We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in superb location!”
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vatican View
Ranked #43 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A very clean hotel with everything you could need for a long weekend stay in Rome. I was a little confused at first that the reception was downstairs but that didn't matter! Roof terrace was lovely although would have been fab to have had the facility of having breakfast up there! Staff were very friendly though and we had a wonderful time! They even treated us to cute halloween cakes!!

Room Tip: Although room faced on to the street no traffic at night so very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Clarat56,

Thank you for the nice review.

We are so happy that your stay was good.

Vatican View is a particular and special Hotel where you always find clean, modern and design rooms, a panoramic terrace, open day and night, with an amazing view of St.Peter Square and Castel Sant'Angelo and, at the end, a funny and polite staff who will make all possible to give you a wonderful holiday :) Also, during the holidays, we like to make something special.. in this case we put halloween cupcakes, chocolates and candies in all the rooms.

We hope to see you again in the future.. don't forget to check all the special offers on our official website.

Hugs and Kisses

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the Vatican View for three nights and it suited us perfectly. We had two rooms which looked as if they could be used separately but we had them as a self contained suite for ourselves and our youngest son. Both were beautifully appointed and spotless, with very stylish bathrooms.

Be aware it isn't a hotel as you would generally expect - the reception is located in a souvenir shop next door and there is no restaurant - it really is just a few rooms. However, we have rarely met such friendly and helpful staff, and we've never returned from a day sightseeing to find in our rooms a plate of Halloween cakes with a hand written note! It's this sort of care that makes your stay just that little bit more special.

The location is perfect too; a couple of minutes from the Vatican. Overall we would thoroughly recommend the Vatican View if you value super friendly staff, and a beautiful room after a long day sightseeing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Rachel,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are really happy to know that your stay at the Vatican View was nice.
For large and small families, we have several solutions rooms. In this case, we gave you a suite consisting of two connecting rooms. In this way you and your husband have had your privacy and, why not, even your son ;)
As I always write on Tripadvisor and in our Facebook page, the events are very important for us .. In these days we try to pamper yourself to the fullest! For Halloween we gave to all our Friends cupcakes decorated with ghosts, pumpkins and witch hats, accompanied by chocolates and candies. The next few surprises will be at Christmas!

Hope to see you again soon

A big hug from all of us.

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had s very enjoyable stay at the Vatican View made all the more so by the wonderful friendly and helpful staff. I would certainly recommend staying here though it should be made clear that it isn't really a hotel, more a small apartment block with the reception desk located directly next to the front door in a small souvenir shop. Hence no restaurant or breakfast service though there is a regular supply of cake bars and tea/coffee in the kitchenette adjoining the room. The location has at least a dozen restaurants within just 10 metres to 200 metres from the front door, so breakfast and evening meal are no problem. And, as many other guests have reported, the roof terrace is a fantastic place to relax and enjoy a drink. If you intend to spend more than one day in the Vatican/Vatican Museum the location is second to none and getting to other more central attractions is about a 15 euro taxi ride or you can purchase a ticket for the hop on-hop off circular tour bus which stops about a 4 /5 minute walk away near St Peter's Square. There are just a couple of negatives about the room. To my mind, a 'suite' has a bedroom and a separate adjoining sitting area. The rooms so described at the Vatican View are certainly reasonably spacious but would be described by most hotel chains as 'Executive Rooms'. The other problem is the water pressure in the shower particularly at peak time in the morning or early evening, though I guess this may be more of a problem on the higher floors. Not really acceptable though in a room costing around 400 Euros per night. No hotel is ever perfect and you have to balance the positives against negatives. But for this latter criticism I would have rated the Vatican View as 5 Star.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidDiner473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear AvidDiner ,

Thanks for the review .

We are pleased to know that your stay at the Vatican View was pleasant thanks to our enviable location and with our friendly and polite staff .
As I often write, the Vatican View is not a hotel like the others, it's better :) Of course I'm joking! The structure is new, modern and comfortable, as well as our rooms and our panoramic terrace from where you can see St. Peter church and Castel Sant' Angelo. We haven't breakfast, but equally we like to pamper our customers with a small and free breakfast kit in all the rooms. If you prefer something more, we can try to do our best to fulfill your every wish .
Our rooms are divided into standard, deluxe and suites. The description of each room, which is located on our official website, corresponds only to the truth because we always want just happy customers.
I'm sorry and I apologize for the problem about the shower, if I knew right away, I made ​​sure to solve during your stay, not at the end.
For this reason, I invite you to come back soon to the Vatican View to give you an holiday of five stars!

Best Regards,

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

As you read on other reviews, this location is excellent, it is literally 3 minutes walk to St. Peter Square.

Aside from location, this hotel is clean, design is model, the rooftop is such a great bonus!

Service is also excellent, they are able to keep our luggage for a few hours after checkout, the staff helped us to call a taxi, he provided a map and suggested a few restaurants upon our arrival.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Winston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Winston,

Thanks for the nice review.

We are happy to know that we were able to give you a wonderful time in Rome.
Our hotel is very modern, design, with rooms equipped with everything and, in addition, we have a roof terrace where you can see the church of St. Peter's and Castel Sant'Angelo sitting comfortably in a sofa.
We, the staff, have been "trained" to express our personality, kindness and sympathy. This means that the customers always feel like home, but with a bit of more luxury ;) we love our job and we love you all! Everyday it's fantastic to meet Friends like you!

Come back soon, it will be a pleasure to see you again!

Hugs,

Alessandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I spent two weeks in Italy but only had three days to spend in Rome (with two of those days being travel days!) I needed a place close to the Vatican since I did not want to waste time in transit. Vatican View was the choice and it really made my Vatican trip truly excellent.

Regarding room size, yes, they are small. However, this is Europe and in a city... most rooms are small. We also had a king sized bed which took up the bulk of the space. However, we had THREE suite cases and a bag of dirty laundry we had to re-pack for our flight home to America (we clearly bought a lot of stuff) and we were able to successfully do so here. We spent most of our time out and about in Rome so it was not an issue for us. I was just happy to have a king size bed!

The rooftop provides a beautiful view of Saint Peter's dome. It appears they are doing work on the rooftop because everything looked brand new with a small section cornered off. I loved being up there and looking over the rooftops of Rome. It was so peaceful. We had a glass of wine up there before headed to dinner on our last night (we brought our own wine).

As I mentioned, the location cannot be beat. You are literally a one minute walk to St. Peter's Square. This was critical as I was the first in line to see the cathedral and made my way through without any lines or tourists clogging up the church. It is also about a 10 minute walk to the museum and about 15 minutes to the Castle. We were able to do so much since we only had to walk places versus taking a taxi.

There is no large sign for this hotel so we literally drove around in a circle for thirty minutes. None of the locals knew of the name of the hotel (or so they claimed). Study how this hotel looks! We arrived late, about 9pm and the reception staff (David?) was so helpful. He took up all of our stuff (and there was a lot) and also set up vatican tickets for the museum for us (a fast pass).

No buffet breakfast is provided but there are a few snacks in the room. Plenty of cafes in Rome to keep you occupied. There's also a carpark around the corner open on regular days (not holidays) at 0700 and closes at 0100. For two nights we paid almost Euro 40. Not bad for Rome.

If your main goal is to see the Vatican (and that area), you will be very happy with this hotel. The rooms are modern, clean, and I simply just adored this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawaiiansiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Hawaiiansiren ,

Thank you for your beautiful and detailed review .

As you well written, our Hotel has an amazing location! We are just thirty seconds walk from San Pietro square. On Wednesdays and Sundays is easy to hear the Pope's audience and, for the museum tickets, we can book it from the website to make you skip the line .
Our rooms, standard and deluxe, are all modern and equipped. In our panoramic terrace you will find sofas and tables where you can enjoy a glass of wine, relaxing ,looking at the basilica of St. Peter or Castel Sant' Angelo .
For breakfast and parking, we recommend you to ask to our staff. A small breakfast kit is always available in our rooms, if prefer something different, we know some good and non-touristy bars. In addition, we have a discounted parking two blocks ahead where you will get a discount.

A warm hug and come back soon!

Alessandra.

Ps: If you made our Facebook photo, don't forget to see it on the official page "vatican view rome"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Even though I had made a mistake booking, they helped us fix the reservation. They suggested good places to eat, showed us about the room and roof terrace. They are the perfect location for the Vatican and Rome tourist attractions. Very much enjoyed our stay. Very pleasant, very clean, very restful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor are quiet and have great room access (there is a small elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear KatieS,

Thank you for the nice review.

We are so happy to know that your stay was good thanks to our rooms and our location, just few second walk from the St. Peter Square.
As I said many times and I like to repeat, the happiness of our clients is the most important thing for us. We love our job and we love to meet Friends from all the world everyday. When there is a problem, in this case a mistake during the reservation, we are available to resolve through the best way. It was a pleasure to help you :)

Come back again at the Vatican View Hotel.. maybe during the holidays.. we have many surprises to all our lovely Friends.

Hugs,

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Big and beautiful modern room with great combination of an old wooden sealing are proof of great italian style. You can choose some wine in the room and have a nice drink on the terrasse before going out. Outstanding kindness of the reception staff, thanks to Fabio, Daniele and Alessandra who have been very helpful with recommendations. Coffee machine in the room. Really close to Vatican, which is helpful when you choose an early visit in the museum to avoid the crowd.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gialloglob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Gialloglob,

Thank you for the review :)

It's very nice to read all your wonderful words about us. The hotel is new (it's opened just from three years) and all the rooms are modern. We left something from the original structure, the wooden beams, and we remade the rest. The result is a design and charme Hotel in the heart of Rome. We have also a panoramic terrace where, as you already wrote, you can drink a glass of Italian wine (there are three bottles in each room with the price of just Euro 10,00).
It was a big pleasure to help you with all the advises about Rome.. :)

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#127 of 1,271 in Rome
491 reviews
Starhotels Michelangelo
#166 of 1,271 in Rome
1,167 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,271 in Rome
1,436 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#97 of 1,271 in Rome
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £82 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing