We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique feel with the best location!”
Review of Relais Maddalena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Maddalena
Ranked #106 of 3,664 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boutique feel with the best location!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My girlfriend and I recently visited Rome and found this place on trip advisor, it didn't disappoint, its located in the square next to the Pantheon with the enterance opposite the most beautiful church. There are only six rooms of which we had the cheapest, it comprised of a large comfy bed, complimentary mini bar which was re-filled and a lovely walk in waterfall shower. The court yard view was just that, a functional court yard hence the stain glass windows. I chanced a glance of one of the main bedrooms and this was right over the square and the church, amazing! Being a family run business the lady of the house was very freindly and helpful giving us a map and tips on where to visit for food and where the italian locals eat rather than the tourist traps. At the end of our two night stay they kept our cases in their family run ice cream parlour on the square so we could enjoy the sights and come back for them, this cost 320 euros which I can tell you after being to Rome before was a bargain. I will be suggesting this place to my mum and partner too, money well spent.

Room Tip: From the rooms I saw all were well decorated, it depends on the budget, we had the cheapest and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarky1092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    53
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
186
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed with Francesco in May of 2011. We were very pleased by the room and amazed by the bathroom. It is very close to the Pantheon but it feels like you're in your own neighborhood not the tourist district. As mentioned before, Francesco was charming and
welcoming. Also,so patient with questions and very helpful, not pushy. The room was large, clean, and very comfortable. I was amazed by how large the bathroom was! All the accomodations you could wish for and Cappuccino to die for every morning! Breakfast was wonderful, the fruit was very fresh every day. The location is perfect, We took a taxi to the train station, but walked everywhere else. We couldn't have picked a better hotel to introduce Europe to my husband. We highly recommend the Relais Maddalena!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank germqueen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We traveled as a family, with 2 young children, ages 9 & 10. Francesco was warm and inviting. His service prior to arrival was even superb, helping us obtain our Roma Pass and reserving a taxi to greet us at the airport. Our suite was wonderful - roomy and clean. We had one king bed and one twin bed in the main room, and another twin in the second bedroom. The daily breakfast was simple, but delicious. The hotel location was convenient to the pantheon, Piazza Navona and most of the sights and bus routes. Masum (?) who helped with breakfast and around the hotel was also very helpful and welcoming. Only negative is that you hear street noise and street cleaners all night!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed for a week over New Year. Had the quad room - king bed and single day bed in one room, single day bed in another. Loads of room. Lovely fittings and furniture. The room is at the side of he building. It is not quiet - you can hear lots of outside noise - but once we got used to it that was part of its charm. Francesco is the perfect host if you need an English speaker and Margarita does the same job in French. Visit their ice cream shop next door and have the most beautiful ice cream. Apart from drinks, breakfast is served cold but there is a huge choice. This is the best area to stay in Rome if you are a tourist - the beautiful buildings surround you, it is not far to anywhere and good restaurants abound. We went to Cul de Sac, Etabli, al Pompiere, Macchiareno, Okahbli and L'eau vive - all really good and to be recommended. And we walked everywhere. Don't bother wit a Roma card if you are staying centrally - you won't get your money back. One practical problem - the shower soaks a part of the bathroom so you need to drape a towel over the toilet to stop everything getting very wet. And the heating seemed to have a mind of its own some days. Even so we loved it - cannot rate it highly enough!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamNetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I'll start by the car picking us up at Fiumico Airport. They were on time and ending up having to wait for us. It took forever for the airline to unload the baggage from the plane. The driver, Christian, was charming and funny and the car was a black Mercedes. There was no meter, just a driver driving us to the hotel. He drove us briefly around all the major sites, giving us a general lay of the land... telling us places to avoid and "must see and do".

NOTE: Do NOT rent a car in Italy--except maybe in the country. First of all, the lines on the roads and the street light signals seem to be almost meaningless. Everyone drives very fast and if there are any rules, none of them seem to apply--even though there are police everywhere. The police do not seem interested in traffic violations. But they are ominpresent if you need assistance, directions, etc.

SO... we arrive through a maze of tiny, narrow, cobblestone streets to Relais Maddalena. We go up the stairs (about 20 of them) from the street level entry and we are greeted by warm smells and pure quiet. Francesco Amore, the owner and operator of Relais Maddalena, greets us at the top of the stairs and helps with luggage while he checks us in. He is gentle and kind and the helpfulness he exhibited during the reservation process (and the million questions I had for him between the time I found him, finally making the reservation and arriving) were all handled with grace and kindness. Never hurried. This continued throughout the checkin process and is continuing now even during our stay. The Romans are NOT in a hurry. Unless they are driving. However, in this pedestrian central location you do not need a car. In fact, if you had one, I have no idea where you would park it.

We have been here three nights so far and have walked right out the front door to the Pantheon (about a half block away) the Coliseum, St. Peter's Basiica, Vatican City and Museum, Trevi Fountain, Four Fountains, etc. etc. Today we are walking to the Borghese Gardens and the Spanish Steps. No need for a car. None. It would be a waste of money since there is nowhere to park, and extremely dangerous to pretend to know the ways of the road of the Romans.

Relais Maddalena is located on Piazza della Maddalena, with several quaint restaurants on the street level, all with outdoor cafes. Across the street/plaza is the Roman Catholic Church, Santa Maria Maddalena. BEWARE: the streets are stone and are very uneven. Leave your spike heels at home. Not only will they get caught between the stones, get ruined and you would twist your ankle, you will be walking everywhere and a good pair of walking shoes (I recommend Merrills) are going to be your best friend

In addition to be the finest host, Francesco offers excellent suggestions for dining in the area. All, of course, within walking distance of Relais Maddalena. And when I say walking distance, I mean it will take you just a few minutes to walk there. On our first night we dined at Casa Bleve. Lorenzo was our waiter. Last night, New Year's Eve we dined at Grano and our waiters were Stefano and Ferederico. Night before at Ristorante La Rosetta (and our waiter was Enzo) which is right between Relais Maddalena and the Pantheon. All were good. Although Ristorante La Rosetta is all a al carte. No salads or anything like that. You have to ask for it and they (actually not "they" just the one rude woman at the door) begrudgingly tosses together a somewhat pathetic salad.

I'm not sure where we'll be eating tonight or tomorrow night, but I'm sure that the people will be warm and vibrant, the food will be deliciious and the service will make fond memories. I love Rome. It's crowded and busy, but I have never seen more jaw dropping architecture and history in my life.

Relais Maddalena is the perfect, and I really mean perfect, location for soaking it all in. In the center of the pedestrian district, you don't have to hear cars, traffic, etc. And the walls of this 14th Century building are literally 2.5 - 3 feet thick. The windows are super sound/weather proof, but it's nice to keep them open to hear the people on the piazza below speaking Italian, playing flute, smell the pizzas and pastas cooking and just absorbing the wonderfulness.

Francesco has thought of everything: Large (even by American standards) comfortable rooms, large comfortable beds, stylish furniture, large equipped bathrooms (blow dryer, slippers, towels, toothbrushes, toothpaste, flosser, shampoo, soap, razor, shower cap) stocked *complimentary* mini refrigerator with different juices, waters, prosecco, beer and nuts, chocolates and cookies. The breakfast each morning includes a selection fresh delicious cheeses, hams, proscuittos, breads, pastries, fruits, juices, coffee, cappuccino. I love this place!

It's going to be hard to go back home, to reality.

Room Tip: Tell Francesco what you want and he will deliver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The connection with an inn depends a great deal upon what you desire. What is a wonderful stay for one couple might have deficits for another. We had no deficits or complaints at Relais. My wife and I enjoyed immensely our 7 nights stay in the first week of December. A large part of that pleasure was due to the warm, convenient, and charming accommodations at the inn.
Helpful Innkeeper? That would be Francesco at Relais and Margherita (sp?) who also works there. Location? You can walk to many of the most intriguing sites and great restaurants or catch the frequent city buses by heading out to one of the big avenues just minutes away. Charm? Open your shutter and look out at the Piazza with its wonderful baroque church and fascinating streams of strollers. Clean well-appointed rooms? They were kept meticulously. We felt well served, and we will always remember the magic of the Piazza.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borninthebronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

4 nights here with my wife and two children. We loved it. Right in the middle of a very buzzy area in Rome where have great selection of restaurants and bars to choose from. Right around the corner from Parthenon and Piazza Navona. Breakfast was a bit cramped and stairs a bit of a climb to get to reception but neither issue would stop us going back and I am sure we will. Restaurant tips from the manager were reliable. Wireless modem was delivered to room on request. Hard to fault at this price it his location.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JedandDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#114 of 1,258 in Rome
759 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#56 of 1,258 in Rome
970 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,258 in Rome
3,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dimora degli Dei
Dimora degli Dei
#64 of 3,664 in Rome
253 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#58 of 3,664 in Rome
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Property: Relais Maddalena
Address: Piazza della Maddalena 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna , Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 3,664 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Maddalena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing