We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice”
Review of Hotel Villa Linneo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Linneo
Ranked #527 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel enough! We stayed here for 7 nights after a planned switch from another nearby hotel. The location is excellent - just north of the Villa Borghese and a quick tram/bus ride (or slightly longer walk) to all of the best destinations and restaurants. The hotel was built in the 20's as a residence for fleet admirals in the Marina Italiana and it's transition into a lovely boutique hotel has only improved the property. The decor was gorgeous, our room was well appointed with English fixtures (including a bidet and stand up shower) and very comfortable. The electric shutters on the windows allow for 80 - 100% blackout for excellent sleeping and additional sound dampening from the occasional street noise. Breakfast is served each morning on a huge table set with a delicious array of breads/pastries, fruits, yogurt, jams, tea, and freshly made coffee. The staff is top-notch - friendly, professional, and quick with recommendations for restaurants and activities (and anything else you might need). Be sure to walk through the neighborhood to enjoy the architecture, lovely flowers, and great dining options including Il Buchetto and Taverna Rossini.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lena_laire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed Villa Linneo for its gorgeous decor and delicious breakfast.

Whilst its out of the city centre it's a short walk through Villa Borghese to town.

Be sure to dine at Pagaroma if you stay here... It's only a short walk.

1  Thank dreamingtraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I always stay at either the Villa Linneo or Villa Mangili during my business stay in Rome. They are both great hotels run by the same people who are very friendly. It is like staying at home and it is such a quiet location in the nicest neighbourhood in Rome (Parioli).

Breakfast is good but used to be better with the fresh pizzas and focaccias :) bring them back!

Room Tip: Room 21 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicarzani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I found the sister hotel Villa Mangili on Trip Advisor. We were three big American guys traveling for fun in Italy and wanted king beds with standup showers. So many European hotels have twin beds and bathtubs only. The staff directed us to their new Hotel Linneo just down the street. WHAT A GEM! Great rooms, beautiful beds with 100% LINEN sheets wow, English plumbing fixtures with bidets and standup showers in a freshly renovated private mansion built in the 1920's by Mussolini for his staff. Extremely artistic and tasteful decor (I am a professional interior designer). Each room has electric hurricane shutters on each window to get 100% blackout for sleeping with great A/C. The fresh baked croissants every morning along with fresh fruits, jams, and fresh espresso were to die for. But the best part of all was the manager / owner who lives onsite Gautier. His father Walter worked during the day as well. These are true Italian gentlemen there to serve you. Every need we had from taxis to dinners to finding a nice barber shop was taken care of. This property is just north of Villa Borghese Park and is located in a very quiet and exclusive neighborhood a quick cab ride away from everything. Lovely gardens and patios are included in this walled in compound. We cannot say enough great things about the staff and this property and we were all very picky American travelers. The room rate was beyond fair and the final bill was even rounded DOWN for our three rooms, four nights. You must stay here to enjoy a lovely Rome experience!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank designerbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

This hotel is run by same owners as Villa Mangili, where I had my booking made originally. Due to some fixing for their air conditioning they organized me to this hotel and I couldn't have been more happily surprised.

Service was excellent and very friendly (though they speak mostly only Italian). I had one the most beautiful rooms they said they have (Nr 19) and the surrounding couldn't have been more gorgeous either. Definitely a bargain for solo travellers! I've never had such a luxoriuous experience before, a free standing bath next to the bed and a beautiful view to the garden.

Hotel is located in quiet area next to a nice park Villa Borghese. Walk to the closest metro (Flaminio) takes about 15-20 min, buses run from closer of the hotel too.

When I asked when do I need to check out I was told whenever I feel like. So after a good breakfast (fruit, joghurt, sweet pastries) and before getting myself out to the hassle I went back for a good nap! Excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emppuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank crizfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrizio_M77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Villa Mangili
Villa Mangili
#580 of 1,268 in Rome
131 reviews
Parioli
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#1,096 of 1,268 in Rome
171 reviews
Parioli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
#536 of 1,268 in Rome
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Villa Porpora
Villa Porpora
#766 of 1,268 in Rome
28 reviews
Parioli
Paisiello Parioli Hotel
Paisiello Parioli Hotel
#1,050 of 1,268 in Rome
76 reviews
Parioli
The Duke Hotel
The Duke Hotel
#147 of 1,268 in Rome
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Linneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Linneo

Address: Via Carlo Linneo 1A, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #527 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £129 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Linneo 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Linneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing