We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and lovely rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Maddalena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relais Maddalena
Ranked #111 of 3,731 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bourton on the Water
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Perfect location and lovely rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is a bed and breakfast rather than a hotel but the staff are very helpful, the breakfast good and the rooms to a high standard. Large, modern, and with HUGE beds. Situated in a small piazza very close to the pantheon it is a little noisy in the evenings with the hum of people eating outside and in early mornings when deliveries begin, but we had the windows open and with them closed it was no problem. There are no staff on site overnight but they can be contacted by phone.
Entry through a small door set into a large one (they're not allowed a sign, so look at the buzzer labels) and up a flight of stone stairs, this place is an excellent blend of old stone and heavy wooden doors with modern decor. The location couldn't be better for exploring Rome on foot.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    50
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
177
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at Relais Maddalena the last week of November. We had a wonderful stay, and I would stay again, because the location is perfect for the Centro Storico. We stayed in the George Sand room, with a view overlooking the Piazza. The bed was very comfortable, the room and bath were large by European standards, with plenty of storage, and spotlessly clean. The location could not be better for tourists, once block from the Pantheon. A complimentary bottle of wine was included, in celebration of our anniversary, and we were greeted with a heart of rose petals on the bed. As part of our room rate, transfers from the train station were included; our driver, in a Mercedes, promptly greeted us. Alas, it happened to be a day when Vladimir Putin was in Rome, and many streets were closed and traffic was gridlocked. We ended up walking to Relais Maddalena from about half way from the train station, which was not a bad walk at all, even with luggage (one carry on bag on wheels). Everything is very close to Relais Maddalena!

The booking process was very easy. Francesco was a delight to work with.

Lots of reviewers call this a hotel. I am not sure that is accurate. Some call it a B&B, which for me connotes images of a cheerful, chatty innkeeper meting out freshly baked cookies. It most definitely is not that type of B&B. It is lodging, in a rather austere building with offices and apartments. It is lodging that has a small lobby, and a breakfast room. There are no other amenities that I could see, and no sign announcing that Relais is in that building. Keep your eye out for the giant green door across from the church, the door being nestled between two restaurants. The woman who worked the desk was very nice and helpful, but please don’t be disappointed and think this is a full-service hotel. It isn’t. We knew that, so we were fine. For those who are less than able-bodied, I did not see an elevator (although there may be one), I did see a chain device on the stairs, so maybe there is a lift of some sort? The stairs are steep. If you normally cannot climb stairs, I would ask about this before booking.

The positives have been listed here in many reviews, and they are true! There were a couple of negatives for us, which might have me looking elsewhere next time, but then again, maybe not, because the location is that good, the rooms large, the beds that comfortable. The rooms overlooking the piazza are noisy. There is a restaurant directly below the rooms, and you can hear noise from it, and the other two restaurants on the piazza. And, noise from revelers in the piazza. On the weekend, I needed earplugs to get to sleep. The other negative for me was that the shower floor, at least in the Sand room, was very slippery; there is an area in the center that dips down a few inches and it was difficult to stand without slipping, and heading toward that dip. The only soap provided is a liquid bath gel, and ladies, to shave your legs; there is no ledge or anyplace to put your foot up.

The minibar was included, which was a very nice gesture.

While the bath was well lit, the room was dim. Romantic, but not bright.

Slippers are included in the rooms, and bathrobes (we were there when Rome had a cold snap) would be an amazing addition to the rooms, and would feel very luxurious.

Breakfast was a European-style cold breakfast (bread, cake, meats, teas, Tang-like juice) and was a nice start to each day, in a room overlooking the plaza.

If you are looking for very clean, large, nicely decorated rooms with a modern touch in a classic setting, an excellent location for the historic center, and a independent experience, Relais Maddalena is perfect. I did not have a warm, personal experience with this lodging; if you are looking for a full-service hotel with a bar, restaurants, and amenities, you will be disappointed. If you are not, you'll probably love it.

Would I stay here again? Yes, if the price were competitive with full-service hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the piazza, but be aware there may be some noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sassypantsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beverly hills
Level Contributor
140 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Another great find through Tripadvisor! Amazing location but what is so nice is the comfort of the room and wonderful staff involved in making this a great place !No need to repeat all the positive comments others have said.. It is all true! When in Rome,will be back here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

There are so many good things to say about this boutique hotel/B & B. Perhaps it might be useful for me to mention at the outset that my husband is from Italy so we have traveled to Italy, including Rome, many, many times and this hotel truly is a stand-out amongst the many hotels we have stayed in in Italy. I did extensive research into finding a new place to stay in Rome this trip (particularly one right in the heart of everything) and this hotel will now be my, my husband’s, and my family’s ‘go to’ place when in Rome.

Let's start first with perhaps the most important aspect, the owner, Francesco, and the rest of the staff. As you can see this hotel is rated very well. Despite this, Francesco does not sit back and rest on his laurels as it seems so many other well-liked (and some not so well-liked) hotels in Italy do. Francesco is very responsive to emails/calls and is intimately involved with the day to day operations of the hotel and in taking very good care of his guests. He actually was there to greet us upon arrival and help us with all our bags. He is a wonderful, sweet gentleman. I could not say enough about what a great person and hotel owner he is. He is truly interested in helping you make the most of your time there and ensuring that you have a good stay at his hotel. My compliments extend to the rest of the staff as well, particularly Barbara, who is also very warm and very willing to help.

Second, you could not ask for a better location. Amongst our group, we had a few people that needed to take it easy when it came to all the walking and this location was perfect as you are right in the midst of EVERYTHING. The Coliseum/Roman Forum and the Vatican are the furthest out but are only a good walk from here and you are about equidistant from those two attractions. What's even better is that even though you are smack in the middle of all the action, the rooms are very quiet at night. All couples in our group confirmed this. We were concerned we might be kept up by noise in the little square out front and by being so close to the Pantheon but none of us had any problems particularly with the windows closed. There is A/C if needed.

Third, the rooms are CLEAN and beautiful. The Monnalisa rooms are very modern and large by even American standards (for those that have never been to Europe before - European hotel rooms are normally much smaller than American hotel rooms) and the Maddalena rooms are old-world quaint and cozier with modern bathrooms.

Fourth, the value…the quality of what you are getting for the cost compared to other central hotels in Rome is really good.

A few odds and ends…
The Beds – Fantastic! This hotel uses American style mattresses rather than the standard lumpy, hard European mattresses.
View from the rooms – Incredible! Open your windows, enjoy the breeze and gaze out onto the piazza and the Pantheon.
Breakfast – Lovely! The breakfast room is large and bright with a small terrace over the square out front. It is perfect for getting your day started in Rome with a little breakfast and coffee.

TIPS:
Arranging a taxi through the hotel is definitely a good way to go as mentioned by other reviewers due to the limited car access to the area and one-ways. If you let the owner know when you will be arriving or call once you are there, he will be sure to either greet you himself or have someone there to get you settled in.

The entrance to both the Relais Monnalisa and Relais Maddalena is the same - the large green double door in the yellow building opposite to the church on the piazza. Once in the door, you must walk down the hallway to the stairs on the right, go up one flight and then turn left to reach the small lobby/check-in.

Go eat at ParmaRoma! A great restaurant around the corner with an equally great owner, also named Francesco. You MUST try the cheese appetizer with balsamic vinegar, honey and jam to dip the cheese into. It might sound strange to some but it is delicious! Order a glass of Prosecco (Italian “champagne”) to go with it and you will not be disappointed.

Go have dessert at Gelateria di San Crispino! Delicious ice cream right on your piazza! Also owned by the owner of the hotel but it really is good ice cream! Very “scientific” with different flavors kept at different optimal temperatures for that flavor.

THANK YOU, FRANCESCO, FROM YOUR FRIENDS IN CHICAGO!!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the Monnalisa are larger rooms than the rooms in the Maddalena section of the hotel but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We loved our stay. Free mini bar which the hotel refilled every day, lose to everything, clean, old on the outside yet very modern on the inside. English was a slight barrier but it ended up quite fun talking to the hotel head each morning, expanding our Italian! Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ktcooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I couldn't ask for a better location - up the street from the Pantheon and near Piazza Navona. The hotel has superior modernization with a large, tastefully furnished room and modern bathroom with counter and storage space. For an atmospheric hotel, the room was one of the most comfortable I've stayed in Rome.

As part of the hotel package, the hotel arranged pick-up and drop-off from the airport. Based on the Tripadvisor comments and our experience, this was a wise choice. Getting to the hotel requires knowledge of a number of back- and one-way streets. Having a driver that knew how to get there was excellent. Also, the tips on getting in were helpful. The hotel is through the big green doors - ring the bell on the right side of the doorway to get attention. We went into the bulding lobby without ringing the bell and it wasn't clear what to do next. There are no signs and no obvious doors to knock-on. But all was resolved with a phone call.

We were greeted by Francesco, the owner, who showed us around, gave us restaurant tips, and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was fresh and ample with cereal, meats, cheese, yoghurt, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, tea, and pastries. As mentioned by someone else, the capuccino was a little weak.

My only warning is about noise in the rooms. It seems as if most rooms face the piazza with three bars/restaurants below. It's also a pathway for people going home at night. I'm not sure that much can be done to avoid the noise. Earplugs? Or take the opportunity immerse in city life and soak up the local color.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the piazza can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Festina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Small, charming hotel in the best part of Rome. Walking distance to all the major attractions and just a minute up the road from Pantheon. The rooms are nicely decorated, breakfast is good and the staff is friendly. I have stayed several places in Rome, but this is my favorite. Looking forward to my third stay next March already!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the piazza are nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#124 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#53 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Colonna
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#62 of 3,731 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dimora degli Dei
Dimora degli Dei
#69 of 3,731 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Property: Relais Maddalena
Address: Piazza della Maddalena 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 3,731 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Maddalena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing