We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simply stunning hotel”
Review of Gigli d'Oro Suite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gigli d'Oro Suite
Ranked #264 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A simply stunning hotel”
Reviewed 29 April 2011

A beautiful hotel, with truly kind and helpful staff in a perfect location. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubbleOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    54
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
142
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We are the kind of people who say it as it is... If you're looking for a romantic spot in the center of Rome, that is charmingly elegant, with helpful staff and offers all the commodities? You have to stay in Gigli d'Oro Suite!!!! Our stay was great and we enjoyed it very much! We are looking forward coming back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kastanie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Oh where to begin.....At the beginning! Booked a beautiful superior suite back in October ready for trip in Feb (for a wonderful romantic long weekend) - Day before flight was phoned to say room not available as a pipe had burst, was given two options (1 - stay at Navona Palace, or 2 - stay at their beautiful apartment). I chose option 2 as the photo's looked good and the reviews on Navona Palace were awful - oh what a mistake that was. Let me list the faults:

1. 3 bathrooms in the apartment - 2 worked (one was a box with a toilet and sink, the other was a long bathroom with a very small bath with a hand shower). My partner was unable to stand up in the shower as it was too small and I had to crouch down to have a shower!
2. Were told cleaners came every day - when we returned after our day out of our 2nd day nothing had been touched, the bed not made, the bathroom not cleaned!
3. The bed - isnt it usual to have a quilt cover on the quilt? Apparently not so at this apartment!
4. The noise - dont underestimate how sound travels! Next door you could hear them zipping bags, the TV we listened to until 3am, and we would sing along with them when they were singing. On top of this we had to listen to shouting all night long from drunken people on their way home, and sirens all night long.
5. The quality - poor, shockingly poor! We could see light between the thin plasterboard that separated the 2 apartments. (oh, did I not mention that 1 apartment had been made into two?)
6. General standard - NOT 4*!!! Scuff marks all over the place, the walls in both bedrooms were painted grey with horrible office spotlights on the walls, the TV had only 2 working channels, and the place generally smelled of drains!

So, how were we treated? Considering this was a romantic present and the owners knew this, we were actually promised the world and given nothing! We were promisd we would be looked after and nothing at all was done, we had to argue to get a small discount and not even an apology for the owner. He was unbelievably rude and clearly profit was the only thing of importance to him.

Would I recommend this place to anybody else, categorically and emphatically no. Maybe actually staying in the hotel is a different experience, but customer service is clearly non existant, if I had been the owner I would have made sure my customers had the experience they were expecting and more, this is not on the agenda of the owner of Gigli D'Oro Suites!


On the positive its in a great location, thats about all I can say.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwindontoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emiliano996, Direttore at Gigli d'Oro Suite, responded to this review, 26 February 2011
In reference to what you wrote and stated, we believe that it does not at all correspond to reality.

The apartment that we proposed (very high demand for its design, and very positive comments from guests) was chosen and confirmed by you based on the photos we've sent you via email, ruling out the possibility of staying at one of our luxury partner hotels.

Upon your arrival, you we're offered welcome drinks. After our check-in formalities, we accompanied you to the apartment and the minute you saw it you were really satisfied. In addition, to demonstrate our willingness to serve our guests the best way possible, you received a complementary bottle of wine.

For the whole period of your stay, you came by our hotel for breakfast, the apartment was cleaned daily and you always clearly demonstrated that you were satisfied with your stay (So what happened!?!). Upon check-out you were granted a significant discount, but you pretended an even higher one. Despite the fact that we had a strong and unjustified economic loss we still decided to grant the discount you've asked for.

We honestly think that a severely negative comment, like yours, was purposly aimed to create an unjustified bad image of our highly rated organization.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We 've stayed in the hotel for 4 nights.
Location is really excellent - in a narrow quiet alley, just behind Piaza Navona. It's a small hotel with small rooms, friendly athmosphere, free alcholoic bevrages and nice breakfast buffet.
But.....- water in bathroom was warm at the best case.
it was very disappointing to return the room in a cold wintery day and not to nave hot water.
We' ve complained but nothing had changed except ridiculous answers.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ramidov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We were in a junior suite. The first thing we noticed when we entered our room was how aesthetically pleasing it was. The ceilings look original to the building and are very nice, the lighting is very good, and just the overall feel is very comfortable and has a cool mix of modern and old-world. We were displeased, however, with the fact that there seemed to be a thin film of dust on the floor. We presumed that the room hadn't been occupied for quite some time and that it was just not vacuumed or mopped thoroughly before our arrival, but the floor remained this way all week despite us witnessing someone mopping the floor. We suppose it was just never vacuumed or mopped well. My wife would also often notice random strands of dark hair in the room after the room had been cleaned which was a bit unnerving considering she is blonde.

The location of Gigli D'Oro is very good. Being just a short walk away from the Pantheon, we were ideally located in that we could visit all the touristy things we wanted to do in Rome, going as far as the Colosseum and Circus Maximus, the Spanish Steps, and the Vatican all on foot without a problem. Many restaurants are close by on various side streets.

We definitely felt safe at Gigli D'Oro. For one, there are only a handful of rooms, so most of the people you see are familiar. And overall we were just pleased with the lighting and the feeling of safety with the security systems in place.

We had mixed reviews about the amenities of the room. The small fridge was very nice to have, and the big screen TV on the wall opposite the bed was also really nice, with a lot of different channels available. We had a problem with our phone in that we could not make any calls except to the front desk. We talked to the front desk about it on several occasions, and they claimed to "fix" it on several occasions. We were very displeased with the fact that Tommy at the front desk on at least two occasions told us the phone was fixed, but he didn't actually verify it was fixed. He just said to try it and it would work--and it never did actually work. We stayed for almost an entire week in Rome and did not have a fully operational phone, which is utterly unacceptable for the price we paid. Having to go down and use the phone at the front desk or use the cell phone of one of the people working at the front desk was very annoying. We also had an issue with a light in our bathroom turning on and off at random and not being controlled by any switch. We were told this would be fixed but it never was. We also felt that the shower was not thoroughly cleaned over time, as there was a noticable amount of what looked like black mold along the edges where the shower walls met the shower floor. Additionally, while the extra shower sprays (i.e. body sprays) felt nice, if you used them, the water would not drain properly and you would end up standing in a couple inches of water. The laptop computer was very nice to have. However, when we first arrived we found that our ethernet cable was not working correctly. Fortunately, I was tech-savvy enough to notice the problem and go down and ask for a new cable. It's also important to note that this hotel does not have an iron which is a big deal when all of your clothes have become wrinkled from being crammed into a suitcase. The hotel employees' recommendation was to use their garment cleaning service which would have cost us quite a bit extra. We ended up using a hairdryer to "iron" our clothes.

The complimentary breakfast was a daily highlight. The eating area, although small, was furnished well and was comfortable. The staff was very alert to everyone's arrival to eat breakfast and would very quickly ask us for any drink orders. There was a pretty decent variety of food--fruit, muffins, yogurt, cereal, pastries, and juices were all available. My wife ordered a cappucino just about every day for no extra charge. The hours of breakfast were also good for vacationers.

Regarding the staff at the front desk, we mostly interacted with Tommy. We also interacted with another woman whose name escapes me, but she was from Rome. Her English was so-so, and oftentimes when both she and Tommy were at the front desk and I was asking them questions, Tommy would translate my English to Italian for her so she could better answer questions. Tommy was very nice and attempted to be accomodating, but in a lot of respects he couldn't solve our problems. The phone incident was particularly disappointing, as I didn't want to be assured that everything was working fine unless he went up the small flight of stairs to our room to check things out personally.

Overall, we felt that at Gigli D'Oro we got a decent experience but it absolutely wasn't worth the very high price we paid. We feel that there are a lot of kinks still to be worked out, considering the hotel's been open for less than a year. At this time, we don't feel that Gigli D'Oro is quite firing on all cylinders yet. The highlights of Gigli D'Oro are the excellent complimentary breakfast, the location, and the overall aesthetic appeal of the rooms. The lowlights of Gigli D'Oro are the fact that the rooms were not pristine and we encountered several technical issues with the room (i.e. bathroom light turning on and off at random, phone not working, shower drain not draining properly, internet not working properly, and no iron), only one of which was resolved.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH2007Dood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Stayed just before Christmas, warm welcome from Tommy. A couple of issues, laptop in room didn't work and had to keep logging in to WIFI every single time wanted to be online which was ridiculous. Room was not serviced on 2nd day and BBC channel (one English speaking news channel please!) didn't work. Great restaurant recommendation for Saturday night. Wagner on front desk was not quite as helpful when two friends stopped by for pre-dinner drink were told "they could not stay long"!!! What! He also recommended terrible restaurant on the next night near Piazza Di Spagna something "Concorde" terrible food and service was awful and we were made to feel very unwelcome. Checked prior to arrival that iron/board would be available. Tommy says let me check 2 hours later finally says 'no'. Other little things - do not disturb sign for door, a clock and tissues!!!! Asked for wine glasses, 20 minutes later....being woken up at 7am every morning by other guests upstairs. Did not do the breakfast other than one day which was uncomfortable being 'monitored' by wait staff - not friendly at all. Based on price would expect some of these 'little things' be improved. Lovely room, Tommy great 'front man' but probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NellAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2010

- GREAT LOCATION!!!
- Lovely small stylish boutique hotel in the heart of Rome.
- The staff and hotel manager was very friendly and helpful.

We look forward to go back...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wedubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Orso
Relais Orso
#520 of 1,256 in Rome
325 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa de'Coronari - Design Rooms Library
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Rione Ponte
Relais Rione Ponte
#12 of 1,093 in Rome
121 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#51 of 3,643 in Rome
166 reviews
Parioli
Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gigli d'Oro Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gigli d'Oro Suite

Property: Gigli d'Oro Suite
Address: Via Dei Gigli d'Oro 12, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gigli d'Oro Suite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gigli d'Oro Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gigli d`Oro Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing