We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbara and Franseco is such a lovely host!”
Review of St. John Rome b&b

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. John Rome b&b
Ranked #2,112 of 3,688 Rome B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Barbara and Franseco is such a lovely host!”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at St John B&B for 3 nights. Knowing that we are in Rome for wedding photoshoot, Barbara is so helpful in recommending different location and helping us to arrange transport. Love the idea of breakfast setup. It's located near a metro. Walking to Colosseum can be challenging initially. We took about 20mins. Barbara and franseco really make us feel so at home. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlessedTrips255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    28
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
37
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed in St.John's for 4 nights in July 2011.
All rooms are located on the ground floor with no view of the street. However, the B&B is still very cozy and has a nice internal garden. All guests can use the common kitchen (milk products, fresh bakery, juice, toasts & jem) at any time, which is very convenient. Rooms are decently furnished and cleaned daily. The strange thing was that we only met the hosts once at check-in, the rest of the time we communicated with the service man, who was polite and helpful. On one occasion this was annoying because there was no hot water in the tap and shower, and this issue was not solved for a whole day. Apart from that, nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The location of St John B&B could not be better. It was easily reached from the Metro, in walking distance of the Ancient Rome sights; yet far enough away to escape the area feeling touristy.
Our room inside was lovely. The bedroom was great with a large comfortable bed, ensuite bathroom and French doors leading out into a small garden. It was in this garden that we enjoyed our breakfast each morning.
Breakfast is informal, laid out in a galley kitchen, where guests can help themselves at any time.
A couple of things would have made our stay even better: bigger towels and a less temperamental shower.
Our biggest concern was noise. Whilst our room was away from the main traffic and could be peaceful; it had an interconnecting door to another guest room, through which sound easily carried. The couple next door, were night people and each night was disturbed whilst they got ready to go out and their return in the early hours.
Aside from this, St John B&B was a great find and comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milesopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Very nice clean hotel about 15 minute walk from the Colosseum and right by metro. Rooms have newly renovated bathrooms and air conditioning that you control yourself
( and it worked great!). Very good breakfast with a lovely garden area to sit in. My only concern was that it is on ground floor and it was very loud outside. Traffic and voices seemed to go on till 2:00 or so and resumed at rush hour. Overall the hotel was wonderful and noise might just be something that has to be dealt with in Rome! One other thing I loved was that owner has a lap top for guests to use at no charge! It was there whenever I needed it and came in very handy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SashaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Despite being a little unsure when we first arrived, we had a fantastic stay and Barbara & Francesco were very welcoming and extremely helpful providing superb advice & guidance on all aspects ..... where to eat, how to get around, where to visit etc ... so this meant we didn't waste time, and just enjoyed the splendour of Rome. Barbara can also direct you to a very good ice cream parlour!

Our room was very nice - clean, practical and had a good size bed! The continental breakfeast had a good variety, always fresh and plentiful.

Tips - use the local market (excellent value!), take Mosquito repellent, don't buy an ice cream when you come out of the Colosseum, get to the Vatican & St Peters Basilica by 8:00am to avoid the huge queues!

Thanks Barbara, we may be back one day & best wishes for the future ..... Denise & Mike

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverGray2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

My flight arrived in Rome at 9am. Barbara has excellent communication skills, she met me when I arrived and let me check in early. The night before I flew out of Rome she didn't have a room and walked me to another B&B of equal price (but not as nice as St. John's). The B&B is in a great location and close to a metro. Great places like this get popular fast...book it now!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We stayed here for four nights as part of a week in Rome and Florence. The B&B is located on the ground floor of an apartment block within 3 minutes walking distance of San Giovanni metro station.

Our room was spacious, bright, nicely furnished with en suite shower room and LCD TV. There were french doors leading directly to the small court yard garden, which in the summer must be an amazing little place to have your breakfast. It was bit cold in February, so we opted to have our breakfast in our room with the doors to the garden open.

The owners Barbara and Francesco have come up with a lovely self-service concept for breakfast meaning guests are free to have breakfast whenever they wish. There is a small galley kitchen with everything you may want: fresh pastries, fruit, bread, jam, honey, an espresso machine and a fridge full of fresh juices, yoghurts, milk, butter, etc. There is seating for two but given the small number of rooms and that guests aren't restricted to set times, tis is no problem. In fact, everything has been thought of including the breakfast in bed trays!

Guests can access the WiFi network provided free of charge and there is a laptop available.

Whilst just outside the Aurelian Wall, the B&B is great for exploring the city on foot. We walked practically everywhere. The Colosseum is about 15 to 20 minutes away. Being in such a great location comes with a minor downside. As the B&B is just around the corner from San Giovanni junction, there is a bit of traffic noise. But then aagin: this is Rome so finding somewhere without the odd horn beeping would be a challenge!

Overall, an amazing little place offering excellent value for money. Would come back anytime.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thor_hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#368 of 1,261 in Rome
417 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,163 of 3,688 in Rome
90 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#96 of 1,261 in Rome
1,199 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#440 of 1,261 in Rome
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John Rome b&b? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Rome b&b

Property: St. John Rome b&b
Address: Via Corfinio 23, 00183 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,112 of 3,688 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. John has the atmosphere of a traditional B&B, but with comfort of an Hotel.The rooms are fully fitted with ensuite bathroom ,air conditioned, hair dryer, safe box,tv lcd 32 inch.The b&b has a kitchen for guess use and a private garden where you can have your breakfast.Located in the city centre, few meters from Basilica and 1,5 km from Colisseum and the Ancient Rome.The St John is also well communicated, just less than 50 mt from the underground and just 3 stops to Termini Central Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your St. John Rome b&b reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing