We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty on the outside, but not so great on the inside.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Ranked #227 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty on the outside, but not so great on the inside.”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

From the outside and pictures this place looks amazing!!! Great location and from the website the updated facilities looked like the perfect hotel. Wrong.

We stayed just one night and had two different suites (Raphael 1 and Tintoretto 3). There are no cars allowed in front of the apartment, but the cab was able to drop us off just a few meters away from the front door. The entire hotel is very modern. Check-in was really easy and there was a bellhop that helped with the luggage. There is a small elevator in the center of the hotel.

My parents were in Raphael 1. Their room was a tad smaller, but they had a bathtub in their room, which was clogged and slow to drain. They complained about the really loud outside noise as their main living room window is right above the restaurants and streets. We slept in Tintoretto 3 and our room was larger. Sofa bed in our bedroom was absolutely awful and had very little padding so you could feel the metal frame. Shower was tiny and toilet required quadruple flushes for just going number 1! Main beds and A/C were both great so no issues there.

Breakfast was not good. Basic continental breakfast with eggs, but the food was bland and tasted boxed rather than fresh.

Don't let the free spa credit suck you in! We arrived at about 2pm, was a tourist for a few hours and came back to book the spa credit. They were booked for the rest of the evening and didn't have anything until 11a the next morning when we were already scheduled to check-out. They said that we could use their facilities with the spa credit but it's just a fancy shower and I think a sauna (which you could experience just by going outside since it was July in Rome).

I probably will not be staying here again. Too many issues for such a short stay.

Room Tip: Top floors to avoid the noise from the streets!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miss_Thao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    197
    55
    31
    34
See reviews for
173
211
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We arrived at Navona Palace Hotel after an 18 hour journey to be told that they had cancelled our reservation and the only room that they had available was 400 Euros more than the price we had booked at. They said that they had contacted us to cancel the reservation, but we had never been contacted. The reason they stated was that our credit card was not authorised. We had a set daily limit on our credit card to prevent credit card fraud and they tried to draw the whole 3 day stay a week before we he even arrived when we were told that we would only have to pay on arrival.
The front of house staff were totally unaccomodating and refused to put us in contact with the owner/manager/decision maker, and after a long journey with 2 children we really were not in the mood to look for another hotel.
After we had checked out we realized that we had left our camera battery charger in the wall socket. We contacted them and asked if they could forward it to us in Venice and we would cover all costs. They point blank refused saying that it was not their problem and we needed to contact an independent courier to collect the charger.
It is such a pity that the front of house staff is so awful because the rooms and location are brilliant. We have stayed in much cheaper, lower graded hotels where the service has been far superior to this supposedly 5 star hotel. I wonder if the owners know what a bad rap the front of house staff are giving their hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JACKVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotel is located in close proximity to Novona Square (Piazza Novona) and is a 20 minute walk to most of the important sites in Rome. Be it the Vatican, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, colosseum etc. The initial approach to the hotel by taxi takes you thru a myriad of narrow cobblestone alleyways, splattered with colorful alfresco dining and souvenir shops. The hotel is not housed in a very impressive building (as the name would suggest) from the exterior nor does it have a fancy lobby or reception. However the rooms are clean, spacious and well appointed. Dining within the hotel is limited to breakfast. I am not sure whether they serve meals at other times as well as we did not try it out. The breakfast room is small and the offering is typically continental. The hot chocolate is excellent. The best reason to select this hotel is primarily the location and fairly friendly and helpful staff. The restaurants in close proximity (immediately in front of the hotel) which serves Italian fare, such as pasta, pizza, veal, calamari and some select cuts of meat, is absolutely fantastic. Having dined at a number of restaurants, we kept returning to this one as it dished out the best food. Italian ice creams are world famous. Amongst the best in Rome is "Blue Ice" which too is on the alleyway between the hotel and Piazza Novona.

Room Tip: Rooms to the right of the lifts are presumably affected less by the noise from street level at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 747Aviator787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Unless you want to feel like you are sleeping (or attempting to sleep) in the middle of a disco do not stay here. We checked in at 2:30 pm and enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of the location. But after an early dinner the party outside started at 9:30 pm and is continuing well into the night. It's now 1 am and I hope the pounding of the drums will soon end. We are on the first floor so perhaps the noise is level is lower on a higher floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srosol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Navona Palace Residenze di Charme, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guest,

we apologize for the inconvenience.
Our beautiful structure is located in the centre of a metropolis. The noise is a little problem that anyone can experience in any structure located in the centre of a big city.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed for four nights at Navona Palace with our children (age 11 and 8) and were very pleased overall with the hotel, the service and especially with the location. The layout of the room worked well for our family as our children slept on the roll-out sofa in the living area and we all enjoyed the terrace with the hot-tub, that was a nice substitute for a pool after long walks through the city.

There were many wonderful amenities - fresh towels, breakfast brought to your room for no additional charge, a friendly staff who helped coordinate ticket purchases, etc. Our only complaint was that the living room furniture was modern to the extent that it was non-functional - it was hard to sit in the living room comfortably and our son complained that the pull-out bed was not very comfortable - but we somewhat expected that.

Overall, a great place to stay in a lovely part of Rome!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolategardenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The hotel is really well situated for exploring central Rome. The rooms are well appointed. The staff were helpful and pleasant. It can be very noisy at night, so try to book a room above the first floor. The Green Line bus tour is to be avoided, it is very poor, little useful commentary and long periods of time whilst the bus is waiting at stops. The taxi drivers are surly and at worst very dishonest. Don't use the taxis near the Termini Railway station and make sure that the taxi is equipped with a meter. Vatican Museums are fantastic and worthy of a long visit. Book on line for both this and the Colosseum and you will be able to by pass the very long queues.

Room Tip: Ask for the most quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanRug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Suite of rooms meant 3 nights of huge discomfort on a sofa bed. Springs poking through the very thin mattress, really noisy fridge and sounds from local night club, one shower between 4 and no remote for the TV. Breakfast was inadequate and so called spa facilities non-existant. Also the hotel endorses dreadful tours of Rome e.g. Green line bus tours. Under no circumstances use this company. It was 2 hours of my life I will never get back!

Helpful?
3 Thank vicki77
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Trevi Palace Luxury Apartments
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,261 in Rome
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navona Palace Residenze di Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navona Palace Residenze di Charme

Property: Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Address: Via della Pace 36/36/A, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Rome
#127 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Navona Palace Residenze di Charme 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from the most important ancient Roman monuments, in a suggestive location with typical clubs and characteristic small restaurants where night life never ends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookAssist, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Lastminute, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Navona Palace Residenze di Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navona Palace Residenze Di Charme Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing