We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in a great location.”
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vatican View
Ranked #41 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The hotel is situated in a very good location which helps you to visit Vatican, Sixteen Chapel and many other nice places.
The rooms are smaller than how they look like in presentation, but still nice and clean.
The hotel has a wonderful terrace on the roof where you can enjoy the view and the wine.....

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of Vatican
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank x3non
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear X3non,

Thank you for the review.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our Hotel.
In our website you will find the pictures of all our rooms, standard and deluxe, because we want to show you just what you booked.
Anyway, I promise you a bigger room for your next time ;) don't worry!

Best Regards,
Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

The Vatican View is, as you would expect, a stone's throw from the Vatican and in a perfect location for exploring the city. It was also well located for my business meetings in the Prati district and for the restaurants and nightlife of Trastevere. The hotel appears to be a recently refurbished apartment building and has kitchenettes on each floor and a roof terrace at the top. Our room was lovely - very spacious with plenty of storage space, and beautiful, if quirky, furnishings. It was roasting hot during our stay but the room stayed nice and cool and we had a lovely view of the bussling street life from our large, white shuttered windows. The bathroom was very small, but had modern fittings and a good shower.

The hotel does not have a restaurant or bar, the reception is in the next door building and guests are given keys to the building in which the rooms are situated. The advantage of this is that you can come and go as you please, even late at night. There is no breakfast, but the rooms have tea and coffee making facilities and mineral water, biscuits and croissants are provided free of charge. In many ways, the set up is similar to an "apart-hotel". I do think that the Vatican View could make more of this, perhaps by providing more extensive facilities for guests to prepare their own breakfasts and by installing mini-bars in the rooms. I also think that the roof terrace is something of a missed opportunity - in-room mini bars or a small roof-top bar (even an honesty bar) would be nice.

All in all, perfect for a romantic weekend break in Rome, but maybe not ideal for business travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Constanze_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We checked into the Vatican View for a one week stay in Rome near Christmas. The location is absolutely superb. A two-minute walk from St. Peter's Square, we literally had a Vatican View when we saw the pope within our first hour in the hotel's neighborhood. The staff was excellent: friendly, kind and extremely helpful. We stayed in the quadruple room, which was a suite with two rooms, two bathrooms, a small kitchenette, a couch and two mini fridges. Each room came stocked with 2 free water bottles per day, plus juice, free tea/coffee, a coffee maker, and breakfasts treats. We found the room very spacious and comfortable for a family of four. The hotel has free wifi, which works very well! There was a problem with the phone connection a couple of times during our stay, but other than that, the Relais Vatican View was our perfect home away from home in Rome. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We traveled as a family of four with two young-adults and two parents and we found the quadruple sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beeta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

From my initial email exchanges with the front desk via email after I'd made the reservation (inquired re. wi-fi, etc.) to the check-out after my two-day stay, I was fully satisfied, and more. More, because of the location--Vatican View is on a very good street two minutes from Piazza San Pietro, and it's a 15 minute walk to Navona. The dining in the neighborhood is a bit pricy in some places, but good food :) My room was very spacious, modern, and had good window (actually opened) and light. Bathroom modern, clean, everything you'd expect from a great hotel. The management was extremely helpful (fluent English and Italian, of course). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Hotel Vatican View ... very clean, great location and friendly staff. Great value !!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We checked into the Vatican View for one night upon returning back to Rome from a 3 day tour. Thanks to industrial action within AirFrance, we did not get to spend as long at the hotel as originally planned
This establishment is marketed as a hotel but in fact the rooms and service offering are more akin to an apartment – higher standard of fitout in the building, private entrance without going through a reception area, rooms which are more comfortable to stay in etc
The overall feel of the hotel is very modern but with some pleasant touches of the original building remaining (very high ceilings for example). The renovation must be very recent as everything looked very new and clean.
We found the rooms to be very comfortable. The bathrooms are large and nicely appointed. The beds at first felt quite firm but proved to be very comfortable. The bedrooms are a little on the small side but the overall design of the rooms is well thought out to make the best use of the available space.
The service we received was first rate. We arrived for check in 1 hour after the office officially closed. This was no issue and we received a cheerful greeting despite the inconvenience caused for the manager. He was also extremely helpful in booking us a taxi to catch an early morning flight
It is interesting to have read so many reviews about the location. It is certainly true that it would be hard to find a location with better proximity to the Vatican. Further, the location is quite a convenient base in which to explore the city. For shopaholics there is excellent shopping available several streets away.
During our holiday in Rome we also spent some time based in an apartment near Campo De' Fiori. Comparing the two locations we felt that the later location was more family orientated, offered a better range of restaurants and never ceased to throw up interesting surprises as we explored the multitude of back streets away form the more touristy parts of the city. Obviously very much a case of personal preference

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simm0ns_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

2010 girlfriend & I stayed there, they did not honor a free night per their web site; no free airport shuttle, no buffet breakfast (there was no room), did not have separate beds that were promised; nor was there any free chocolate or bottle of olive oil that was also promised via their web site. My friend & I had to sleep in the same bed in a room we could barely move around in; we had to buy our own breakfast & coffee and everything else. We would not have expected it if they had not said they offered it. Thank god we were both small women, we kept hitting our elbows on the faucets in the shower because it was so small.
The room was never cleaned, toilet seat had feces on it 2 days in a row, not sure how it got on the seats since women sit down & look first before sitting. We tried to keep our towels separate so we did not have to use each others because they were never changed.

The location was the only plus as it was close to the Vatican. But several nights we could not sleep because of the street noise out side our one window. There were several dumpsters outside our window as well and the garbage truck was so loud and took so long to empty all those dumpsters that we did not sleep much at all.

All in all I loved Italy, just not Vatican View; I would not recommend it to anyone that expects their web offers to be real and the hotel to honor any of them.

Room Tip: Be very, very clear about the number of beds you need as well as any other requirements you have. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#83 of 1,271 in Rome
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
2,455 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
1,400 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £57 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing