We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 939
Nearby Hotels
US$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$625
US$414
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori(Rome)
US$273
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$172
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Navona(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$215
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$354
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$206
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$336
US$258
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$877
US$486
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$733
US$443
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
32
66
44
15
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
66
44
15
23
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The location is great since its only about a ten minute walk from the Spanish Steps. However, the hotel is pretty basic, and the room that we stayed in did not appear to reflect the pictures on the web. The room was on the smaller side and did not have a lot of lighting. Also, the bathroom was quite small, but clean, which is the most important thing. Breakfast is very basic, and consists of rolls and other pre-packaged items.

We mainly stayed here because the price was reasonable for the area, and in a good location. If we had to do it again, I probably would have chosen to stay in another location for a slightly better room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bemmybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I booked Hotel 939 because of my Rick Steve's book (I use his books for all my European destinations). I have already posted a comment on his website that this hotel needs to be taken out of his book. My wife and I are frequent travelers to Europe and are in our twenties, we usually book basic hotels for a good price.

I never interacted with Aurora, who RS and another review commented on, I wish I had. The two staff member I dealt with with like night and day. One gentleman, Italian, was very nice, did not speak very much English, but that is no problem (we were in Italy after all). But the guy that I saw the most, Indian, was so shady and everything seemed like he was trying to scam my wife and I. Just like another reviewer on here, he insisted that I had to pay for my room the night before checkout, even though my email confirmation from 939 and their website say differently.

The worst part was the same guy that made us pay early told us we would only be able to stay there for 3 of the 4 nights we had booked. As we checked in, he told us that we will have to stay at another hotel (they would tell us which one) on the third night, because they did not have enough rooms. Are you kidding me? I just walked in here, after walking around for 30 min in Roman heat after 16 hours of traveling, jet lagged and now you are telling me that the hotel I booked four months ago does not have a room for me on the third night of a four night booking? We ended up not having to switch hotels, but it may have been a blessing.

The bed was two doubles pushed together, typical for Europe, but where the beds touched it was higher and both angled down. I had a sore back every morning because I have to hold myself towards the middle so I would not slide off. Worst bed in Italy. Also, the ceiling lights did not work, front desk said he'd fix it, never happened.

I will also post this same review under Hotel Marcus, because they are one in the same. My RS books said 939 had recently renovated rooms and that is the one I booked with. Yet, my key said "Marcus" and the room was in shambles, it had not been renovated.

Location is good, but if I had to do it over, I'd pay more for a better place and stay one less night in Rome. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, in any country at any price range.

Room Tip: To get the best room, do not book it at this hotel. Book it almost anywhere else.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Traveling-Illini4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Room was only large enough for a very small double bed and no where for luggage -although supposed to be double. Advertises tv and computer - lobby computer did not work and tv's in several bedrooms broken(heard from other guests at the time). Stayed for 3 nights and was repeatedly asked to pay for room before checkout - which we explained we needed to go to ATM. Checkout on our reservation said noon but they asked us to be out by 11 and often frugal with toilet paper - had to ask for refills. Clean room 2 blocks from Spanish Steps - but if you're looking for service this wasn't the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samwise187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

The rooms here are VERY small, but they are stylish. Breakfast is 5 euro. We ate elsewhere. Aurora is the hostess. She is the best! We loved her. She gave us great recommendations for dinner. The location is within a short walking distance of Trevi and Pantheon and Spanish Steps(where there is a Metro stop) and Piazza Navona. Although the rooms were smaller than any place else on our trip, I would still stay here again just because of Aurora. She became a friend in the short time we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews