We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$380
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$463
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$365
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$933
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (836)
Filter reviews
836 results
Traveller rating
303
356
103
40
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
356
103
40
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationvatican cityfree wificity breakminute walkpiazza del popololovely hotelpastrieshotel restaurantwould definitely stay here againfour star hotelexcellent breakfastquiet neighborhoodair conditionwalked everywherespanish stepsstayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 836 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel because of the reviews which praised SPECIFICALLY the personalized service, the comfortable hotel rooms and the wonderful European breakfast. First- when we got there our AMEX wouldn't swipe. Instead of giving us 10 minutes to fix it with international service they charged our checkcard and told us when we checked out we could use the Amex. FALSE. We therefore lost all travel points associated and paid three times the conversion fees they just shrugged our shoulders and said "it's already been charged- nothing we can do". When we asked for the best restaurants they said "our hotel has a restaurant". And they circled a block of restaurants that supposedly had good food. FALSE AND FALSE. We spent 69 euro (about 100 dollars) for the most mediocre food that side of the Mediterranean at that hotel. The breakfast was like Golden Corral. If you like buffet look warm food that's the place to be. Yep- lots of variety none of which tasted good. We managed to make it throughout the city despite their lack of help. Final straw was the can ride. Not knowing anything we took a taxi from the airport which cost us 70 Euros because they have no shuttle. When we got there they told us we should've only paid 60. When we were trying to leave they said the only way was taxi or a bus but then gave us no info on the bus- they acted annoyed that we were even asking! We found a way- only cost 11 euro and was super easy for two people- terravision- which I will write about later. The thing is I always heard that you get what you give so we went our of our way to try and speak Italian, be thankful, be warm. But it was like trying to warm an ice cube. Ohhhh and the room- ONLY THE SUITE gives you a whirlpool tub so if you're booking for that check twice because Expedia won't tell you the amenities (such as tub). Our room looked like a cruise ship cabin. Dark and uncomfortable with two mattresses stuck together. There were only two good things at that hotel: Gary the waiter was a sweetheart even if the food sucked and it was a block away from the metro which you desperately need to commute around Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mermaidst0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

The room is fine for what you need. Theres no bath, but who needs it in this weather..!?

The main let down was the restaurant. My wife and i planned on walking to a nearby restaurant, but as it was raining, we decided to eat at the hotel.

The food was fine, but well over priced. Plus there was only fish on the menu. Fish starter, fish pasta, fish main.

This is our fourth night in Rome and we have been to many fine dining restaurants. The restaurants outside main tourist attractions are much more value for money and have a much, much better view...

One plus side, the one and only waiter/bar man/room service guy was amazing. In a room of 26 people, he served the food, prepared and served the drinks, and took room service to guests rooms. All with a smile on his face..

In summary, i would advise to stay here but eat somewhere else. There are far, far better places to eat at half the price.

1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband and I visited Rome a couple of weeks ago for our honeymoon and we stayed at the Hotel Metropolis. The hotel is in an amazing location! It is close to St Peters, the Vatican City and it’s Museum, the Piazza di Spagna, the Spanish Steps, Castel Sant’Angelo, the Piazza del Popolo, the Villa Borghese, etc... It’s in an area that’s well connected, by buses and the Lepanto metro stop on line A, which means that you can get anywhere in Rome for a great day out! The Hotel itself is beautiful. The decor is breathtaking from the moment you step into the lobby. We had a great stay in Rome, and especially in the Hotel Metropolis. We had a jacuzzi in our room which was such a nice surprise!

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and the staff are so friendly. Any room would be ideal!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

On our latest trip to Italy, we spent a lot of time in Rome (about two months) and apartment-hopped for the most part. We did spend a weekend in the Hotel Metropolis while we were in between accommodations and we were really happy with our choice. We wanted to stay out of the main tourist fray and thought the Prati neighborhood was perfect. We had walked through the neighborhood previously and kept it in mind for future reference. The hotel's restaurant was great and the staff at the hotel was fantastic. The room was very cool--a good size and the furnishings were super modern. We didn't spring for a Jacuzzi room but we peeked into one and it was very cool! The breakfast downstairs was great--standard options, but quality was good. I loved the modern design, very Italian. We loved the Hotel Metropolis's proximity to the Tiber River--great for people watching--and we loved the easy access to Piazza del Popolo. We had already been to the Vatican and with all of the pope hubub we didn't really want to venture back over there, but for those visitors who want a hotel close to the Vatican (especially first-timers), I would say HM is a great choice. Very close and convenient for those early wake-up calls to go stand in line for the museum. We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Metropolis--it fit in perfectly with the rest of our Rome trip!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DueNYers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Hotel Metropolis Rome was the second destination on my new husband and I's honeymoon-trip. Believe me, we did an AWFUL lot of searching to find the fanciest "best bang for the back" hotels. The hotel itself was extremely beautiful, and there was lots of historical architecture yet still remains fresh and modern. The whole place was honestly like 1 big piece of artwork. As a graphic designer, these things are important to me.

The rooms were extremely spacious, and It felt more like living in a small house vs a hotel room. The jacuzzi was used frequently. Very frequently.

The staff was really nice and helpful. I get kind of lost easily, and they made sure we got to the right place. (This is why I'm not the one that drives!)

Outside the hotel, the entire city and surrounding area was lovely. The Prati neighborhood had lots of stores for shopping, many restaurants to try... The local people seemed very happy and polite to tourists! I'd love to come back!

It's pretty close to some major attractions, like St. Peter's, Vatican City, the Spanish Steps, Piazza del Popolo, and many many more. The bus system made it a snap to get to all these places. It felt like an adventure, there was so much stuff to explore. I come from a small town, so it was really exciting.

I hope to visit again the future, it was definitely something I will remember for a looooong time!

Room Tip: Ive only stayed once, so i cant say which is better than another!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YTRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews