We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget alternative”
Review of Maior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maior
Ranked #782 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent budget alternative”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Maior B&B is an incredible deal for the price: Lidia and her husband are super sweet and helpful, their location is a very short walk to Roma Termini, and the accomodations are very comfortable. The only downside is that the place can be a bit tricky to find. Navigate to Piazza di Santa Maria Maggiore, find the cafe across the street on Via Dell'Esquilino, and look for a large door to the left. You'll have to buzz in to get inside the first time.

Lidia went out of her way to help us during our short and hectic stay in Rome, and I wouldn't dream of checking out a hostel in Rome before going back to Maior.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
23
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Well appointed rooms and convenient walking distance around Roma. Owner recommended excellent non-tourist restaurants. Especially enjoyed being next to the Santa Maria Maggiore church and within a traditional flat. We will stay here on our next visit to Roma!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

By saying typically Roman, I mean that you are staying in the heart of this fabulous city in a large 19th century house, which ressembles an old palazzo. You can hear the bells of Santa Maria Maggiore and walk nearly everywhere by foot.
The appartment itself is clean, the single room is large enough and had wooden furniture in retro style which is much more pleasant than IKEA-genre stuff. The bathroom is perfect. Unlike other travellors I had no problems with WiFi in my room.
On the day of my arrival I met the owner (or someone responsible for the reception). He was very nice and gave me some good advices about restaurants in Rome. I would especially recommend Tempio di Mecenate in via Merulana which is about 7 minutes from the B&B. A large sym supermarket is in the building just to the left of the B&B.
It was one of the best B&Bs I ever stayed and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cigalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Only 4 blocks away from the main train terminal, this bed & breakfast offers 3 or 4 rooms on a flat. I was given the first room on the right, which has a giant bathroom and a great view to the church across the street. The room was very clean and spacious. Modest decoration and tall ceilings, and a lovely sitting area with 2 chairs and a little table by the window where you could enjoy breakfast or write a letter (or simply day dream about Rome!)

Breakfast offered a variety of packaged pastries, cereal, fresh fruits and coffee/tea. Really nothing to write home about, but it was enough for me to start my day. Kitchen is small but well equipped, and the breakfast table is the best spot for your wi-fi access (I could barely load webpages from my room, but had no problem once I moved closer to the router, which is kept next to the kitchen)

The inn keeper was very friendly. Didn't speak any English (and I don't speak much Italian) but thankfully we found some common ground in Spanish, my first language. ;-) As other reviewers have already said, there is not a permanent resident in the house to assist with questions. Once the inn keeper leaves you are on your own, but I enjoyed this freedom and wouldn't consider it a con. I was the only guest that night and had the whole flat to myself! I had originally paid for a different room and was upgraded to a bigger one at no extra charge.

The only thing I was disappointed about was the fact that they don't take credit cards. I made my reservation online but then had to pay cash (I guess I misunderstood the info. about method of payment, thankfully I had enough cash with me to seal the deal.)

The other observation would be to study your map very well before you try to find this place. As pointed out in other reviews, the main entrance of this place is rather hidden, and there are no visible signs that indicate that you have the right place. To make things worse, the street where they are located only runs ONE block, which means you go back and forth, from corner to corner, looking at the names of the streets and wondering where is the block you are looking for. To make your life easier, simply find the Basilica of Saint Mary Major (the first important tourist attraction between the central station Roma Termini and the Colosseum) and the road you are looking for would be on the right hand side, when facing the church (east side), right next to the cafe in the corner of Esquilino and Vincenzo Gioberti.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road may be a little bit noisy due to heavy traffic; however their windows seem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solcito_cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herceg-Novi, Montenegro
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I've stayed two nights with my friend. Had no trouble finding the place (3 min. fm Termini),and the owner was waiting for me. Good communication with Mr Stefano prior the arrival,with all necessary info and directions rcvd. Very tidy place and very well warmed as outside was freezing weather(!).
If available next time I'm coming back here for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AloAloDiSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The B&B is 5 mins from Roma Termini and very well located. The owner met us at the B&B and showed us around the place and told us how to get around rome (we didnt see her anymore for the next 5 days that we were there). One needs to make the payment in cash upfront and leave the keys at the desk while leaving.
Our room was very spacious and very well laid out. There is no ac in the room but they had provided us a fan instead. our room was facing the main road so when we shut the windows to block out the noises it did become a little stuffy with just the fan.
They had a separate breakfast section which we picked up quite a few croissants and fruits. They also had some cereal and milk. The mini bar was stocked with small juice packets and water which was complimentary.
We had a great time at this B&B and enjoyed ourselves. Would definitely recommend it to others who are traveling to Rome and wish to stay close to Roma Termini.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bebmaior, Proprietario at Maior, responded to this review, 16 February 2015
Thank you so much for compliments. We are so happy for your good stay!
Now we have air conditioned in every room and in common space.
Thank you
Bye :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Great property in the heart of the city - very conveniently located. Lovely spacious room and bath (none of our other 3 hotels in Europe topped this!). Good selection of breakfast items and well stocked mini bar as well. Will recommend to others and plan to return ourselves!
However, the road next to the room was very noisy and we were forced to close the windows to reduce the noice which made the room quite stuffy at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window to the courtyard not the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kraaash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bebmaior, Proprietario at Maior, responded to this review, 16 February 2015
Thank you so much! We are happy for your good stay in Rome.
Now we have air conditioned in every room and in common space.
So if you like, you can close windows and have silence and fresh.
Thank you
Bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#20 of 1,261 in Rome
390 reviews
Monti
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
#694 of 1,261 in Rome
439 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,261 in Rome
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,184 reviews
Esquilino
Dream Station
Dream Station
#44 of 3,692 in Rome
462 reviews
Monti
Domus Liberius
Domus Liberius
#53 of 3,692 in Rome
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maior

Property: Maior
Address: Via Dell'Esquilino 38, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #782 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Maior is located in the historic centre of Rome at just a brief stroll from the central station Termini. This cosy B&B is situated in a prestigious building of the 19th century and offers comfortable rooms equipped with beautiful antique furniture. Rooms are large and smart and provided with private bathroom, wifi, air conditionated, TV lcd, digital safe and mini-fridge; two rooms have a wonderful view on the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing