We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of peace and hospitality in Rome”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Istituto San Giuseppe di Cluny
Ranked #747 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Oasis of peace and hospitality in Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

I really don't get the reviews here complaining about how simple the quarters were and how there was no tv in the rooms! It's a CONVENT, not a hotel, and a LOVELY one at that. One just has to be prepared for no phone, no internet, no tv, & a curfew at 10:30pm. Most guests are French-speaking; the Sisters speak Italian or French or both, with some English. They welcomed us with a personal touch that you won't find in many other lodging places. One of them even set me up with a chair overlooking their beautiful garden and an icepack for my sprained ankle, and another lent me a cane to use. The rooms are clean and spare (ours was quite spacious - four single beds in a row for a family of four, with a table and chairs, and a couple of sinks), the breakfast simple. It's true the rolls are on the hard side, but they are not bad, and there's also yogurt, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. One has to come to such a place in a spirit of sharing and gratitude, not in a spirit of expecting one's own little private pot of marmalade at one's place setting. At ten minutes' walk from the Colosseum, in a pleasant neighborhood, at very reasonable prices, with warm hospitality, one cannot and should not complain but rather appreciate the simple gifts of a secure refuge in the middle of Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Isabel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    22
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
10
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We got to know about this hidden gem through a friend. The rooms are very spacious, immaculately clean, breakfast adequate, but the best part of it all was the beautiful Italian garden and the lovely view from the room. There are actually quite a few of them within the complex. The nuns speak mostly French and some English. It's surprisingly nice staying in a convent in Rome and we didn't mind the 11pm curfew. The colosseum is just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank syrah1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We were looking for more reasonable accommadations in Rome and booked at Convent San Guiseppe Di Cluny Convent. The rooms were good sized, vey clean, included an en suite bathroom and continental breakfast. The Convent facilites and grounds were beautiful and conveniently located near the Collesium and Santa Maria Majore (Church). We found the Sisters to be really helpful despite the language barrier (a few did speak English); gestures helped, but we did not find it any barrier to a great stay. We paid less than 100 Euro per room for our 5 night stay, which was a much better deal than hotels costing about twice as much. We went through a website (MonestaryStay.com) they charged us for one nights stay, we thought asa downpayment to reserve the room. Turned out that was actually a booking fee, so we found out an email address (casaprocura.cluny@tiscali.it) to contact them directly and avoid the booking fee. Loved the gardens, spent a couple of wonderful evenings on the terrace enjoying wine, bread and cheese for dinner.

Room Tip: We just asked for an ensuite bath. They don't have Air Conditioning, but we asaked for a fan an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the San Guiseppe convent in Rome. It was a wonderful place, breakfast was light and simple, but so good. The nuns were so sweet and helpful, though they struggled with English, they did their best to help and it always worked out. It was quiet, spotless clean and the courtyard garden was incredible. Rooms were filled with antiques. You can walk to the Coliseum, the train station, really anywhere you want to go, you can walk. Even though they have a 10:30 curfew, they gave us a key to let ourselves in on one night we thought we might be back late. Loved it, highly recommend, we will stay there on our next trip.

Room Tip: The double rooms have two twin beds - deal with it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Ciolli_Gleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed 3 days in this convent. We had had no idea before of staying in convent, until we tried S. Giuseppe di Cluny. I was afraid of feeling uncomfortable during our holiday is Rome. It turns out I was wrong, it was comfy enough for a 86 euro’s room.
It’s clean and neat. The sisters are also nice, though only few of them who are able to speak English. At least Sister Sukoltida is. She is very helpful, and will show you on the map they provide, the best way to get around by bus. Our room called Raphael Room, which is facing towards backyard and houses. The bathroom is spotless. Well I can’t say more about the room. You’d better see the pictures your self.
They have small elevator, enough for 2 people with luggage, I guess. Please note that the curfew is at 10.30 pm. You’d better ask them since we’re there during summer, I’m afraid they will have different policy during winter time.
The location is perfectly placed in a quiet neighborhood. 15 mins walk from Termini. Or if you want you can take the ‘714’ bus. I bought Roma pass from the beginning of my holiday in Rome, so I took the bus to get the maximum use of my pass.
Two blocs away from the convent, is Vittorio Metro station. And along the way to the station, you’ll find mini market and cafes. A self service laundry is also nearby. We did once we arrived in the convent.
Colosseum is also few blocks away, say 10 mins walk. So Colosseum was our first point of interest we visited once we were in Rome.
The breakfast is very basic. They serve continental breakfast from 8am to 9am only. But they have vending machine which you can buy coffee for 60 cent euro or soft drink from … umm didn’t buy soft drink, so I don’t know how much it costs.
A well maintained garden in the first floor is also open for the convent’s guest. If you’re interested in staying in the convent simply email to casaprocura.cluny@tiscali.it , prompt reply will be granted. H ere is the website http://www.casacluny.over-blog.com

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Red_Antares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#222 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#313 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orazia
Hotel Orazia
#500 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Allo Statuto
Hotel Allo Statuto
#824 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Monti
Conte House I
Conte House I
#756 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istituto San Giuseppe di Cluny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istituto San Giuseppe di Cluny

Property: Istituto San Giuseppe di Cluny
Address: Via Angelo Poliziano, 38, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #747 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Istituto San Giuseppe Di Cluny Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing