stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palle Fløe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,261 in Rome
722 reviews
Campanella3
#3 of 3,688 in Rome
373 reviews
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#5 of 3,688 in Rome
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gianicolense
Casa Eli Roma
Casa Eli Roma
#7 of 3,688 in Rome
265 reviews
Monteverde
Suites Trastevere
Suites Trastevere
#16 of 3,688 in Rome
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althea Inn Roof Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Inn Roof Terrace

Property: Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Address: Via Dei Conciatori 9, 00154 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 3,688 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Eternal City, a delightful penthouse, an oasis of comfort and hospitality, set within walking distance from the Colosseum, Circus Maximus, and many other tourist attractions.A cosy place, with elegantly furnished rooms with a large terrace where to take the breakfast or just sip a drink after getting back from town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Althea Inn Roof Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Althea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing