We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word...WOW!”
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vatican View
Ranked #35 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One word...WOW!”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

What a great hotel! Chose it for a stay in June '12 based on TripAdvisor reviews & location. The location is incredible - I would put it less than 200 yards from the walls of the Vatican. Room was fabulous - spacious bedroom & bathroom, newly renovated, clean, & comfortable. Staff was incredibly helpful too. Very happy with our choice for our 1st visit to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcm19002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Jmcm,
Thanks for the review.
We are glad to hear that your stay went well.
We hope to be your choice also for the next trip ;) Come back soon!
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    154
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
152
384
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel during the August bank holiday and thought it was great. Rooms are super modern and clean, bed is huge and comfy and bathroom full of all the mod cons. There is even a roof terrace where you can take up some drinks (they sell some lovely wine in the reception which is very reasonable) which is open 24 hours and a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of Rome.

Location was perfect for us. It is right next to the Vatican which is busy during the mornings but nice and quiet at night. We liked to walk from the hotel over the river into central Rome. For those not good on their feet, it would be a bit far to walk to some of the main attractions (trevi fountain etc), but all of the hop on and hop off bus tours stop right near the hotel. There are plenty of taxis too. We preferred this location as it was so calm and quiet later on.

You can't go wrong with this place and for this price it is amazing value. A really lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imot85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Imot85,

Thank you for your lovely review!
It's a pleasure to know that your stay was good.
We hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed in the suite for 2 nights. We had a great time. A spacy room with an own terace (not large but lovely and well situated) and a privat way up to the roof terrace. A wonderfull and large shower. A small kitchen including a fridge and cooking spots (the hotel doesn't have a dining-facility, which you don't need by the way). Lots of dining facilities in the nearby area. A great roofterrace where you van spend your evening with some social contact of you like (sometimes arranged by the staff as tonight). We also had our own breakfast here with bread, juice and coffee. So a wonderfull hotel to stay, which leaves many options how to create your own holidays. We will definitely come back next time. Great job Fabio and staff! Vera & Dirk Netherlands

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Dirk,
Thank you so much for this review!
I'm glad to know that your holiday at the Vatican View was great!
Everyday we try to make our best to give you the best service! During the summer, on the roof garden, we make also free aperitif to all our guests.
Come back soon!
Fabio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

If you're looking for a decent, modern hotel with a good location, then look no further! As soon as we arrived we instantly felt valued as Fabio made us feel so welcome and was so informative not only about the hotel facilities but with things to see and do in Rome. With the ideal location, only a stones throw away from st Peter's square, this hotel is fantastic value for money. The room was very clean and modern with a hint of character in the wooden beams on the ceiling. The staff were very well informed and extremely friendly, right to the last minute of our stay. Very highly recommended if you're in Rome.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PughSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Steve,

Thank you for the review! It's so nice!
We are happy to read that your stay was good! Come back soon!!

Regards,
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and I finished our honeymoon trip with Rome and stayed here. The room was spacious and cool thanks to a great AC. It was very warm while we were there so the AC was a blessing. The bed and room was nice and big. The bathroom was excellent and the shower was huge. We enjoyed the staff and their help too.

Room Tip: The higher the level the better. Their laundry service is a great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandMisty2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
John and Misty,

THANK YOU!
It was a pleasure to met you!
Come back soon!

A big hug
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Wow amazing! From then warmest weather of 32C of our arrival til our departure, yet the nice- helpful-courteous staff have given us the cozy welcome. RVV is just a couple of steps to the main gate of St. Peters Basilica, walking distance to all the shopping bazaars, the restos, and so close to all the legends- historical monuments-places Italy has ever been, simply amazing and outstanding. A great place to come back for other details. It was an honor and pleasure and blessing the Lord Jesus has provided us that coincides with our wedding anniversary. Room we got has access to roof terrace, with mini fridge, mini kitchen and laundry machine where the room number coincides with my wife's birthday 411! Thanks beautiful Alessandra, handsome Fabio, and the rest of the staff...

Room Tip: Choose this hotel rather than hotel with so many rooms, crowded and congested...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virgil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Virgil,
Thank you so much for this fantastic review.
We are pleased to know that your wedding anniversary went well! Our suite is ideal for these occasions! Modern, nice, comfortable, spacious, with a balcony and private access to the terrace where you can see St. Peter's and Castel Sant'Angelo.
Come back for your 32 th anniversary! See you there!
Alessandra and Fabio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We came to Rome for a few days with a big family, and we absolutely loved this hotel!!! Its so beautiful and modern inside and within a minute walk of the historic St. Peter's Basilica (which you can see from the rooftop terrace...with a glass of wine!) and so many other historic sites and restaurants. Alessandra and Daniele are so nice and became friends quickly! They were so helpful, making all our dinner reservations (never had a bad meal--everywhere they recommended was amazing!), calling cabs, and letting us know where the best nightlife was! : ). We had a great time thanks to you guys and hope to come back as soon as we can!!! We miss you already!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Devan and family,
Thank you so much for this fantastic review!
It was great to meet you and spend as much time with you :) :) :) We are pleased to know that your holiday was perfect thanks to us and our work.
Hope to see you soon because we miss you!
Alessandra and Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais 6
#31 of 1,256 in Rome
1,859 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#61 of 1,256 in Rome
607 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#46 of 1,256 in Rome
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,256 in Rome
1,129 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Property: Vatican View
Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing