We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location in delightful boutique hotel.”
Review of Relais Maddalena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Maddalena
Ranked #74 of 3,780 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We loved everything about our 6 night stay at Relais Maddalena. The location in the heart of 'old' Rome is OUTSTANDING with close proximity to many wonderful landmarks like the Pantheon. Our room was extremely well appointed, comfortable and the view over the piazza, was magical. Francesco, the owner, was very helpful and friendly and gave us many tips for enhancing our visit to Rome. Selena, who served at the front desk, and all the staff we met, went out of their way to make our visit most enjoyable. Breakfasts were exceptionally good and served in a lovely sunny room, with an option to sit on a delightful little balcony. We recommend this special gem most highly and will definitely stay there again when we next visit Rome.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view over the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotties2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed 10 nights end of May, first week of June at the Relais Maddalena. It is a charming hotel, beautifully and interestingly decorated My room overlooked the Piazza Maddalena and the Pantheon about a block away and I enjoyed watching all the activity in the evenings. Everything quieted down by 11:00pm, but it wasn't really loud and I could have closed the windows if I wanted it to be quieter. I would definitely stay in the same room again.

A delicious breakfast - fresh fruit, croissants, breads, meats, yogurt - specialty coffee drinks made by the breakfast - was served in a sunny room overlooking the piazza. There was a small balcony with tables and I ate outside some of the mornings.

Francesco, the owner, is very interesting. I enjoyed our conversations and hearing his perspective on travel, Rome, and appreciated his recommendations re my itinerary while in Rome. Selena who was at the front desk every morning by 9:00am was exceptionally helpful. I had a package being shipped from Siena and when it didn't arrive she spent considerable time tracking it. When I went to Ostia Antica, she was so helpful in giving me specific directions re which bus, trains to take. We, too, had interesting conversations re Rome and its culture.

One last recommendation, San Crispino, which is located in the Piazza, has incredibly good gelato.

I am giving it 4 stars re 5 because the front desk is not staffed 24 hours.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SS3170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Perfect location - one block from the Pantheon and walking distance to the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. Front desk was very helpful - and arranged our car to the airport the next morning.

Should be told to get into the hotel - you need to buzz at the odd green door. Fortunately, people were leaving when we were arriving. Many, many steps to the rooms (no elevators). Hauling luggage can be a challenge, but worth it!

Great room - overlooking the plaza. Great air conditioning and shower.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JanetS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Awful experience so please stay elsewhere! My family are here in Rome on 7th August so its hot. The aircon unit in our bedroom is almost totally ineffective yet makes lots of noise such that after returning to our room in the evening, even after one hour the temperature was still over 28 degrees and so impossible to sleep. The manager was called who was obnoxious and rude and disputed all our issues saying no one else has complained before(cannot be true!) and it was working fine!! When we showed him the thermostat indicating 28 degrees he pathetically said it was not accurate and the room is too big for it and basically insulting our intelligence with every point we made. This is the rudest "hospitality" individual I have ever encountered in my life of extensive travel! In addition the fittings in the bathroom were falling off the wall(loo roll holder, shower shelf, etc) and the floor was constantly wet with condensation such that the plaster there has broken and much has come off - ugly. Also there is no lift(not mentioned in their booking form) which means you have to carry your heavy luggage up 23 stairs. After one sweaty, sleepless night we are leaving without the inclusive breakfast which will be, I would imagine, as vile as the rest of the Relais Maddelena experience.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room next to the breakfast area as they make so much clatter from around 6.30am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Was very worried when we arrived at a huge green door and after pressing the door bell entered a very unimpressive hallway with no indication of hotel reception. One flight of stairs later we met Selena in a very pretty reception area. This was one of our best stays ever in a hotel. Tastefully, spaciously decorated modern rooms in a 16th century building with reminders of years long gone. High quality bathroom finishings, good linen, comfy bed, extra pillows and double glazed windows to keep the street noise out. Pantheon 100 metres down the road, Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps just 10 minutes walk. Roman Forum and Colosseum 20 minutes walk. Lots of good tavernas, pizzerias and osterias around the corner and on the piazza outside the hotel - too many to choose from. We even got a upgrade checking in which made us feel special. Substantial breakfast served. Late checkout possible for a little bit extra and airport transfers at €55. Could not fault them on anything. Francesco the manager taking great care of this special place. Thanks Selena for super service!

Room Tip: On the square - lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon and this place is the perfect charming Italian boutique hotel as everyone raves about on Hotels.com and TripAdvisor. Shortly after my reservation, the hotel emailed to see if there was anything more we needed, including a car from the airport. We mentioned it was our honeymoon, so they offered a special deal for an upgrade (which we took and was well worth it), and we took advantage of the car too (which was new Mercedes from the airport). The room was magnificent. It easily had 20 foot ceilings and a corner room that looked out onto a great square and beautiful church. Music was coming up from the square through two giant windows of the corner suite (we were concerned it might be too noisy at night, but these windows are air tight. The world cup soccer was on downstairs and we didn't hear a peep!). The bed and bathroom was fantastic and my wife and I say the hotel was the best part of Rome! It was perfectly centered in the middle of everything to see and do in Rome and Selena, was an incredible hostess. She was so helpful. For the price and location, I give it 5 stars. It is not a 5 star resort as the only drawback is the flight of stairs up to the main entrance (as there really is no grand lobby), but a cool Italian green door to enter. Our stay was awesome and I would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade...it was well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CoachRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I recently spent 4 magnificent nights in this small, boutique hotel located just 100 metres from the Pantheon. Our Deluxe room was large, well appointed and included a modern bathroom. We had a.nice view of the small square (Piazza della Maddelena) below and a glimpse of the Pantheon. The little piazza was lively late in the afternoon and night often featuring local musical entertainment. A lovely breakfast was included and while the reception is not manned 24 hours this never presented a problem. All major attractions are within walking distance. Francesco & Selena were both so friendly and helpful offering assistance and some local recommendations. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the small square below. Deluxe rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieP200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#62 of 3,780 in Rome
181 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Queen
Navona Queen
#26 of 3,780 in Rome
490 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Arpinelli Relais
Arpinelli Relais
#11 of 3,780 in Rome
325 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Mama's Home Rome
Mama's Home Rome
#135 of 3,780 in Rome
149 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dimora degli Dei
Dimora degli Dei
#104 of 3,780 in Rome
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Address: Piazza della Maddalena 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna , Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 3,780 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £101 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Maddalena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing