We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room. Perfectly located.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Ranked #11 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful room. Perfectly located.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Althea Inn and it was the perfect hideaway after long days of sightseeing. The room was immaculate and the breakfasts were delicious. Eating them on our beautiful terrace was delightful. The walk to the Coleseum was approx 20 min and to the metro, 5 min. It is very close to the most beautiful graveyard I have ever seen which has the remains of Shelley, Keats and Gouth. Make sure you ask Alessandro for directions to the door with the key hole from which you can see St Peter's Basilica. It was a treat. We loved the Althea Inn and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and have their own stunning terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
330
22
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I booked a room based on Trip Advisor reviews and I was pleasantly surprised. I didn't have time to read the reviews or check their web page so upon arriving I discovered there is a beautiful terasse where I had my breakfast. The room was spotlessly clean, it is nicely furnished and you find everything you need - minibar, TV, air conditioning, tea kettle and a hair dryer. The rooms and doors are extra sound isolated, so you won't hear people coming and going (my room was located in front of the entry door). Bed and bed linen are top quality and I had a good night sleep every night after kilometers of walking and exploring Rome.

It takes you 5 min walk to the metro and bus station and good 5min walk to the train station Ostiense that has a direct connection to main airport Fiumicine. The journey from the airport takes approx. 30min and it costs 8€. I takes 5 minutes from the airport gates to the platform where train departs and you can buy a ticket on the vending machine with your credit card.

What would I appreciate is to receive a map of the neighborhood upon arrival with suggestions of good local restaurants, bars and things to visit. Also a simple map of the city would be a nice gesture since Tourist office in Rome is rarity.

The only critique I have is that owner never gave me an answer when I repeatedly inquired before arrival if it will be possible to make a late check in, since I was arriving after official check in hours. Instead he kept on suggesting to come and pick me up from the airport (50€) and even implied it will be impossible to catch the last train. At the end although my plane was delayed I ended up waiting 15min for the train to depart.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AQ514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Although we are not actually staying in the Althea Inn until the end of August, I wanted to leave a quick pre-stay review just to say that Alessandro has been brilliantly helpful via email in the run up to our stay.

We initially wanted to change some booking details and recently wanted to add another night onto our stay due to a flight change. These things could have proved quite stressful to organise but Alessandro was always quick to reply (usually on the same day) and has been nothing but helpful and accommodating. This really helped put our minds at ease and made the whole process stress-free.

I will be leaving another review after our stay, but just wanted to put these forwards points now as it's really refreshing to have such great customer service - particularly over the internet. Having read the other reviews, this level of customer service seems to be a common theme and we're now very much looking forward to our stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosie-Willan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had such a wonderful stay here and recommend it so highly! Alessandro is extremely helpful, professional, and kind. He arranged for airport transportation, serves impeccable breakfast and was a wonderful resource within Rome. Would love to stay here again and will recommend him to everyone we know!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed at the Althea Inn for a short family holiday with my parents and Aunt. I booked it due to the many other excellent reviews on trip advisor and also due to the beautiful photographs of the accommodation. We were not disappointed. As other reviewers have commented, the owner of the apartments, Alessandro is a lovely guy - very helpful, pleasant and thoughtful. We looked forward to the delicious and beautifully presented breakfasts which he brought to us every morning on the terrace. The apartments are gorgeous and tastefully designed with little charming details that make them special. They are on the 5th floor, hidden away from the street outside and the terraces have screens, gorgeous, colourful, plants, sweet smelling jasmine, candles, little lights and comfy seating. The location is outside of the busy centre of Rome, as it is more of an area where the locals live and work. This is great as it is so easy to travel from the local metro station or to catch a bus to any of the main tourist sites. The colisseum is just 2 metro stops away from the local Pyramide metro stop and you can also catch a bus directly to the vatican from here. Alessandro again is very helpful if you need help with travel plans etc. I really can't recommend the Althea Inn highly enough. It is excellent value for money. We had a fabulous time and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Email the Althea Inn directly for advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela_donohoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent a very lovely 3 nights staying with Alessandro at the Althea Inn in late June. The room itself is beautifully furnished and appointed, together with the pretty private balcony it made a wonderful respite after full days of sightseeing in lovely Rome. A good but completely manageable walk from the main sites but also a convenient hop from the subway. The breakfasts were tasty and generous which set us up for the day. We also loved the Gelateria at the end of the street - a lovely reward at the end of a hot day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahmcg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We really enjoyed our 6 nights here. Alessandro is not only a great innkeeper, but a great person and reliable resource. At first we didn’t want to bother him with our questions, only to realize later how truly helpful he can be. His three room B&B is very well kept, clean, and comfortable. Each room has an outside terrace that is an oasis after a day of sightseeing. His breakfasts are large by Roman standards and give you a very good start to your day. Want an extra cup of coffee in the morning? Just ask. For us, his B&B represents amazing value.

It’s also wonderfully located, especially if you want to live a bit like a local. Testaccio is a working class neighborhood, so you get easy access to great local restaurants with local prices rather than being surrounded by tourist spots. We also enjoyed regular visits to Volpetti, one of Rome’s best delis, and to Trapizzino for great Roman street food, both a short 15 minute stroll. There is also a grocery store just a few doors away if you discover you need something.

Transportation options are numerous. The Piramide Metro stop is a 10 minute walk and the Ostiense Train Station next to it makes catching the FR1 train to and from the Fiumicino Airport extremely easy. You are only two metro stops from the Coliseum and four stops to Termini where Rome’s two subway lines meet. There is also direct bus access to the trendy and fun Trastevere neighbourhood across the river, the Vatican area, and the Borghese Gallery, just to name a few. There is a plastic covered card in the room that has some bus information, but it’s best to ask Alessandro for the latest bus info as he says they do change occasionally.

A note to other travelers that may find some of the ever present graffiti in the neighborhood a concern. We come from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada where businesses are required to quickly remove or paint over any graffiti. Attitudes about it in Europe and around the world are quite different, it’s just part of the landscape of travel. We never once felt unsafe here.

Thank you Alessandro for creating a special little place in Rome. We hope to come back to visit someday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadianTravelers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,261 in Rome
724 reviews
Campanella3
#3 of 3,692 in Rome
374 reviews
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#5 of 3,692 in Rome
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gianicolense
Casa Eli Roma
Casa Eli Roma
#7 of 3,692 in Rome
265 reviews
Monteverde
Suites Trastevere
Suites Trastevere
#16 of 3,692 in Rome
731 reviews
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#27 of 3,692 in Rome
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althea Inn Roof Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Inn Roof Terrace

Property: Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Address: Via Dei Conciatori 9, 00154 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Eternal City, a delightful penthouse, an oasis of comfort and hospitality, set within walking distance from the Colosseum, Circus Maximus, and many other tourist attractions.A cosy place, with elegantly furnished rooms with a large terrace where to take the breakfast or just sip a drink after getting back from town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Althea Inn Roof Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Althea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing