We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compassionate management make the difference”
Review of Relais Maddalena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Maddalena
Ranked #79 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Everything you've read or heard about the Relais Maddalena is true. Yes, the location is excellent. Yes, the rooms are large and immaculately kept. Yes, the breakfast is substantial and varied. Yes to everything else, as well. Where the Relais Maddalena truly excels in is the one area that many properties ignore. THEY CARE ABOUT YOU. Francesco and his attentive staff enjoy going the extra mile to make sure that you have as fine a time in Rome as you possibly can. Francesco is happy..eager, even, to assist in whatever way he is able to, and with his vast knowledge of his city he is an impressive reservoir of information. The personal touch at the Relais Maddalena made all the difference to my wife and me, and our friends from England who met us there. Do not miss this gem in the Centro Storico.

Room Tip: Finest bed I've ever slept in in Europe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biff000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I and our two good friends have just returned from a wonderful 3 day break. We absolutely loved Rome and we were so pleased We chose to stay in The Relais Maddelena, a small intimate hotel situated in a lovely atmospheric part of Rome right in the centre of everything.
We had a lovely room overlooking the piazza. The room was spacious and well designed with everything we could want for and more. It was beautifully clean and was a real pleasure to return to after a full day out.
We enjoyed the breakfast. The fruit was delicious, so ripe and sweet and the prosciutto and cheese were lovely.
Relais Maddelena is in such a perfect location. We walked everywhere! No need to use transport for any of the sights.
We had a delicious lunch at a restaurant near Campo Di Fiori called 'Cul de Sac' which We would highly recommend and 'Gusto' with a more contemporary feel for a lovely evening meal. Need to book as they are both busy!
Thanks to all the staff at Relais Maddelena for a wonderful few days. Would have liked to have stayed longer! Hope we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in 2 rooms for 4 days in March at Relais Maddalena and everyone was pleased with the accommodations. The hotel is located just a short walk from the Pantheon, in a charming piazza and close to many good restaurants. The rooms were good size and clean. We didn't need the air conditioner or furnace (March) so no comment there but everything else was first class. If we should find our way back to Rome, we would hope to stay Relais Maddalena again.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are on the 2nd level up from the ground floor. We did not have any problem with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We spent 3 nights at this boutique hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. They gave us some wine to celebrate our honeymoon to start with, not to mention the free items in the mini-bar. They were very helpful with directions and recommendations as well. The Piazza that it is located on is frequented by many people, but not too big. We heard music at times and people dining beneath our window. Such a great sound when reading or getting ready for the evening. We had a very private room (on the second story), and when the window shut, it was dead quiet. The breakfast was great, as they provided lots of food, such as meats, breads, and pastries. The distance to things was like no other, right in the middle of everything. I was hesitant to walk everywhere as I thought it would be too much, but the location could not have been more perfect. All in all, a wonderful place to stay. I would recommend this hotel to any of my family or friends who want to have a wonderful stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My family and I just spent a week in Rome staying at Relais Maddalena. While we have been to Italy before, this was our first trip to Rome. We had high expectations of Relais Maddalena from the reviews we read and our communication with Francesco before we left the States. Once we arrived, the quality of the rooms, the location (the Pantheon is literally steps away) and the friendliness of the staff exceeded our expectations. We are already looking forward to our next visit. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to experience the best in Rome.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave46439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel would be impossible to find if you didn't know it was there, but it is in possibly the best location of any hotel in Rome. Unlike most 'central' hotels this one is next to the Pantheon - what I consider the real centre. You can walk anywhere from here. The hosts were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. Great breakfasts too - and the complimentary prosecco in the minibar every day was wonderful! I got the best rate by booking direct with them through their website. I can't recommend this place highly enough!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My girlfriend and I recently visited Rome and found this place on trip advisor, it didn't disappoint, its located in the square next to the Pantheon with the enterance opposite the most beautiful church. There are only six rooms of which we had the cheapest, it comprised of a large comfy bed, complimentary mini bar which was re-filled and a lovely walk in waterfall shower. The court yard view was just that, a functional court yard hence the stain glass windows. I chanced a glance of one of the main bedrooms and this was right over the square and the church, amazing! Being a family run business the lady of the house was very freindly and helpful giving us a map and tips on where to visit for food and where the italian locals eat rather than the tourist traps. At the end of our two night stay they kept our cases in their family run ice cream parlour on the square so we could enjoy the sights and come back for them, this cost 320 euros which I can tell you after being to Rome before was a bargain. I will be suggesting this place to my mum and partner too, money well spent.

Room Tip: From the rooms I saw all were well decorated, it depends on the budget, we had the cheapest and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarky1092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#46 of 1,268 in Rome
1,014 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#112 of 1,268 in Rome
668 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#117 of 1,268 in Rome
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dimora degli Dei
Dimora degli Dei
#80 of 3,721 in Rome
261 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#41 of 3,721 in Rome
180 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Address: Piazza della Maddalena 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna , Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £129 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Maddalena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing