We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Rome, then stay here!”
Review of Relais Maddalena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Maddalena
Ranked #96 of 3,709 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Trip Advisor, you've done it again! We stayed at this little beauty because of it's ranking on trip advisor and we were not at all disappointed, Francesco and his team have put together an excellent experience for the traveller to Rome.

Let's start with location, from certain rooms you can see the Pantheon, it is not more than 100 meters away. Piazza Navona is about a 5 minute walk one direction and the Trevi fountain about 5 minutes the other direction. It seems that many of Romes important buildings e.g. Embassies and the like, are near by so there is always a high level of police presence which just adds to the overall safety of the area. We also walked to the Vatican which was a longer walk but well worth it as you get to see and hear many of the everyday sights, sounds and smells of Rome.

Our room, 1797 looked out on the beautiful Piazza Maddalena, you'll see from our photos that this was the first thing we saw each day. The bed was one of the most comfortable we had in nearly 5 weeks of traveling, and the bathroom was beautifully appointed and had the most wonderful rain shower. The mini bar was complimentary which is definitely a novelty. Breakfast was the standard European fare, in a very small room, although there are only 6 guest rooms so there isn't a need for it to be too big I guess.

When we next return to Rome I would definitely stay here, I would recommend it to my friends and my family, it is without doubt a wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Relais Maddalena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

Buongiorno Francesco! First of all the hotel pictures don't do justice to the actual interior of the rooms. The location for seeing Rome can't be beat. One block from the Pantheon and the hordes...on the small but lively Piazza Maddalena, we couldn't have been happier. Our room overlooked the Piazza and it was such fun looking out and seeing the action below. But don't worry about noise...the double pane windows actually block 'all' sound. It is a gem...we have finally found a hotel (B&B?) in Rome that we will return to year after year. Book early...

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Piazza...worth the cost.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoltoBeneItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights with Francesco and his staff of the Relais Maddalena bed and breakfast. The room we had was elegant; the bathroom modern and fastidiously clean; the setting perfect; and the proximity to historical sites and terrific restaurants ideal. In short, it was a great choice that allowed us to walk everywhere we wanted to go and encounter one wonderful vista after another. We would recommend this property without hesitation. Francesco was kind enough to also arrange for a pickup at the airport -- a benefit that we highly recommend after what is almost always a torturous trip across the Atlantic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We enjoyed our two night stay at Relais Maddalena. This is my 5th visit to Rome and have stayed in some nice places, but this small, perfectly located gem was unique. Our room was comfortable and spacious, with a very modern bathroom and good lighting, mirrors, hair dryer, all the things you like to have. Complimentary mini-bar and a nice view on the Piazza Maddalena, was so nice. The Pantheon was just a hundred yards away and this location was exactly what I wanted. We arrived by taxi and were greeted in the Piazza and assisted with our luggage, all without asking. Francesco arranged for a very early taxi to the airport for us on our departure date which was prompt and convenient. Definitely would plan to stay here again when in Rome.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms. . I asked for a view room and we got it. Book early.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I had the pleasure to stay at the Relais Maddalena for three nights in early October with 3 other friends. We stayed in the quad room and cannot say enough about how wonderful our experience was with Rome and with Relais Maddalena. Our room was beautiful, and smarter then we were most of the time. The staff was very accomodating and willing to assist us with planning the details of our time in Rome.
I do have to warn the potential traveller to Relias Maddalena of the sense of humor of our host. Francesco continually made us laugh with his dry sense of humor (we were convinced that the hop-on-hop-off tours were raided by the Italian authorities the day before we arrived until we found the plethora of them 3 blocks from the hotel)
Our experience was phenomenal, and I look forward to our next stay at Relais Maddalena. I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Roma.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binderathegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This hotel lived up to it's reputation. Not only in location but also in the high standards of accommodation and service. Small enough to care but with the standards that compete with the top star hotels. The attention to detail was impressive. Our rooms had the most wonderful view of the Church and square and we spent many happy hours in the evening sipping our complementary drinks and watching the world go by! This hotel and the staff made the difference in our stay and we wholeheartedly recommend Relais Maddalena. Go ahead and book with confidence!

Room Tip: Book for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wareingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Big family room , much space, excellent bathroom, Nice owners who speak french and english. Free bar, warm reception, very Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Decosterhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#48 of 1,267 in Rome
988 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#110 of 1,267 in Rome
770 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#121 of 1,267 in Rome
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dimora degli Dei
Dimora degli Dei
#67 of 3,709 in Rome
258 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#49 of 3,709 in Rome
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Address: Piazza della Maddalena 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna , Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 3,709 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £132 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Maddalena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing