We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect. Simply Perfect.”
Review of Relais Maddalena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Maddalena
Ranked #106 of 3,664 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marin County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect. Simply Perfect.”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I'll start by the car picking us up at Fiumico Airport. They were on time and ending up having to wait for us. It took forever for the airline to unload the baggage from the plane. The driver, Christian, was charming and funny and the car was a black Mercedes. There was no meter, just a driver driving us to the hotel. He drove us briefly around all the major sites, giving us a general lay of the land... telling us places to avoid and "must see and do".

NOTE: Do NOT rent a car in Italy--except maybe in the country. First of all, the lines on the roads and the street light signals seem to be almost meaningless. Everyone drives very fast and if there are any rules, none of them seem to apply--even though there are police everywhere. The police do not seem interested in traffic violations. But they are ominpresent if you need assistance, directions, etc.

SO... we arrive through a maze of tiny, narrow, cobblestone streets to Relais Maddalena. We go up the stairs (about 20 of them) from the street level entry and we are greeted by warm smells and pure quiet. Francesco Amore, the owner and operator of Relais Maddalena, greets us at the top of the stairs and helps with luggage while he checks us in. He is gentle and kind and the helpfulness he exhibited during the reservation process (and the million questions I had for him between the time I found him, finally making the reservation and arriving) were all handled with grace and kindness. Never hurried. This continued throughout the checkin process and is continuing now even during our stay. The Romans are NOT in a hurry. Unless they are driving. However, in this pedestrian central location you do not need a car. In fact, if you had one, I have no idea where you would park it.

We have been here three nights so far and have walked right out the front door to the Pantheon (about a half block away) the Coliseum, St. Peter's Basiica, Vatican City and Museum, Trevi Fountain, Four Fountains, etc. etc. Today we are walking to the Borghese Gardens and the Spanish Steps. No need for a car. None. It would be a waste of money since there is nowhere to park, and extremely dangerous to pretend to know the ways of the road of the Romans.

Relais Maddalena is located on Piazza della Maddalena, with several quaint restaurants on the street level, all with outdoor cafes. Across the street/plaza is the Roman Catholic Church, Santa Maria Maddalena. BEWARE: the streets are stone and are very uneven. Leave your spike heels at home. Not only will they get caught between the stones, get ruined and you would twist your ankle, you will be walking everywhere and a good pair of walking shoes (I recommend Merrills) are going to be your best friend

In addition to be the finest host, Francesco offers excellent suggestions for dining in the area. All, of course, within walking distance of Relais Maddalena. And when I say walking distance, I mean it will take you just a few minutes to walk there. On our first night we dined at Casa Bleve. Lorenzo was our waiter. Last night, New Year's Eve we dined at Grano and our waiters were Stefano and Ferederico. Night before at Ristorante La Rosetta (and our waiter was Enzo) which is right between Relais Maddalena and the Pantheon. All were good. Although Ristorante La Rosetta is all a al carte. No salads or anything like that. You have to ask for it and they (actually not "they" just the one rude woman at the door) begrudgingly tosses together a somewhat pathetic salad.

I'm not sure where we'll be eating tonight or tomorrow night, but I'm sure that the people will be warm and vibrant, the food will be deliciious and the service will make fond memories. I love Rome. It's crowded and busy, but I have never seen more jaw dropping architecture and history in my life.

Relais Maddalena is the perfect, and I really mean perfect, location for soaking it all in. In the center of the pedestrian district, you don't have to hear cars, traffic, etc. And the walls of this 14th Century building are literally 2.5 - 3 feet thick. The windows are super sound/weather proof, but it's nice to keep them open to hear the people on the piazza below speaking Italian, playing flute, smell the pizzas and pastas cooking and just absorbing the wonderfulness.

Francesco has thought of everything: Large (even by American standards) comfortable rooms, large comfortable beds, stylish furniture, large equipped bathrooms (blow dryer, slippers, towels, toothbrushes, toothpaste, flosser, shampoo, soap, razor, shower cap) stocked *complimentary* mini refrigerator with different juices, waters, prosecco, beer and nuts, chocolates and cookies. The breakfast each morning includes a selection fresh delicious cheeses, hams, proscuittos, breads, pastries, fruits, juices, coffee, cappuccino. I love this place!

It's going to be hard to go back home, to reality.

Room Tip: Tell Francesco what you want and he will deliver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    53
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
186
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The connection with an inn depends a great deal upon what you desire. What is a wonderful stay for one couple might have deficits for another. We had no deficits or complaints at Relais. My wife and I enjoyed immensely our 7 nights stay in the first week of December. A large part of that pleasure was due to the warm, convenient, and charming accommodations at the inn.
Helpful Innkeeper? That would be Francesco at Relais and Margherita (sp?) who also works there. Location? You can walk to many of the most intriguing sites and great restaurants or catch the frequent city buses by heading out to one of the big avenues just minutes away. Charm? Open your shutter and look out at the Piazza with its wonderful baroque church and fascinating streams of strollers. Clean well-appointed rooms? They were kept meticulously. We felt well served, and we will always remember the magic of the Piazza.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borninthebronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

4 nights here with my wife and two children. We loved it. Right in the middle of a very buzzy area in Rome where have great selection of restaurants and bars to choose from. Right around the corner from Parthenon and Piazza Navona. Breakfast was a bit cramped and stairs a bit of a climb to get to reception but neither issue would stop us going back and I am sure we will. Restaurant tips from the manager were reliable. Wireless modem was delivered to room on request. Hard to fault at this price it his location.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JedandDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Francesco and his staff are outstanding hosts. Warm, friendly, helpful in every way. The property is situated perfectly for anyone wanting to see the sights of Roma. I like the little piazza it faces. We were going to stay right out on the Pantheon's piazza but decided the noise, etc would diminish the experience. Relais Maddalena is close to the Pantheon, and you can even see it up the street if you're in the right room. Speaking of rooms....every one is a winner. Very clean and stylish, very comfortable, with beautiful bathrooms. Breakfast is included and is just perfect. The staff made cappuccinos for us which were delicious. We are serious espresso geeks and have our own italian equipment plumbed into our kitchen, so we appreciate quality caffe. The in room fridge has complimentary drinks of various sorts. Very nice touch. Cross the piazza to the gelato shop. It is excellent and is also run by your host Francesco. What else can be added to other comments. This is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a Pantheon view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olypdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Trip Advisor, you've done it again! We stayed at this little beauty because of it's ranking on trip advisor and we were not at all disappointed, Francesco and his team have put together an excellent experience for the traveller to Rome.

Let's start with location, from certain rooms you can see the Pantheon, it is not more than 100 meters away. Piazza Navona is about a 5 minute walk one direction and the Trevi fountain about 5 minutes the other direction. It seems that many of Romes important buildings e.g. Embassies and the like, are near by so there is always a high level of police presence which just adds to the overall safety of the area. We also walked to the Vatican which was a longer walk but well worth it as you get to see and hear many of the everyday sights, sounds and smells of Rome.

Our room, 1797 looked out on the beautiful Piazza Maddalena, you'll see from our photos that this was the first thing we saw each day. The bed was one of the most comfortable we had in nearly 5 weeks of traveling, and the bathroom was beautifully appointed and had the most wonderful rain shower. The mini bar was complimentary which is definitely a novelty. Breakfast was the standard European fare, in a very small room, although there are only 6 guest rooms so there isn't a need for it to be too big I guess.

When we next return to Rome I would definitely stay here, I would recommend it to my friends and my family, it is without doubt a wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Buongiorno Francesco! First of all the hotel pictures don't do justice to the actual interior of the rooms. The location for seeing Rome can't be beat. One block from the Pantheon and the hordes...on the small but lively Piazza Maddalena, we couldn't have been happier. Our room overlooked the Piazza and it was such fun looking out and seeing the action below. But don't worry about noise...the double pane windows actually block 'all' sound. It is a gem...we have finally found a hotel (B&B?) in Rome that we will return to year after year. Book early...

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Piazza...worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoltoBeneItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights with Francesco and his staff of the Relais Maddalena bed and breakfast. The room we had was elegant; the bathroom modern and fastidiously clean; the setting perfect; and the proximity to historical sites and terrific restaurants ideal. In short, it was a great choice that allowed us to walk everywhere we wanted to go and encounter one wonderful vista after another. We would recommend this property without hesitation. Francesco was kind enough to also arrange for a pickup at the airport -- a benefit that we highly recommend after what is almost always a torturous trip across the Atlantic.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#114 of 1,258 in Rome
759 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#56 of 1,258 in Rome
970 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,258 in Rome
3,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dimora degli Dei
Dimora degli Dei
#64 of 3,664 in Rome
253 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#58 of 3,664 in Rome
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Property: Relais Maddalena
Address: Piazza della Maddalena 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna , Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 3,664 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Maddalena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing