We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and convenience”
Review of Relais Maddalena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Maddalena
Ranked #91 of 3,712 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The connection with an inn depends a great deal upon what you desire. What is a wonderful stay for one couple might have deficits for another. We had no deficits or complaints at Relais. My wife and I enjoyed immensely our 7 nights stay in the first week of December. A large part of that pleasure was due to the warm, convenient, and charming accommodations at the inn.
Helpful Innkeeper? That would be Francesco at Relais and Margherita (sp?) who also works there. Location? You can walk to many of the most intriguing sites and great restaurants or catch the frequent city buses by heading out to one of the big avenues just minutes away. Charm? Open your shutter and look out at the Piazza with its wonderful baroque church and fascinating streams of strollers. Clean well-appointed rooms? They were kept meticulously. We felt well served, and we will always remember the magic of the Piazza.

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borninthebronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Relais Maddalena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

4 nights here with my wife and two children. We loved it. Right in the middle of a very buzzy area in Rome where have great selection of restaurants and bars to choose from. Right around the corner from Parthenon and Piazza Navona. Breakfast was a bit cramped and stairs a bit of a climb to get to reception but neither issue would stop us going back and I am sure we will. Restaurant tips from the manager were reliable. Wireless modem was delivered to room on request. Hard to fault at this price it his location.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JedandDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Francesco and his staff are outstanding hosts. Warm, friendly, helpful in every way. The property is situated perfectly for anyone wanting to see the sights of Roma. I like the little piazza it faces. We were going to stay right out on the Pantheon's piazza but decided the noise, etc would diminish the experience. Relais Maddalena is close to the Pantheon, and you can even see it up the street if you're in the right room. Speaking of rooms....every one is a winner. Very clean and stylish, very comfortable, with beautiful bathrooms. Breakfast is included and is just perfect. The staff made cappuccinos for us which were delicious. We are serious espresso geeks and have our own italian equipment plumbed into our kitchen, so we appreciate quality caffe. The in room fridge has complimentary drinks of various sorts. Very nice touch. Cross the piazza to the gelato shop. It is excellent and is also run by your host Francesco. What else can be added to other comments. This is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a Pantheon view room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olypdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Trip Advisor, you've done it again! We stayed at this little beauty because of it's ranking on trip advisor and we were not at all disappointed, Francesco and his team have put together an excellent experience for the traveller to Rome.

Let's start with location, from certain rooms you can see the Pantheon, it is not more than 100 meters away. Piazza Navona is about a 5 minute walk one direction and the Trevi fountain about 5 minutes the other direction. It seems that many of Romes important buildings e.g. Embassies and the like, are near by so there is always a high level of police presence which just adds to the overall safety of the area. We also walked to the Vatican which was a longer walk but well worth it as you get to see and hear many of the everyday sights, sounds and smells of Rome.

Our room, 1797 looked out on the beautiful Piazza Maddalena, you'll see from our photos that this was the first thing we saw each day. The bed was one of the most comfortable we had in nearly 5 weeks of traveling, and the bathroom was beautifully appointed and had the most wonderful rain shower. The mini bar was complimentary which is definitely a novelty. Breakfast was the standard European fare, in a very small room, although there are only 6 guest rooms so there isn't a need for it to be too big I guess.

When we next return to Rome I would definitely stay here, I would recommend it to my friends and my family, it is without doubt a wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Buongiorno Francesco! First of all the hotel pictures don't do justice to the actual interior of the rooms. The location for seeing Rome can't be beat. One block from the Pantheon and the hordes...on the small but lively Piazza Maddalena, we couldn't have been happier. Our room overlooked the Piazza and it was such fun looking out and seeing the action below. But don't worry about noise...the double pane windows actually block 'all' sound. It is a gem...we have finally found a hotel (B&B?) in Rome that we will return to year after year. Book early...

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Piazza...worth the cost.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoltoBeneItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights with Francesco and his staff of the Relais Maddalena bed and breakfast. The room we had was elegant; the bathroom modern and fastidiously clean; the setting perfect; and the proximity to historical sites and terrific restaurants ideal. In short, it was a great choice that allowed us to walk everywhere we wanted to go and encounter one wonderful vista after another. We would recommend this property without hesitation. Francesco was kind enough to also arrange for a pickup at the airport -- a benefit that we highly recommend after what is almost always a torturous trip across the Atlantic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We enjoyed our two night stay at Relais Maddalena. This is my 5th visit to Rome and have stayed in some nice places, but this small, perfectly located gem was unique. Our room was comfortable and spacious, with a very modern bathroom and good lighting, mirrors, hair dryer, all the things you like to have. Complimentary mini-bar and a nice view on the Piazza Maddalena, was so nice. The Pantheon was just a hundred yards away and this location was exactly what I wanted. We arrived by taxi and were greeted in the Piazza and assisted with our luggage, all without asking. Francesco arranged for a very early taxi to the airport for us on our departure date which was prompt and convenient. Definitely would plan to stay here again when in Rome.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms. . I asked for a view room and we got it. Book early.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#49 of 1,267 in Rome
993 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#111 of 1,267 in Rome
770 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#115 of 1,267 in Rome
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dimora degli Dei
Dimora degli Dei
#62 of 3,712 in Rome
258 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#48 of 3,712 in Rome
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Address: Piazza della Maddalena 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna , Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 3,712 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £138 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Maddalena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing