We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vatican View
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Residenza San Calisto(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa San Pio(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$490
US$401
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hiberia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$815
US$712
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Yes Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
US$335
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$473
US$449
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$1,230
US$1,176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amalfi Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$546
US$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$343
US$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (793)
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveller rating
578
168
33
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
168
33
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeter's squarerooftop terracepapal audienceborgo piowalk in closetaround the cornerhuge bathroomexcellent locationcoffee makerdeluxe roomrain showersistine chapelsmall liftminute walka stones throwhop on hop off busperfect hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 793 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My fiancée and I recently spent two weeks touring Italy. Our first stop was the Vatican View in Roma. Every other place we stayed was at least double the price, but nowhere else did we receive service that was even half as good! We genuinely felt welcomed and appreciated, and the location was spectacular. We'll be back! I wonder why they never posted our picture on their Facebook page though? ;)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear Michael,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and I'm so sorry about the photo.. Today we will check and post it!
Anyway, we are very happy to know that your stay was one of the best of your trip :) :) :) Everyday we try to do our best to give you a fantastic stay in Rome.. it's very important for us.. Your review is the proof that we did it also this time!

We hope to see you again soon!!!

A big hug.

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We travelled to Rome to visit the Vatican as a celebration for our wedding anniversary. After a long flight from NZ, we expected to be weary & so had prearranged with the hotel for an airport transfer. It was pleasing to find him waiting in arrivals and be on our way again within minutes. We arrived at Vatican View at 8.30 am, & whilst clearly too early to check in, Fabio & Francesca gave us a very friendly welcome, took our luggage, recommended a nearby cafe for breakfast, & hurried the preparation of our room within the hour.
An upgraded room (as an anniversary gift) was a lovely gesture, and as we were to discover typical of the 'anything more that we can do to help' attitude of any of the staff. The room was very well appointed with everything that you would expect from a good quality boutique hotel for a short stay - very comfortable bed, nice linen & towels, room cleaned every day, The roof top terrace would have made up for the room not having a balcony, but either way the weather needed to be kinder to be able to sit out.
The hotel is literally two minutes walk to St Peters Square & all the magnificance of the Vatican. Our recomendation for breakfast - left out of the hotel, turn right, second cafe; for dinner take the road on the opposite right of the hotel, first on the right (if you want genuine hospitality without the commercialism).
Thanks so much to Fabio & the team - we will come back when next in Rome.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear Karen,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are glad to hear that your stay was good and that you have enjoyed our upgrade. The events are our strong point, so when we can, we try to give you small gifts to make super your stay in Rome. All accompanied by our fantastic rooms, our friendly staff and always available, impeccable location and from our terrace overlooking the dome of St. Peter.

We hope to see you soon. It will be a pleasure to help once again.

Thank you again.

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is an amazing location for the Vatican and Castel Sant'Angelo, and surrounding area. Bot too bad of a walk (about 20 min to 25 min to the key other locations like the Forum and Colosseum). The rooms were comfortable, free water (2 bottles in room each day), and a great roof top view and location. Our reception was warm and helpful. For the price, this is great. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the first floor (just up the stairs), because the elevator is VERY small for passengers and bags, and the stairs are tight and steep.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuroVacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear EuroVacationers,

Thank you, thank you and, another time, thank you!

We are to happy to know that your stay was good and the you enjoyed our beautiful and modern rooms. We hope to see you again, maybe during July and August that we make free and funny appetizers for our clients :)

See you soon!!

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights (one night before and one after our cruise). We loved the hotel and all of the staff was very helpful and friendly. I booked our stay on the Internet and the hotel was even nicer than the pictures! The location was great as we were right at the Vatican and very close to the Tiber river. The staff was extremely helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. The roof top terrace was fabulous and offered great views of the city and was an excellent place to sit and enjoy time with our friends. Our favorite room was room 413 that had a private balcony and a private access to the rooftop. Also excellent bathrooms with great showers! We will definitely recommend this hotel to our family and friends and we will stay here again on our next trip to Rome (a wonderful city).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wslovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear Wslovestotravel,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
We are happy to know that your stay was nice. The room 413 is our cherry on the cake.. it is the suite! It's very modern, warm and equipped. Inside you will find a kitchenette, a big shower, the balcony and the private access to the terrace.. It 'impossible don't love this! ;) So, come back soon!
We will wait for you!

A big hug.

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights.

Location: The hotel is nicely located NEXT to St. Peter's Square (it is literally just across the street!). When I slept at night, I could even imagine that the Pope is our neighbour. And due to this wonderful proximity, we were able to take photos of St. Peter's Basilica both in early moring and late at night when there were not many people. The hotel is also next to the police station. So, we felt very safe to go out at odd hours. If you plan to go for Papal Audience (which you need to be there early enough to get good seats), this hotel is perfect. Its location is also very helpful if you want to beat the crowd at Vatican Museum by being early. We also took advantage of location to take a break in the afternoon on a hot day after visiting the Museum. If the focus of your visit is Vatican, this hotel is the best option. And, in fact, the Metro is just 10 mins walk from the hotel. There is also a bus terminal nearby. We took bus to the Spanish Step areas (just be aware of the pick pockets in the bus).

Room: When we arrived, we were impressed by the cleanliness and modern decoration of the hotel. We liked it a lot. It is not easy find a modern and well located hotel in an ancient city like Rome. Our minor concern would be the air-conditioner. The temperature was preset (at 23c I think) and we found it a bit warm for us. Perhaps they will lower the temperature when the weather gets warmer.

Service: The staff members (Alessandra, Daniel and Fabio) were very friendly and helpful. We truly appreciate their professional service. For example, they printed the reservation for us for free. The free Wifi is also a big thumb up.

Overall: it was a very pleasant stay. We would definitely stay there again when we visit Rome.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing Via del Mascherino instead of the side street, as the restaurants on the side street could be noisy (if you sleep earlier than 10pm).
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Dear Amy,

Thank you so much for this beautiful review :)
We are so happy to know that your stay was good thanks our different, modern, equipped and wonderful rooms, thanks to our location, thanks to our terrace with view, thanks to us :) You listed perfectly our best points.
We will wait to see you for the next holiday.. and I promise you that we will give you a colder room ;)

Thank you again.

Kisses,

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews