We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location...TINY TINY Room”
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vatican View
Ranked #39 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Vatican View is a misnomer because you cannot see St. Peter's Basilica from anywhere, including the rooftop terrace, which requires you to climb a very narrow winding staircase from the fourth floor.
This lodging is neither a hotel (because it is not staffed 24 hours a day) nor a B&B (because it doesn't serve breakfast). It consists of a number of rooms in an old, completely renovated building across the street from the building that houses the Chilean Embassy to the Holy See. The room is so small that you cannot turn around, but be aware that my room had a queen-sized bed. The shower stall was so small that I could not close the doors (ok, I am big, but still...). I found it claustrophobic.
A word about the location: about 100 steps from St. Peter's Square; if the Vatican is what brings you here, the location is amazing. The building is also on the corner of Borgo Pio, which has religious goods stores and restaurants, and still has a small-neighborhood feel. Ignore all the restaurants who have guys and girls shouting at you to sit down; they are all tourist traps.
The staff at the reception desk, which is staffed from 7 am to 10 pm and is located in a shop next door, are incredibly friendly, outgoing and helpful, especially Fabio.
The walls are as thin as paper. You hear everything...and I mean EVERYTHING.
I paid 174 Euros a night which was far too expensive given the small size of the room and the lack of breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheikhDaoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear Mr. Sheikh,

Thank you for taking a few minutes of his time to write an opinion of us that, in any case, will serve to improve.
The Vatican View is so named thanks to a fabulous view of the dome of St. Peter that everyone envies. The view from the rooms is not possible due to the high walls of the Vatican, which is why you can see the church and the cupola and then only from the terrace furnished with sofas and tables on which to spend some time relaxing (day and night).
All our rooms, size of normal and super modern rooms come with a kit that provide free breakfast to our guests.
The reception service is guaranteed 24 hours on 24.
At 10pm we close the reception on the road only for organizational reasons, but after that time, the service continues with our night porter always available to answer and satisfy your every need.
We are sorry that your experience was not the best. The invite you to return to us as soon as possible so that it think again about our structure is defined, more than 100 people, excellent.

Best Regards,

Alessandra, Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
There are newer reviews for Vatican View
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

The vatican view was a great surprise. It is newly renovated and has individully styled room. It is in a excellent location and the staff make great effort to make sure you enjoy your stay. They will gladly help with any questions one may have from Food to Touring.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Gretchen,
Thanks for the review.
Relais Vatican View is open for two years, all rooms are furnished in a modern and comfortable style.
Me and my colleagues are very keen to the happiness of our customers, which is why, at times, become almost "heavy" in asking if all is okay :)
Come back soon!
Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My daughter recently got married in Rome, and the entire family stayed at the Vatican View Hotel. We could not have asked for better hosts than Francesa, Fabio, Alessandra & Daniel. These people personify service. The rooms were always clean and comfortable, the location is literally steps away from the Vatican, the attention and service was impeccable. Yes Rome is a beautiful city and well worth the visit. But the hotel and staff at Vatican View made it that much more enjoyable. I will not stay anywhere else when I return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zakaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear lovely Zakaget,
What can I say about this fantastic review? And about all of you?
Thank you so much for everything. It 'been a great pleasure to be part of such an important event for you and your family.
Hope to see you soon! We miss you!
Hugs and kisses from all of us.
Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our recent trip to Rome for our wedding anniversary. This hotel had a great location, friendly staff and a wonderful rooftop deck. We were welcomeed by Alessandra with a small bottle of wine and some snacks for our anniversary, which was very nice! The room could be called small (by American standards), but it was extremely comfortable, there was room to move around, and it had all the amenities that you'd need. There is ample closet space, a safe, the bed was comfortable, the window opens out to a view of the street and the bathroom shower was fabulous. It was clean and the decorating is modern and aestetically pleasing (especially the cool celing light fixture). One note, you are able to hear some noise from the other rooms; we were on the third floor and some mornings we awoke very early to sound of footsteps above us. Not much noise from neighboring rooms though.

A note on the location: This hotel is literally a block away from the Vatican, but not on the main street to the Vatican, so there isn't as much traffic, which is nice. It's also very close to a metro line, shopping and restaurants. It was perfect for us to leave from here to go sightseeing or shopping, then return for a nap, and a glass of wine on the rooftop, and back out for dinner and the nightlife. It very much felt like your own apartment, as you have a key to the building and there is no reception in the lobby. It was also really nice to have your own mini-fridge in the room, which they supply with two bottles of water each day, along with breakfast goodies and coffee.

The rooftop. This was my favorite part of the hotel. It has a fabulous large rooftop with comfortable furniture where you can bring a bottle of wine and a snack to enjoy the incredible view of the basilica and the surrounding neighborhood. My husband and I went up there literally every day to have a glass of wine and hang out. It was lovely.

Overall, would recommend this hotel as a nice, budget-friendly and conveniently-located place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amethyst198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Amethyst,

Thank you for the nice review and for the wonderful description about Relais Vatican View :)
It was a pleasure to to make your anniversary even more special with a small gift.
I'm waiting for you next year ;)
Regards,
Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

After 12 days on a cruise ship, we stayed 3 nights at Vatican View. We arrived very tired and hungry with 2 Very large bags. Fabio directed us to a restaurant 2 doors down and looked after our luggage. After full bellies with excellent food and service, we were shown to our well appointed, modern, clean room by Alessandra. We loved the spaciousness, the 3 large opening windows, the comfortable king bed and a very modern bathroom with the best shower ever. Our room was Italian modern with a rustic open, beam ceiling. A comfy arm chair, large sofa and an occasional chair rounded out the comfort factor .Loved it! The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous and for us unilingula pair, them speaking English was a big help too. They went out of their way to ensure a pleasant stay.
The Relais is a 2 second walk from Vatican City, a 10 min walk from Castel Sant' Angelo and a 5 min walk from the Tiber River. It is surrounded by great restaurants and a shopping district only 3 blocks away. Who could ask for more?

Room Tip: Ask for large room with king bed and sofa and armchair. May not be wheelchair accessible.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Sunpal,

What a pleasure hearing from you!
We are happy to know that we have left good memories. Next time stay 12 days with us ;)
Come back soon!!!
Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

These people at the Vatican View, Especially Alexandra and Daniel, were indispensable to our family vacation. They went above and beyond in helping us. The hotel was spotless and the location was great. The patio lounge on the roof was the perfect place to spend several evenings. Thank you so much for all your help and warmth!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j9spin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear J9spin,

THANK YOU SO MUCH for the wonderful review!
Daniel and I, with you, we felt like family. We hope to see you again next year because we miss you already! Thanks for everything!
See you soon.
Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed 6 nights at this wonderful hotel, a stone's throw away from Vatican City and St. Peter's. The room was clean with all modern conveniences. The shower was more spacious than I expected. I travelled alone and I found the staff was helpful and attentive. Thanks a million Alessandra and Daniel...you guys are the best!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
Thank Patricia Bernad... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear lovely Patricia,
Thank you so much for all!
YOU ARE THE BEST.. this is the only truth! ;)
It was a pleasure to meet and help you. Come back soon!!!
See you on facebook ;)
Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Relais 6
#35 of 1,267 in Rome
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#105 of 1,267 in Rome
1,207 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,267 in Rome
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £77 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing