We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais Maddalena
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Abruzzi(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pantheon Relais(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Adriano(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
272
55
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
55
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen doorpiazza dellaperfect locationsan crispinogeorge sandbaroque facaderose petals on the bedstone staircaseb bexcellent soundproofingromantic roomquiet piazzagelatobreakfast roomwithin walking distancedouble glazed windowshistoric center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Amazing first impression. My mother, two sisters and I were warmly greeted by Francesco. He helped us with our luggages. He gave us a well detailed map and pointed us to the best routes to see beautiful spots in Rome. He took time to know us....we felt like we're being welcomed by a relative.

The spacious room has its old world charm with modern amenities. The complimentary drinks in the room ref and slippers were nice touches. The beds were comfortable. Linens were very soft and clean. The bathroom with the waterfalls shower was very relaxing. Thick and sweet smelling towels.

The breakfast was excellent. Fresh fruits, fruit juices, cheeses, prosciutto, yogurt, pie, made to order cappucino, bread and pastries. Andrea and Massun(?) were very accomodating.

The location was perfect just a few steps from the Pantheon and a nice walk to Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. Oh did I mention when you open the front gate of Relais Maddalena leading outside...its a pleasant surprise to see the beautiful old church across the plaza. In addition, San Crispin Gelato owned by Francesco was an A +...just a stone-throw away.

We are fortunate to stay in this place. Just a couple of suggestions: consider providing face towels and a non-slip mat in the bathroom (safety measure for the elderly). Highly recommended to friends and family. Reserve early...only six bedrooms. You won't be disappointed. I hope to come back someday!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rosaliabanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This is a charming little 6 room hotel in a fabulous location, close to everything. The owner and staff are very helpful and accommodating. I would strongly recommend this hotel. The entrance is a little hard to find the first time you visit but that's all part of the charm. The decorating, bathroom and size of the room are great for a European hotel. I booked a room with a view and was not disappointed, we overlooked the piazza and from the room I could see part of the Panthenon 100 yards down a narrow little street. The breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Very posh for the price in an outstanding area of Rome! Tremendous staff! Francesco, Margherite, as well the entire support staff are extremely helpful, friendly and attentive.
Relais Maddalena is a charming inn with lots of sophistication. Close to the Piazza Navona with all of its activity yet far enough away on Piazza Maddalena with a more relaxed vibe.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We felt as though we were visiting our own home away from home when we stayed at….Relais Maddalena.

Francesco (owner), Margarita, and Masum will do everything possible to make you feel welcome, comfortable, and well taken care of.

Francesco will happily help you make reservations at local, good restaurants and transportation companies.

This hotel is special too. Tucked away with a private entrance on a small piazza (Piazza Maddalena) about a block from the Pantheon and the center of old Rome’s sites and activities. We liked that our room featured a larger than normal bathroom with an enclosed shower. Additionally, our room had excellent style and décor….and was full of touches that showed off Francesco’s personal attention to detail. We also appreciated many of our room’s features such as: ample closet space, sophisticated room safe, large flat screen TV, comfortable king size bed, excellent sound proofing, air conditioning, towel warmers, and plush towels. An unexpected treat for us was the daily breakfast that included tastefully chosen foods and Espresso/Cappuccino/regular coffees. We loved the Cappuccino served in wonderfully unique cups.

We really think visitors to Rome would be hard pressed to find a more reasonably priced, comfortable, stylish hotel room in the center of Rome’s major sites and activities. When the staff’s warm, personal hospitality is added to a guest’s experience………Relais Maddalena simply cannot be beat.

We just hope as word gets out, we will still be able to get a reservation with at Relais Maddalena the next time we visit Rome. http://www.relaismaddalena.com

A little difficult to see the entrance even when you are standing on the piazza. Buzz the front desk (on the 2nd floor) and they will let you in the large 1800’s exterior doorway.

Please see the accompanying photos.

Francesco also owns a gelato shop across from the piazza...Di San Crispino (Rick Steves likes it).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencer60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Great place, great location, great people. Everything fantastic. The perfect location for a stay if you want to be in the center of Rome without suffering an old, tiny hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews