We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vatican View does not Disappoint”
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vatican View
Ranked #41 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Vatican View for only two nights enroute to Greece. The hospitality and welcome we received from Alessandra and Fabio was wonderful. We arrived early in the day but our room was ready for us. The room was large with French doors and a small balcony. We only regret the weather was not warmer to enjoy it and the roof top terrace. The king size bed was also wonderful and comfortable! The large shower was a pleasant surprise. We also had free wi fi which worked great. Alessandra was very accommodating and provided us with wonderful restaurant suggestions for dinner. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The location was perfect for us as we were around the corner from the Vatican. Our only regret is that we wish we could have stayed longer. Alessandra and Fabio made our first visit to Rome perfect. Thank you both and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Darlene,

Thank you so much for the review, it's wonderful!

We are glad to know that your stay was nice also thanks to us. We love our job and our customers.. For this reason we try to do all that it's possible to give you a memorable holiday.
It was a big pleasure to meet you..

Come back soon!!!

I miss you already my lovely Friends..

A big hug,

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We've just returned from a wonderful six day trip to Rome, this hotel played a large part in making it so successful. Alessandra, Daniel and Fabio went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable, well provided for, and fully informed regarding places to visit and restaurants. Our room had a huge walk-in shower, fully stocked bathroom, big comfortable bed, large closet which took the cases too, and a great little kitchen. We also availed ourselves of the complimentary water, fast wi-fi and good security. The re-vamp has brought this building and rooms into the 'boutique' category without the pretentious decorations or outrageous prices. The roof terrace is delightful, the furnishings and lighting create a warm and friendly atmosphere. We'll certainly be booking here again, and look forward to bringing friends to experience this magical city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Growling_Bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Dear Bears,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We're flattered!
It 'been a real pleasure to meet you and spend some time with you. Very nice! :) :) :)
You have described our structure to better .. we are happy to know that your stay was enjoyable! Come back soon .. we miss you already!

A big hug,

Alessandra.

PS: Your photo is already on fb!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We wanted to take a minute to say how extremely pleased we were with this hotel. We choose to use the hotels airport pickup service as this was our first visit to Rome. The cost for this was 60 Euro each way. We were met at the airport and taken in style (Mercedes Limo) wow to this fantastic hotel. On arrival the hotel does not look to be anything extraordinary however, the inside most certainly had the wow factor. It is really modern and well designed. We were really pleased with our room the bed was really big and comfortable. There is a fridge which was stocked up daily with a new bottle of water. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us plenty of advice on getting around Rome. The location of the Hotel was spot on for getting about Rome and it was a stones throw away from St Peters Square. We would definately recommend this hotel for location, cleanliness, friendliness and value. If we ever visit Rome again we would not hesitate to stay at this hotel and use their airport pickup service again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Shaun,

Thank you for the wonderful review.. it was so nice from you :)
Relais Vatican View is a little but charming Hotel. As you wrote, from outiside you think is a normal building but, where you enter, you can see all its magic.. a particulary stair, modern and luxury design, beautiful rooms, bathrooms with big showers, the panoramic terrace and a family staff!
What is the cherry on the cake? Absolutely our wonderful clients like you!!

We hope to see you again soon.

A big hug from all of us.

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I wanted to take a minute to recommend Vatican View to anyone who plans to travel to Rome;) From the moment that we arrived, Daniel fussed over us like we were royalty! My mom was a bit tired from our travels, but Daniel had her Laughing out Loud in no time! Offered to bring us cappuccino to the rooftop while we waited for our room to be ready, and also recommended a local place for breakfast that was fantastic. Rooms were spotless, tastefully appointed, and the wifi worked VERY WELL!!!! This can be a challenge in traveling in general. Daniel even made sure that he hand delivered our luggage to us...the other professional staff that we encountered all went above and beyond as well! A peaceful oasis in a big city. Please be sure to have a glass of wine on the rooftop one night - the view is breathtaking. Vatican View ROCKS!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kakkiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Kakkiko

First of all, sorry for our late reply...
Like we said many many times we are happy only when the gust is happy and we really cares about all your needs.
True this, our hotel is a peaceful oasis, for example all the windows have double glasses that means NO NOISE at night and with the free wifi all our guests are free to talk through internet with their own family back at home.
By he way, You and your mom spent just a night here at the Vatican View and your promise was "Daniel, we'll back as soon as possible"...
I hope that this answer will find you and find you well, our doors will be always open for amazing people like you are.

A big hug,

Daniel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Recently stayed at the Vatican View for four nights. Having visited a couple of travel agents and being given a wide variety of prices on sub standard hotels in package deals, I decided to look into booking flights and hotel myself. Didn't want to spend a fortune as our time in Rome would be spent seeing the sights so didn't plan on spending much time in the room, but wanted somewhere comfortable for the duration of our stay. Vatican View came highly recommended on a number of websites and looked to meet all of our requirements. Took the plunge and booked up on the basis of the reviews found. Took a taxi from the airport to the hotel - this worked out cheaper than an organised bus transfer and suited us better. When we arrived at the hotel the driver attempted to take our details for the return journey, both of us trying to communicate in something resembling English. Pulled up to the hotel, which from the outside you wouldn't know it was there. There was an intercom system next to the door with the hotel name on. Rang the buzzer and we were greeted by a man who came out of the shop next door. He introduced himself as Fabio and informed us that the shop was actually the reception. This wasn't a problem as it was manned for the majority of the day. Fabio took our details and checked us in. We were given a map and information regarding the different areas of the city and the best routes for getting there. After this we were taken into the hotel. The entrance opened up onto a spiral staircase which ran up the centre of the hotel. After the first flight of stairs there is a lift however which provides access to each of the floors. We were on the second floor in a double room. The room itself was clean and tidy, with a double bed, a set of wardrobes and separate bathroom all of which had undergone some recent renovation with modern decor. Although the room was slightly on the small side it was more than adequate for our needs. Having read the reviews and information previously, I knew that a full breakfast wouldn't be provided but in the room was a kettle and cakes were brought in should you want any. We were also shown a hidden kitchen with a microwave and fridge next to our room which could have been used if we'd decided to stay in. There are a number of small cafes near to the hotel and we found these to be ideal for food for breakfast but we tended to go slightly further afield for evening meals. The thing that was the main attraction in booking the hotel was the closeness to the Vatican and it didn't disappoint in that respect. Less than a two minute walk from the hotel and you can be stood in the middle of St Peters Square. Our only regret is we didn't use the hotels roof terrace that overlooks the Vatican. Although hot during the day, it was quite cool on a night so the opportunity didn't really come up. Staying near to the Vatican meant we were a decent walk from some of the other tourist spots - around an hours steady walk to the Colosseum which was the furthest away from us, but there are loads of things to see and do en route. All in all a fantastic stay in Rome, in a modern hotel with excellent staff. Couldn't really have asked for any more.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hodge1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Dear Hodge,

Thank you very much for the detailed review, it describes very well our fantastic Hotel :)
We are happy to know that your stay was as you expected, and perhaps even better!
Our motto is "Arrive like customers and departure like friends" .. we hope we've done it with you ..

See you soon,

Daniel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Vatican View Hotel for 8 days. As soon as we arrived Daniele greeted us and already knew who we were. It was a wonderful experience to arrive at a hotel and the staff already knows you by name. Daniele was kind enough to take care of all our luggage and took time to show us around our room and the hotel. He pointed out places to eat and helped us with anything else we needed. The room we had (4th floor St. Peter's suite) was absolutely immaculate. It was much larger than what we were expecting as we had just came from London and our room was quite small. Each day when we returned to the hotel our room was cleaned perfectly and replenished with any snacks and water we had consumed the day before. The rest of the staff (Alessanda and Fabio) were just as pleasant and helpful as Daniele. They greeted us each day and knew us without having to introduce ourselves. No matter what questions we had they were always willing to accommodate us. It was nice getting to know all three of the staff rather than experiencing a revolving door of random staff.
The location is perfect whether you're visiting the Vatican or traveling around Rome. Vatican View Hotel is located right around some delicious restaurants and close to the Metro which was easy to use. My wife and I loved Rome and agreed that the Vatican View only added to our excellent experience. We can't wait to stay at at the Vatican View again in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Hi Sean, thank you thank you thank you,..
We have been so lucky to meet you and Andrea.
Our motto is "arrive guest and leave friend" so see you In NY!!! :D :D :D (sooner or later).
We hope to see you again here at the Vatican View , a big big big big hug, say hi to Andrea...

Ciao ciao
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed at the Vatican View for 3 days / 2 nights. It's the perfect hotel if you want to be near the Vatican / St. Peter's Square. No exaggeration. The hotel is very comfortable and the rooms and bathroom are well maintained and very clean. We felt safe and the staff, particularly Daniel was very helpful. We encountered some problems with wifi connection, however Daniel was always ready to help out. We plan to go back to Rome and we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RODITAS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
1,396 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#84 of 1,271 in Rome
2,540 reviews
Relais 6
#37 of 1,271 in Rome
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £67 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing