We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off”

Caffe e Pasticceria U. Giuliani
Ranked #149 of 157 Coffee & Tea in Rome
Price range: US$9 - US$33
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Esquilino
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rip off”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Rip off ! Of course, we should have checked the reviews but well....

Pastries are good but prices are incredibly high.. We sat and they quickly asked what patries we want, took our order while shaving the menu away... Since we had great experiences every single time in other Roman places we did not consider prices.. A croisant is 5 euros .. Other pastries go for 5-7. A capucino 4.50. The previous days we paid around 1 euro for similar pastries and a coffee is rarely above 1.50. Total rip off... The good thing was that all our diningexperiences were amazing

Helpful?
Thank Aadria
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    65
    66
    89
    428
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A complete rip off”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We sat down in this Bar for 3 cappuccini and a very small selection of mignons i.e. 2 pieces each.... very nice but when the bill came we had a shock!!!! 18.50 euros Incredible!! I was late for my flight otherwise I would have reported them to the Finanza (Italian Police for business)! Don't bother going there are so many other places to go and have nice cappuccino and 'pastarelle'

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rele0ne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“disgusting premade food with rude service”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

our first night in Rome was totally ruined by the horrible pricy food here. all the food we ordered were pre made and heated up by microwave. The taste is very bad and the service is rude. The woman pretended not understanding English and tried to push everything to us to order. She was very rude and not friendly at all. I strong recommended DO NOT eat here at all. they even charged us 5euro for a can of coke and 1euro table fee per person, not mention the terrible food and service.

Helpful?
Thank B-Rabbit142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the visit, terrible food.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This "Restaurant" had some lovely pastries and candid fruit, but when it came to their hot food it was a complete let down. I had lasagna, my husband spaghetti ragu. It was microwaved (barely warm) dry and contained hardly any sauce or meat. The service was very poor, when we ordered a starter, we were told they had sold out and the waitress just left without offering an alternative. For 2 small beers and 1 large, the 2 meals cost us 37 eruos and definitely a waste of money and has let Italy down with serving up their style of traditional food. And had the nerve to charge a service charge. When we complained we were brushed off.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazzie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

food on display heated up in microwave and was very dry and stodgy, not what we expected in Rome. server put two saucers down at end of meal, one for the bill and the other for a tip for him.
will not go back ever.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank weedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe e Pasticceria U. Giuliani also viewed

 

Been to Caffe e Pasticceria U. Giuliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing