We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Hotel in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Ranked #227 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Lovely Hotel in a convenient location”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Finding a room in rome was proving a problem as very busy no availiablity or very expensive, so found Metropolis on website a little way from centre around 30-40 mins walk or around the corner a metro station to take you in to town the walking was a good chance to see everything same side of the river as the Vatican so approx 15 walk to the museum, the hotel is set on the corner of two two avenues so quite easy to find we took the metro from the main rail terminus and four stops later came out to a 5 min walk to hotel a quick checkin and we went to our room I booked a suite which had a jacuzzi bath in the room lovely and spacious bed was very comfortable all very clean and the maids were always friendly in the morning, breakfast was more than enough for both of us and the staff were vere helpful with any additional requests, my only complaint would be the early morning noise form the traffic outside they start early so being on the corner it could be heard but other than that a lovely little find more than happy to stay there again

Room Tip: we stayed on the third floor building corner not sure on the other side but may be quieter from road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsetter60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    324
    93
    29
    30
See reviews for
131
356
21
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My husband booked this hotel for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and it lived up to all expectations. On arrival were greeted by a friendly receptionist who explained where we could find the bar and restaurant and breakfast for the following morning, our room was also upgraded to a suite. The receptionist at the hotel booked a tour of the Vatican for us for the following morning, well worth the money as we were able to skip the really long queues on a Saturday morning. Our suite was lovely and spacious and the Jacuzzi soothed my really sore feet.

Our bus in from Rome Fumicino airport, even stopped in Piazza Cavour near the Vatican.

The location is great, away from the hustle and bustle but close enough for most places to be short walk; the Vatican and St Peter's and the Piazza del Popolo a 10 - 15 minute walk away. The Lepanto subway station was only a short walk way, very useful when you feet are really sore after a full day sightseeing around Rome.

The only downside was the free WIFI didn't work in our suite despite the receptionist telling me it would; I could only access the WIFI in the lounge/bar/restaurant area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My stay at the Hotel Metropolis was very enjoyable. I was in Rome on business. The HM was in a great location, I could commute to where I was working with the Lepanto subway station outside the hotel, which was very convenient. As a frequent traveler, I found the ammenities of the HM top-notch. My room at the HM had good looking, modern decorations, was spacious and very comfortable. After a long day of work, I enjoyed coming back to a more comfortable sofa than the one I have at home! Most nights I would go out for dinner with coworkers, but I also did try the HM’s restaurant, which was delicious and very convenient. The location of the HM was great for sightseeing. I walked by the Vatican with friends one night. Other travelers I talked to said the old town and the Courthouse were nearby as well. After a fun night out, I always went back to my room to relax in the jacuzzi/bathtub. The breakfast buffet was also much better than what most restaurants serve. Overall my experience at the HM was outstanding, hope I get sent back for work soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Great location in the Prati neighborhood--loved having so many restaurants and stores nearby. Also a plus to be so close to the Vatican & St. Peter's. I liked staying out of all of the tourist craziness. Our suite was very modern, clean, and relaxing. The room wasn't huge, but it was a good size--especially compared to other hotels I've stayed in in Italy. The in-room Jacuzzi was really cool--perfect for soaking my tired body after lots of walking around the city. The staff was very accommodating and gave us some recommendations of what time to go to things, what restaurants to check out, etc. I really liked Hotel Metropolis and would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: The suites all have Jacuzzis right in the room--you're going to need it if you plan on doing a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailstephens62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Hotel was overbooked! We were moved three time in three days! Thus lost a whole day of sight seeing in Rome including a private viewing of the Vatican gardens. The staff did not make any concessions. We booked and paid for the hotel in March but when we arrived they had overbooked and had no rooms. They blamed our booking agent! This was not true! We had to accept their arrangements as it was a holiday weekend and we were a mom and daughter traveling together. We also were meeting a friend who booked the hotel after us and had a room. In the end we were separated at two different hotels. When on the last day we asked for a room to freshen up in before our flight which was late on Monday night we were told it was possible but at an extra charge if 60 euro. How is that for service? The Metropolis Hotel is in serious need of staff training and new management? This hotel has no idea how to deal with paying customers! I will never stay there again!

Room Tip: Do not expect any service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

arrived at the hotel they said they had no more rooms (send me an email before evidently looked ugly!) said they had a room in the maintenance, we asked to see it but they would not
The staff did not seem particularly friendly. we have not even paid the taxy. horrible.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crippi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#191 of 1,256 in Rome
1,553 reviews
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#111 of 1,256 in Rome
862 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#218 of 1,256 in Rome
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
#267 of 1,256 in Rome
874 reviews
Starhotels Michelangelo
#148 of 1,256 in Rome
1,023 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Villa Duse
Hotel Villa Duse
#182 of 1,256 in Rome
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection

Property: Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Address: Via delle Milizie, 26, 00195 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolis, pearl of the hospitality in Rome’s city center, stands out for its original and modern design, complemented by an elegant and familiar atmosphere, which makes pleasant your stay in the Eternal CityA few minutes walking distance from Vatican City and St. Peter's Basilica, Hotel Metropolis is ideally located to quickly get the main attractions of the city, without renouncing to the tranquility of the location.Very close to Lepanto subway station, the hotel is well connected with the city area of interest, the most important monuments, museums, shopping streets and the main railway station, Termini.The hotel offers comfortable rooms of several categories to meet the liking and needs of a varied and dynamic clientele. Each room is equipped with bathroom, with shower or bathtub, hairdryer, safe-box, courtesy kit.Among other amenities, Hotel Metropolis is completed by the presence of an inside Bar and Restaurant, where you can delight your taste with creative cocktails and Italian dishes of the finest quality and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing