We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Ranked #247 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We visited Rome in April for 3 days, hotel is in a great location,15 minute walk to the Vatican City, metro stop 'Lepanto' was a 5 min walk away from the hotel, room was great, channels on tv were poor, hardly any English channels, think it was just the news tbh. Bathroom was gorgeous. We paid for breakfast as apart of the booking but only visited it once, weren't much to rave about, yoghurts, cereal, toast and salad, orange/apple juice etc. inside of the hotel looks new and very modern which is what we were looking for when booked to go to rome. Would recommend this hotel and if we went back to rome we would stay there again :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Struth_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

We booked this hotel because it had good reviews and was conveniently located to our daughter's study abroad program. It is clean, nicely decorated and relatively quiet, in a recently remodeled older building, and the breakfast is great. Metro is one block away and taxis are easy.
Our main complaint is that the desk staff was just slightly rude and either unable to or uninterested in recommending restaurants and helping with reservations, a usual service at most hotels. Additionally, the beds are hard and our rooms were hot. Opening the window meant putting up with streetcar noise. If you are looking for a good, basic, clean hotel near the Vatican, and you already know where to eat this is fine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Walking Distance from the Vatican. Modern style room. B fast was very good compared with the others hotels we stayed in Rome. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Would stay again if we are going to Rome..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lankanath-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Metropolis for an advance celebration of our tenth year anniversary. The hotel was very accomodating and granted our request for an upgrade at no extra cost. The room was spacious and cozy and the staff were friendly and very helpful.
The location of the hotel was superb as it was walking distance to the Vatican City and the Lepanto train station.

We were just surprised to discover that there was no airconditioning in the room and we stayed during the month of February, so it was quite warm. You need to open your windows to let the cool breeze in, which is not quite nice as the street in front of the hotel was quite busy.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel and would stay there again if I ever go back to Rome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We chose this hotel for a 3 nights break to celebrate my mothers 70th birthday. The location was very good about a 15 minute walk into the Vatican. We had a standard room for 3 which was very clean and spacious. The maids were in every day. Breakfast was continental and plenty of choice. Only downside was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Free wi-fi with excellent connection. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and when we return to Rome would stay her again.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room away from the front. We stayed at the vent and was very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiepurvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at the Metropolis for a few days and it served as an excellent base for our trip to Rome. The hotel is comfortable with decent rooms wth pleasant high ceilings and wooden beams with electronic velux windows which was pretty cool!

The bathrooms were of a decent size with good facilities that worked properly! It is by no means a luxury hotel but it definitely does its job and is a good place to get to the rest of Rome. It is one block away from Lepanto metro which takes two stops to get to Piazza di Spagna. We walked everywhere though - it doesn't take long to get around and is a great way to see the city.

The area isn't fantastic, there aren't really any other hotels around but there doesn't need to be. The breakfast was decent and provided us with a good energy boost for the long 12-13km walking days. The staff were very helpful and answered any questions we had and printed out the e-tickets we booked for the Vatican Museums and Colosseum visits (I would definitely recommend pre-booking these to skip queues!).

All in all a good hotel, good service, good facilities and a good location, if you don't mind walking/hitching the metro to get to the tourist centre.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is in a great spot if you want to be just outside of the hustle and bustle. It is very close to the Lepanto tube station and a 15 minute walk to the Vatican. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are extremely friendly. We were in a double room on the top floor at the back of the hotel. The room had a high ceiling with enough room to move around. There was a wardrobe with hangers but no drawer space. The room had a safe and mini bar. The bathroom was very modern with a double shower unit and power shower. The bathroom had a hair drier and complimentary toiletries which were topped up every day. We were also given clean towels every day. The breakfast was good with fruit juices, cereal, cold meats, cheese, scrambled egg, bacon, pastries cakes and yogurt. There was also a choice of different coffees. I would definitely return to this hotel if I return to Rome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merrills47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#187 of 1,271 in Rome
1,630 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#221 of 1,271 in Rome
1,037 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#295 of 1,271 in Rome
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#137 of 1,271 in Rome
904 reviews
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
#230 of 1,271 in Rome
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection

Address: Via delle Milizie, 26, 00195 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £71 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolis, pearl of the hospitality in Rome’s city center, stands out for its original and modern design, complemented by an elegant and familiar atmosphere, which makes pleasant your stay in the Eternal CityA few minutes walking distance from Vatican City and St. Peter's Basilica, Hotel Metropolis is ideally located to quickly get the main attractions of the city, without renouncing to the tranquility of the location.Very close to Lepanto subway station, the hotel is well connected with the city area of interest, the most important monuments, museums, shopping streets and the main railway station, Termini.The hotel offers comfortable rooms of several categories to meet the liking and needs of a varied and dynamic clientele. Each room is equipped with bathroom, with shower or bathtub, hairdryer, safe-box, courtesy kit.Among other amenities, Hotel Metropolis is completed by the presence of an inside Bar and Restaurant, where you can delight your taste with creative cocktails and Italian dishes of the finest quality and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing