We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great personalized guided tour of Rome”
Review of Rome with a Roman

Rome with a Roman
Ranked #390 of 801 Tours in Rome
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rome With A Roman is a team of experienced licensed guides of Rome. Explore the city and learn about its history with us. We’ll show you the major sites but also the hidden gems of this city which is nearly 28 centuries old. We can organize guided tours for first timers or for old pros;tours for big and small parties, pilgrimage tours, school groups, private parties, families with kids.
Rockport, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great personalized guided tour of Rome”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Our guide, Alesandra, did a great job. She met our small group of 4 (two couples) at the entrance to the Vatican Museum and led us through the crowds. Along the way she made our understanding of the museums and its treasures come alive. The next day she tailored out tour to the city and its historic sites. We met old and new Rome. She was so knowledgeable and entertaining. The small details and the bigger picture of Rome's history were tied together beautifully. I cannot imagine how getting around in Rome and understanding what you are seeing without her navigating us through the city.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetraveling101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best personal guides we've ever had!”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Today Manuela took myself and husband and 12 yr old daughter around the Vatican and Sistine Chapel. It's not easy to entertain a "tween" but Manuela did a great job ! She was very well informed but also delivered the information in an interesting manner . She managed to successfully pitch the tour at the right level which is a truly unique skill for a tour guide .Often they drone on about dates and boring facts but Manuela certainly didnt! We all felt that we had all learnt a lot about the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel. Our biggest regret was that we didn't organize more tours with Manuela. She was reasonably priced and we felt the tour was good value for money. Cannot rave enough about her!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank britabroad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful guided tours for a good price”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We visited Rome in late July 2012 and had Manuella as our guide for a group of 8 (4 adults and 4 tweens) for two tours - one of the Colosseum/Forum/Pantheon and one of Vatican Museum and St. Peter's. Manuella was a wonderful guide who told us a great deal about the details of the places we were visiting and was able to answer all of our questions. She engaged well with the kids and noticed when their interest was waning. She got the kids behind the gate to take a picture with the Swiss Guard too! (Only if the kids are small and it's not very busy...) I highly recommend a tour with Rome with a Roman!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jocelynhsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Tour of Rome”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We recently got back from a trip to Rome with our 2 children - 9 and 13 and did 2 tours with Rome with A Roman. We had Manuela who took us through the Vatican and then to the Colosseum/Forum the next day. Manuela was wonderful - incredibly knowledgeable about the historic significance of each of the sites which was fascinating for the us adults but she balanced this with a good appreciation for the attention span of the kids. She was very passionate about the history and was able to answer all of our questions. I would highly recommend Rome with a Roman for tours of Rome.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Tour”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had Sonia as our guide, and she was wonderful. She called the night before our tour to let us know of the anticipated strike that would not allow us to enter the Colosseum as planned (or use the metro). She gave us a modified tour in light if this development, and really enhanced our exprience of Rome. She took us into a maginificent church we never would have seen otherwise, and gave us so much interesting information. We've already recommended her to friends!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 360Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rome with a Roman also viewed

 

Been to Rome with a Roman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing