We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Ranked #11 of 3,722 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have just returned today from a 4 night stay at the Althea Inn with my 15yr old son & my mother. Two things make this place special. Firstly the standard of your room is of 5 star quality, it is cleaned daily, towels changed daily and it has the most beautiful terrace were you can relax & eat your breakfast. Secondly the owner Alessandro is a gentleman who takes pride in looking after his guests. He is very knowledgeable regarding places to visit, transport in Rome & any queries etc. If you get the number 23 bus towards Rome, get off opposite the hospital on the island at the river, over the bridge you will find lots of bars, restaurants & stalls along the river, very pretty at night. We also found a number of restaurants have discounted rates if you dine before 7pm.. Most important if visiting the Vatican City book online first as the queue was over a mile long but we only waited 10mins with our online booking…. Thanks to Alessandro & we hope to see you again…

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank SUFTUM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had the pleasure to stay in two of the rooms here and could not have been happier with the choice. It's not a hotel but honestly the rooms are as nice or better than most rooms. Ours did have AC but it was not needed in May. The inn consist of rooms within an apartment, all individual, very clean, breakfast was amazing every day, and you have your own key and can come and go as you please.

The neighborhood is interesting, centrally located but away enough from the throngs of tourist so that you feel like you are visiting a real city not a relic. It's probably best for a single or couple looking for something special and interesting rather than a standard every day hotel. If that is you do not hesitate. It's a great neighborhood and very well managed. I lost my ipad later on the trip and emailed the inn keeper Alessandro to see if he could help make some calls for me and he did. We were not even staying there at that time. Very nice. A+++

Room Tip: There are only 3 or 4 rooms so you do need to schedule a time frame to arrive for check-in because A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tate808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Great service. We arrived early after a red eye flight from Toronto. Alessandro inquired of our arrival time and arranged to have the room prepared first, as someone just checked out. Clean and tidy room, excellent service, great location and even better price. You can't go wrong with booking this place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bmzhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I recommend this hotel for its location, comfort and cleanliness.
At 400 meters from the train station (airport) and metro.
Good kindness and excellent service.

We stayed five nights in room with balcony and were not bad, but if you come like tourists and relaxed, I think the rooms with terrace would be a better choice.
Breakfast is varied and put it on your table from your balcony or terrasse ..!

The neighborhood is quiet and safe. There is private parking at 20 meters at a reasonable cost.
As a suggestion, Pizzeria da Remo in Testaccio 10 min. walking.
Excellent pizzas ..!

If one day I return to Rome, I would return to stay here.
Thanks Alessandro.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was exactly the place we were looking for! Very good service, clean room, beautiful terrace, wonderful breakfast! We will absolutely come back to Althea Inn. And Thank you Alessandro for the advice about Volpetti! It was Perfect! / Charlotte and Johnny

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteochJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

If you are thinking of staying in Rome, the Althea Inn is an excellent choice. We stayed in the big room with two adults and two children-double bed and two singles.

Room: large enough for a family of four. Well presented in terms of decor and furnishings. Bed was comfortable. Room was cleaned every day. Air con worked well. Very quiet night's sleep. Ensuite had a high quality about it. You felt like you were in a five star hotel. Breakfast was delivered each morning at a time to suit and was superb. There is a minbar with free water. Also soft drinks and small bottles of wine beer for a euro or two. The free wifi was a useful bonus.

Terrace: the top floor private terrace was a huge attraction for us in choosing the Althea. It proved to be a welcome extra space at breakfast and to unwind at the end of the day. The climbing plants also gave some privacy from the next room.

Location- You never quite know what the location is like until you try it. Even though it is slightly outside the Aurelian Walls, it is very handy to reach and explore from. Central Rome- walk 200m to Piramide and you are on the metro. The metro is fast, easy and safe. If you stay in Trastevere for instance there is no metro. Buses outside Piramide can also take you around Rome and also to the Appian Way and catacombs. The Rome Lido station next to Piramide allows easy transport to Ostia Antica.

Travelling to and from fiumincino Airport: the FR1 regional train costs €8 per adult and delivers you directly to the Roma Ostiense station which is just behind the Piramide metro. The train is modern and safe. We used it on arrival around midday and early evening. You can keep luggage with you in seats.

Area around Althea: graffiti should not put you off. There are scribbles all over Rome and you just get used to it. On the street there is a good supermarket (Conad)- handy for supplies eg picnics, water and wine! Good restaurant- nevocentro I think. We used to grab a pizza down the road most evenings and cakes at Babylon Cafe to enjoy on the terrace. If you venture further down Via Ostiense you'll find Andreotti ( cake shop) and a range of other restaurants. Testaccio has high quality eateries which are walkable too. There are a couple of ATMs locally ( Alessandro prefers to be paid in cash). It is a neighbourhood that is very safe and friendly.

Room Tip: The big room is worth asking for if you are a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gazzamundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we booked a week here for our Rome stay. Even though it is outside the city walls (just barely), it was conveniently located for all of our needs. We had a small market just down from the apartment where we could purchase meats and cheeses, etc. for picnic lunches. There was an electronics store just across the street where we were able to get a replacement battery for our camera, and the Piramide Metro/Train/Bus station was a block from Althea. There was also a great restaurant (Nove Centro) across the street as well. So good we actually ate there twice! Our daughter and her husband live in Germany and met us in Rome for a week. They had the center room next to us and we were able to share breakfast on our larger terrace with them each morning. Alessandro was a blessing. He had great advice for metro and bus transportation, and things to see; and was very accommodating with little details - like making us an extra cup of cappuccino in the morning. The neighborhood is more local residential, so we were removed from the noisy city center and tourist areas. Very nice to come back and unwind in the evening with a bottle of wine and some cheese on the terrace. An exceptional experience. Thank you Alessandro!

Room Tip: The left most room as you enter the suite of rooms is the largest and nicest of the three. The terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,269 in Rome
747 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campanella3
#2 of 3,722 in Rome
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gianicolense
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
#1 of 3,722 in Rome
475 reviews
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#4 of 3,722 in Rome
1,154 reviews
Esquilino
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 3,722 in Rome
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althea Inn Roof Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Inn Roof Terrace

Address: Via Dei Conciatori 9, 00154 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 3,722 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £62 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Eternal City, a delightful penthouse, an oasis of comfort and hospitality, set within walking distance from the Colosseum, Circus Maximus, and many other tourist attractions.A cosy place, with elegantly furnished rooms with a large terrace where to take the breakfast or just sip a drink after getting back from town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Althea Inn Roof Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Althea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing