We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff ever”
Review of Relais Maddalena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Maddalena
Ranked #96 of 3,710 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This is a very sweet, small B&B in an excellent location. The inn is very clean and worry free. The rooms are quite nicely decorated and a good size, with good lighting and air conditioning. Bathroom was modern and very clean. Besides the fact that this place is a very good place to rest one's head while in Rome, it is the staff that makes the Relais Maddelena so memorable. As others have noted, Franceso Amare and his staff are by nature kind, helpful people who undestand the value of treating a guest in an authentically peronal manner. Francesco is also very knowledgeable and very generous with his knowledge, and happy to help make your stay in Rome just what you want it to be. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montonefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Relais Maddalena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay at the Relais Maddlena in early July. While the weather in Rome was extremely hot, the inn provided the comfort of efficient, quiet air conditioning. The relais is well situated in the heart of the historic center. Our room was equipped with a modern bath and with a spacious and comfortable king sized bed. The B&B is one flight up in what is, otherwise, a characterful building in the Piazza Maddelena. One has the feeling of having one's own small apartment in Roma. Francesco, the owner, is a cordial host who made a special effort to greet us and to facilitate the details of our travel. We enjoyed meeting Marguerita, the manager, with whom I wish I could've conversed some more.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Amazing first impression. My mother, two sisters and I were warmly greeted by Francesco. He helped us with our luggages. He gave us a well detailed map and pointed us to the best routes to see beautiful spots in Rome. He took time to know us....we felt like we're being welcomed by a relative.

The spacious room has its old world charm with modern amenities. The complimentary drinks in the room ref and slippers were nice touches. The beds were comfortable. Linens were very soft and clean. The bathroom with the waterfalls shower was very relaxing. Thick and sweet smelling towels.

The breakfast was excellent. Fresh fruits, fruit juices, cheeses, prosciutto, yogurt, pie, made to order cappucino, bread and pastries. Andrea and Massun(?) were very accomodating.

The location was perfect just a few steps from the Pantheon and a nice walk to Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. Oh did I mention when you open the front gate of Relais Maddalena leading outside...its a pleasant surprise to see the beautiful old church across the plaza. In addition, San Crispin Gelato owned by Francesco was an A +...just a stone-throw away.

We are fortunate to stay in this place. Just a couple of suggestions: consider providing face towels and a non-slip mat in the bathroom (safety measure for the elderly). Highly recommended to friends and family. Reserve early...only six bedrooms. You won't be disappointed. I hope to come back someday!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rosaliabanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This is a charming little 6 room hotel in a fabulous location, close to everything. The owner and staff are very helpful and accommodating. I would strongly recommend this hotel. The entrance is a little hard to find the first time you visit but that's all part of the charm. The decorating, bathroom and size of the room are great for a European hotel. I booked a room with a view and was not disappointed, we overlooked the piazza and from the room I could see part of the Panthenon 100 yards down a narrow little street. The breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Very posh for the price in an outstanding area of Rome! Tremendous staff! Francesco, Margherite, as well the entire support staff are extremely helpful, friendly and attentive.
Relais Maddalena is a charming inn with lots of sophistication. Close to the Piazza Navona with all of its activity yet far enough away on Piazza Maddalena with a more relaxed vibe.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We felt as though we were visiting our own home away from home when we stayed at….Relais Maddalena.

Francesco (owner), Margarita, and Masum will do everything possible to make you feel welcome, comfortable, and well taken care of.

Francesco will happily help you make reservations at local, good restaurants and transportation companies.

This hotel is special too. Tucked away with a private entrance on a small piazza (Piazza Maddalena) about a block from the Pantheon and the center of old Rome’s sites and activities. We liked that our room featured a larger than normal bathroom with an enclosed shower. Additionally, our room had excellent style and décor….and was full of touches that showed off Francesco’s personal attention to detail. We also appreciated many of our room’s features such as: ample closet space, sophisticated room safe, large flat screen TV, comfortable king size bed, excellent sound proofing, air conditioning, towel warmers, and plush towels. An unexpected treat for us was the daily breakfast that included tastefully chosen foods and Espresso/Cappuccino/regular coffees. We loved the Cappuccino served in wonderfully unique cups.

We really think visitors to Rome would be hard pressed to find a more reasonably priced, comfortable, stylish hotel room in the center of Rome’s major sites and activities. When the staff’s warm, personal hospitality is added to a guest’s experience………Relais Maddalena simply cannot be beat.

We just hope as word gets out, we will still be able to get a reservation with at Relais Maddalena the next time we visit Rome. http://www.relaismaddalena.com

A little difficult to see the entrance even when you are standing on the piazza. Buzz the front desk (on the 2nd floor) and they will let you in the large 1800’s exterior doorway.

Please see the accompanying photos.

Francesco also owns a gelato shop across from the piazza...Di San Crispino (Rick Steves likes it).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencer60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Great place, great location, great people. Everything fantastic. The perfect location for a stay if you want to be in the center of Rome without suffering an old, tiny hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#53 of 1,267 in Rome
992 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#112 of 1,267 in Rome
770 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#120 of 1,267 in Rome
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dimora degli Dei
Dimora degli Dei
#66 of 3,710 in Rome
258 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#50 of 3,710 in Rome
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Address: Piazza della Maddalena 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna , Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 3,710 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £137 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Maddalena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing