We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lousy Wi-Fi, non-present staff but well located”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jolie B&B Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jolie B&B Roma
Ranked #3,327 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lousy Wi-Fi, non-present staff but well located”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

I'll start by telling you the Wi-Fi connection was miserable, it only “works” in the tiny common room/front desk and as you probably know there is nothing more frustrating than a lousy Internet connection. No one was there to help us solve the problem or give a reasonable explanation.

Having said that, I must tell you we found the room in excellent condition, really clean... which ultimately was great considering the housekeeping staff only came 1 time to clean it during a 4-night stay. The bathroom has warm water all the time and works pretty well. The breakfast was a little bit skimpy (see photo) just bread, a slice of cheese, a tiny glass of orange-flavoured water (not orange juice) and coffee; however, it is not a big deal considering you can get proper bread and prosciutto to make a real sandwich in a mini-market just a few steps away on Via Nazionale.

Jolie B&B has a terrific location as you've probably read in other reviews, walking distance from Colosseo, Fontana Di Trevi and Piazza de la Repubblica. You can even get to Vatican City by foot, if you don't mind a 35-minute walk (I don't) full of spots for sightseeing.

Overall I'd say Jolie B&B is a solid option to be considered for your next trip to Rome, if you don't want to spend big money and don't mind being on your own (with no assistance from the house staff).

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTadeo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    31
    10
    3
    51
See reviews for
18
68
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

I think it might be difficult to find a better value-for-the-money place to stay in the center of Rome! The room was beatiful, very very clean, including the bathroom. Based on some reviews we were a little nervous about what it would be like (in the pictures it looked good, but you never know). We had two options, based on what we could afford, a two star hotel close to Villa Borghese, and Jolie B&B. The hotel was a less risky option, but a little bit more expensive and farther from our desired location. We decided to take the risk and go with Jolie B&B, after all it was a little less expensive, and closer to everything, and it was the best decision we could have made! I´ll explain a little more:

The B&B:

The common areas are very nicely decorated. Don´t let yourself down when you arrive. The entrance of the building might not look as nice since it is a very old building, but once you get to the B&B itself everything looks new!. So, ring the bell that says "Jolie B&B" (you might want to print out a picture of the outside of building, so it is easier to locate when you arrive), someone will buzz you in, and do not worry!. The B&B is on the second floor, take the stairs at the end of the hall to the left (the is only a few steps).

The staff is really nice, but it is true that most of them do not speak english. Our mother tongue is spanish, which is similar to italian (at least comparing it to english), and it wasn´t so hard. They do make an efford, but still, it could be a little tricky. I think the bigger issue might be with the check-in, because after that there isn´t really that much to talk about.

When we arrive everything was already prepared for us, the man at the reception had a folder with the information of our reservation already printed and ready to sign. We made the payment there (they have a point of sale, and credit cards are accepted. We actually payed with two credit cards), he gave us the keys and explained us how to use each one, which door to close when we leave and which one we should leave open, he also gave us the information regarding the breakfast, and guide us to our room. In the common area there are two doors that lead to two separe small hallways, each one with acces to two rooms, so there is a little more privacy (there are other doors, but they lead to service areas). We actually weren´t really sure if there was someone using the other room in our hallway; we reallize I guess at the end of our second day, that it looked like it was ocuppy because the houskeeping lady cleaned it every day (we saw her when we left every morning), and once we heard like a door opening at night, but that was it!.

The housekeeping lady was really polite. She waited in the common area during breakfast time for guests to let her know they were ready for breakfast and what they would like to drink (she didn´t seem to speak english either, but she understood). Breakfast is standard but not hotel-like, and served to eat in the room. They serve a bread roll, toasts, a croissant, marmalade, butter, cheese spread, nutella and yoghurt, with orange juice and choice of coffee, capuccino or chocolate. Trust me, it is more than enough! I don´t think that we could finish it on any day. We actually took the yoghurt for a mid-morning snack one day. After letting the houskeeping lady know that we were ready for breakfast and what we would like to drink, she went to prepare it and 5 minutes later was knoking on our door. She was very respectfull and didn´t even got close to entering the room; we opened the door and took the small cart while she waited outside (I guess for an approval sign, letting her know that everything was ok).

Regarding the location, it is excellent, I would say almost unbeatable for the price! Walking distance to almost everything: Termini Station, Fontana de Trevi, Coliseum, Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona. To go to Vatican City we took the subway. The neighbourhood is really nice (Palazzo del Quirinale, the official residence of the president, is around the block). It is close enough to Termini, without being too close (the area around Termini is not that nice), and as I said before, walking distance to most sites. There are restaurants, bakeries, and small shops close to the B&B. I would highly recommend Pizzeria Ricci (32 Via Genova, almost accross the street from the B&B); the sign doesn´t say "Pizzeria Ricci", it says "Pizzeria Est! Est! Est!" (see picture). We entered because on the door of the pizzeria we saw a lot of travel sites and restaurant magazines stickers recommending it (including tripadvisor), and we LOVED IT! Great pizza, great prices! We actually came back a second time before leaving. If you go, ask for the house wine.

The Room:

The room was perfect for us! Nicely decorated, and it looked exactly like in the pictures! I expected the pictures to be a little bit nicer that real life (like it usually is), but not this time! It do was a little bit on the small side, but nothing to worry about. It was perfectly clean, including the bathroom (there was a litlle bit of damage in the lower part of the shower doors because of the water, but something minor). The air conditioning worked perfectly. The channels on the LCD TV were in italian, as expected, but again, after walking all day long, all you want to do is to get a good night sleep, and this room was perfect for that!. Room temperature was excelent (you turn on and off the air conditioning when you enter-leave the room), bed was comfortable and pillows too. Water temperature and pressure in the shower were good too. Everything looked new and was in perfect conditions! We didn´t have any problem at all!

Overall:

We truly got more than what we expected! It is not a hotel, remember that! It is a B&B, but a really good one! If I go back to Rome, I would definetly stay here again! On the last day we met Mr. Rinaldo (I guess he is the manager or the owner), and we let him know that we were really happy with everything, that we had had a great stay, and that honestly, the B&B exceeded our expectations!, and that therefore, I would definitely write a review after coming back home! So, a little bit late, but here it is!. For us it was really difficult to find a place in Rome within our budget and with a convenient location, we took a shot with Jolie B&B and it got a smile out of our faces since the first day we arrived. I don´t know if we are easier to please than other people (there were mixed reviews when we booked, and that made us hesitate), but this B&B for sure has a lot to offer! Just remember, it is not a 5 stars hotel (there isn´t 24 h reception, a whole building dedicated exclusivelly for the guests, with all the amenities of a hotel...) but if you are looking for a very nice, cozy and clean place to stay, that has that at-home feel, this is it!

My review is a litlle bit long, but I hope it helps! It is my first review, and it took me some time to do it, but we were so happy with the B&B that I felt it deserved to be shared with other people looking for a place to stay.

P.S: In the ratings I gave the service Very Good in stead of Excellent because of the language barrier. But compared to what we actually got at the B&B, it was only a minor detail.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank InesCris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

This place is absolutely beautiful! Friendly people working there, the room and bathroom are beautiful! We got to see another room too and it was a whole different design but also really pretty! My own house isn't this nice. My sister and I stayed for 1 night but wished we could have been there for more. Great place!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We've spent a week in Jolie B&B. Good place to stay in Rome!

LOCALISATION: GREAT
Next to Via Nazionale and near Termini Station (you don't really need a taxi, it's a distance you can walk even with suitcase trolleys) , close to Santa Maria Maggiore and Trajan's Column. The best thing about Via Palermo, where Jolie B&B is situated: near the hotel (Via Palermo - when you walk down the street in the direction to Termini) is a wonderful pizzeria open from 1 to 3 pm (I guess just during the siesta) where the locals eat their lunch - DELICIOUS pizza, about 2-3 euro per slice (they price the slices according to their weight).

THE ROOM: GOOD
The room was quite small but really nice, clean and very quiet - with air conditioning, electric kettle, small fridge (where you can keep cool drinks as well as some snacks), bathroom (shower+sink+two mirrors and toilet + hair dryer), small LCD TV (Italian cable channels - everything is dubbed, some English programmes had an option to switch off the dubbing). Sometimes the water pressure in the bathroom was very low and we had to wait a bit to have a real shower. The room was cleaned every day. Free and surprisingly fast (as for a B&B) WIFI.

BREAKFAST: SUFFICIENT
Breakfast was OK (sufficient - a bread roll, a croissant, a yoghurt, some cheese, butter, marmelade, honey and Nutella plus a toast and coffe - however everyday we had the same thing). Served 7-10, you have to go to the reception desk and the maid will bring it to your room.

THE STAFF: FRIENDLY but you should know some basic Italian to communicate
The staff was very friendly however I guess nobody really speaks English (the owner - a really nice eldery man can speak French, the other man at the reception desk knew some English words) but with Google Translate we managed to communicate quite fine.
We arrived earlier but there was no problem to leave the luggage and go sightseeing while the room was prepared. The owner (Rinaldo I guess) gave us a flyer with a discount to Il Barocco restaurant (free coffe/water) - the food was OK but nothing special.


OVERALL I would recommend Jolie B&B to everyone looking for a value-for-money B&B in the centre of Rome!

One last thing - in Rome you can drink water right from the tap - and all across the city there are hundreds of "noses" - taps with drinking water.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat_Wo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Everything in the city is within walking distance which was awesome since figuring out the public transportation can sometimes be tricky. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the private bathroom. AC is also included (an amenity that we take for granted in the US!). WIFI is also free if you bring your own laptop/iPad/smart phone.

The price was excellent for Rome during peak season. I'd consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniC4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

A very nice room, with a nice bathroom, English speaking staff (2 out of 4, I guess), very accommodating, good wi-fi (why is it so seldom they have that, beats me) and it was cheaper then and another place which was way worse.

I wish I could give a top mark but the breakfast wasn't much, but it was a lot of, and the advertised air conditioning didn't work, but we got a fan instead.

Room Tip: The one receptionist checking me in was Romanian: +1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotekro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Joli Hotel
Joli Hotel
#1,086 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#203 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Monti
Hotel Galatea
Hotel Galatea
#462 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#295 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#50 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Monti
Roof Suite Rome
Roof Suite Rome
#632 of 3,752 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie B&B Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie B&B Roma

Property: Jolie B&B Roma
Address: Via Palermo 36, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,327 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolie B&B Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city-centre, just a few minutes walk from the main train station "Termini" and Piazza Venezia, the Jolie B & B is an excellent solution for those wishing to visit the city, staying in a private apartment, and, at the same time, enjoy all the facilities offered by Hotel. The Jolie B & B will enable you to reach the main places of cultural and historical attractions of Rome, and the perfect connections will guarantee to you an absolute freedom in choosing the means of transport. A pleasant atmosphere and an excellent service will accompany you throughout your holiday in the capital Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jolie B&B Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing