We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Rome!”
Review of Villa Urbani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Urbani
Ranked #466 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Villa Urbani in October 2012 for 3 nights (weekend trip). We got the luxury B&B recommended by a friend. We loved the location of the beautiful villa in Trastevere, easy to get anywhere (we mainly walked or took a taxi) and good restaurants nearby which was excellent our first night when we arrived late.

The rooms had a very nice modern touch, fun to see that each room (3 double bedrooms and 1 single room in total) had its own design. Nice and tidy and since it is on the top floor we didn't experience any issues with noise etc. With a separate entrance and few guests it really feels like you live in your private villa. Nice continental breakfast was included with yoghurt, bread, ham and cheese, freshly baked croissants, juice and coffee/tea.

The hostess Laura was very friendly, promptly confirmed our booking, assisted us with booking a taxi to pick us up at the airport and could give us a lot of advice and tips on nice places to go and see, restaurants etc.

We would definitely come back and stay at Villa Urbani next time we are in Rome and we highly recommend it! the only minor disadvantage is that you can only pay by cash but if you are just staying for a few nights we didn't see that as an issue.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

Villa Urbani is an elegant B and B in a great location. We were able to walk everywhere, even to the Borghese Gallery. Breakfasts are fine, and Laura is unfailingly polite. She responded promptly to all my pestering e-mails. I would recommend this place without qualification if it were not for the fact that it's on a very busy street, on a hill, with motorcycles and cars revving up at full speed as they hurtle past. My super-good earplugs weren't up to the task! Since we booked in a hurry, I had neglected to ask for a quiet room (if there is one) and had the impression this was a quiet location. So it's my fault. But it did mean we didn't get much sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caminoista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Villa Urbani was a perfect place for my wife and I to rest after touring through a number of countries, and after some relaxation it offered a great access point to the beautiful city of Rome. It is a beautiful home located in a street above the hustle and bustle of the city. There is good public transport steps away and the beautiful Trastevere neighborhood is only a short walk down the hill. Taxis too were also easy to get from and returning to the Villa. Laura was a very gracious host who has a vast knowledge of the city and how to access its offerings. She also has great interest in music. There was a beautiful concert in her studio in the yard one night we stayed. We would highly recommend the Villa Urbana for an elegant and restful stay in one of Rome's most enchanting areas.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TJMcNewzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

If you are looking for a home-like roman experience, this is your choice.

I spent a week end at Laura's hospitable B&B and I look forward to come back here soon. Situated in the quiet and exquisite Trastevere, it is 3 minutes away from a breathtaking walk along the Gianicolo where one can see all of Rome as if on a palm of your hand and yet only 20 minute walk to the center.

The room was very spacious with high ceiling and decorated floor, combining a last-century charm with modern facilites. The breakfast had all we needed to start a day in the ancient city, and the quiet music was welcoming us home after a long day of exploring.

Wishing you all a great time to stay at the villa and to enjoy Rome the Roman way.

Olga

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Located in trendy Trestevere, the Villa Urbani is what you imagine an italian villa is about: peaceful, high ceiling, wonderful furniture, quiet garden - and best of all, you feel like you own parts of it !
Laura the hostess was very friendly to us, taking time to chat over breakfast and afternoon breaks, recommending us transportation means and places to go and see. She also provided chauffeured car from the airport (EUR40 which is standard price) sparing us the hassle of having to book it ourselves.
The Villa as said above is in Trestevere so it is not in the old center but 20min walk from it, the other side of the Tiber. The neighborhood is full of restaurant, bars and is very much alive till early hours of the morning, although you cant hear a noise from the rooms, which are 5min walk from trestevere center. There are 2 buses down the house that go to the old center (nbr 44 to Plaza Venezia and 75 to Colosseum) while 5min walk there is the tram, that is very frequent and goes to center as well (Pantheon).
The breakfast was good, with homemade cake, yogurt, juice, capuccionos &co, cold cuts & bread and some italian pastries.
Overall, very good value for money, definitely participated to our Italian experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineLondon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We spent 7 nights with Laura and had a wonderful time while in Rome. She has a charming villa, and we stayed in her triple room. It is clean and comfortable. The breakfasts can be in the lovely dining area or on top of her villa on the terrace. Always some yummy coffee cake and pastries available for a quick snack in the dining area. The location is in a residential area within easy walking distance of the lovely Trasteverre neighborhood shopping and dining. We really enjoyed retreating to the Villa in the evenings and leaving the crowds on Rome behind at the end of a busy day. She is just 1 1/2 blocks from the bus stop which will get you to all major sites quite easily - or you can walk as all of Rome is very walkable.

Room Tip: Laura has only 1 triple, 2 doubles and 1 single. Request early for the room of your choosing. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We chose villa urbani after my cousin had recommended it to us . Although our stay was only for one night we both would have loved to stay longer. We slept in the grey and red suite. Huge room with a king size bed and sitting area plus an additional single bed on the side. one window views the small garden with cute sitting area and the other views the side of the house and the inn keepers three dogs. They are great alarms as they bark when you pass but are friendly rescues. Laura is a great host and prepared us wonderful breakfast on the terrance , which consisted of assortment of breads, fruit and ham and chesse, oj , and yogurt. great ac unit in room as well ! we will def return and would love to stay here again !

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#177 of 1,269 in Rome
405 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#639 of 1,269 in Rome
171 reviews
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#525 of 1,269 in Rome
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trastevere
Villa della Fonte
Villa della Fonte
#532 of 1,269 in Rome
163 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#286 of 1,269 in Rome
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Urbani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Urbani

Address: Viale Trenta Aprile 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#150 Family Hotel in Rome
#192 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Villa Urbani Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing