We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal in Rome”
Review of Il Tulipano Nero

Il Tulipano Nero
Ranked #6,966 of 12,443 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Trastevere
Description: Delicious gluten-free pasta, pizza, bruchetta and more.
Savoy, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worst meal in Rome”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Both the gluten free and normal food here were horrible. We got gluten free fried zucchini for an appetizer and my husband found a piece of fish and bones inside it. My husband had lasagna and said he could get better lasagna at Olive Garden. I had a pizza and it wasn't very good either. We asked for red and white wine and only got red. Very poor experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    104
    69
    44
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honeymooners
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Gluten Free in Rome!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This restaurant we visited three times and it was very lovely for my wife who doesn't eat Gluten anymore but loves Roman food. We'd been to other non gluten ones around the city but this definitely was a winner. We'd recommend it to any celiac wanting good pizza, pasta or whatever Roman dish they are after - including the suppli and other fried bits for starters!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooners43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Il Tulipano Nero, gluten free delight”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Best restaurant experience in Rome! Ate here four nights out of seven on our honeymoon. Wide variety of gluten free dishes. All we ate were delicious. Pizza perfect and pasta tasty as well as excellent breads. Good quality. Great value for money. Fab and attentive service. Will return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judegaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“II Tulipano Nero”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

II Tulipano Nero, Rome. This sidewalk ristorante located in the Trastevere section of Rome was a non pretentious island in a sea of eating establishments. Sure there may have been better places but I think too you could do a lot worse. What I can say that this was always an enjoyable meal (went 3 times) that over 4 courses, water and wine, was still relatively inexpensive. Had fun with staff despite language barriers and did observe a local family dining there too (for what that matters).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bransom_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I was vomiting within 3 hours.”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We ate an early dinner here- being Coeliac for 5 years and having researched gluten free food in Rome I was keen to try it. It was empty other than a table of 3 people. I had brushetta- which was definitely gluten free because my partner had the same but 'normal', we could see the difference. I ordered lasagne for my main, but noted that the waiter did not write anything other than lasagne, so I said for a second time that it was gluten free lasagne. The food all came out together within about 5 minutes- never a good thing. The lasagne was not nice at all- and my fears were realised as 3 hours after the lasagne I was projectile vomiting. I would stay away from this place, to flaunt yourself as gluten free and then get it so terribly wrong is shameful. I am writing this in my hotel room on a beautiful Roma night because I am too ill to go out and enjoy my holiday.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank CinderellaToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Tulipano Nero also viewed

 

Been to Il Tulipano Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing