We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Rome experience”
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vatican View
Ranked #36 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Kyle, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Rome experience”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here in Feb of 2013 (sorry for the late review). It was amazing. Literally a 2 minute walk away from St. Peters square. Which was also a downside. All of the attractions near the Vatican were close distance, but others were not and made for a week full of walking (110 miles in 6 days).

The rooms were cleaned daily and the decor was modern. We had a blast while we were here and the service from the staff was amazing. If you are staying here, don't take a taxi from the airport, it will cost you almost 50 euro. Instead, take a bus to the Vatican and it's a short 5 minute walk. These buses will cost you roughly 5 euro per person and run constantly.

We used the tripadvisor app for IOS the entire time we were in Rome and we found some amazing places to eat. Be sure to buy a decent map, as it will help you navigating around Rome.

This review will be short and sweet - it was so long ago that the small details have faded from memory. But such is human nature - the only things we truly remember are horrible experiences and there were none to be had with Vatican View. It was an excellent hotel stay and we plan on going back to Rome and will stay in the same place again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Jonathan

Thank you so much for the review.
First of all, don't feel sorry and it's beautiful to know that you remembered of us after 9 months far from your stay :D :D :D :D
We have the Vatican very close, less then 2 minutes and all the main attractions are reachable by metro in 10/15 minutes.
cleaning is one of our strong points and without the guys at the floors we ain't be where we are right now, they are part of the team!
So, next time that you want to spent some days into the Ethernal city, take a look at our official website and come back to visit us!!

Ciao ciao

Daniel - Receptionist - Relais Vatican View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    153
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
149
381
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Vatican View during our stay in Rome in November of 2013. I should note this is the high season for tourism in Rome and the Pope was giving mass at the Vatican, so it felt as if there were more tourists than Romans during our stay. Because the Vatican View is a just a few hundred feet from the Vatican, it felt as if tourists were everywhere. Nevertheless, our room was quiet (despite being on the lowest floor), clean and well appointed. I do recommend opting for the deluxe room instead of the standard as it is a good deal nicer and only costs marginally more.

While the room itself was quite nice, what set the hotel apart was the staff. The two women who work at the front desk were extremely helpful in making restaurant reservations and recommendations, in getting us an ice pack when we needed one, and even helped us find free parking (which is something of a triumph in Rome). They saved us from tourist traps and perceptibly improved our stay.

The hotel is discretely located and seems very safe. Previous reviews expressing suspicion that it wasn't an actual hotel, but just a group of rooms to be rented our seem a bit critical in my view. The check in desk is in fact next door and there is no lobby in the conventional sense, so if you find this important, you should choose another hotel. I actually preferred that they invested their funds into the rooms and the roof garden as opposed to a lobby. I preferred having a mosaic marble shower and exposed wooden beams and 14 foot ceilings in my room to simply having a big lobby and mediocre rooms.

I think other reviewers complained about the number of keys you had to use to unlock the door, but I only needed two keys (one for our room and another for the hotel's front door).

In all, I thought this hotel offered a great value and the service exceeded every expectation. Rome is very, very expensive and the this hotel felt lavish given it's reasonable cost. And though I've stressed this before, the service was really wonderful.

Room Tip: Opt for the deluxe room as opposed to the standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Trent

Thank you so much for the lovely review.
True this, this period in town, there are more tourists than romans people but for us dosen't change anything, we treat each person that enter to our reception at the same way, with love and passion.
You had a wonderful Deluxe double room and you describe it better of I ever can do, you checked all the details but you forgotten to say that all the windows are double pannel! :D :D :D
Alessandra and Francesca were very happy reading this words and they thank you also!! :D
Again, thank you, thank and thank you over and over again!

We hope to see you again in the future.

A big hug

Daniel - Receptionist - Relais Vatican View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

On November 7, 2013, Vatican View was ranked #20 out of 1,271 hotels in Rome. Pretty impressive - and well deserved. My wife and I stayed at the Vatican View for 2 nights in October, 2013. Due to the detailed reviews on Trip advisor, I knew what to expect and encountered no surprises. We found a superb staff that was eager to help, a great location, a clean quiet room at a reasonable rate. What's not to like.

Before we arrived, Fabio arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and transferred to the hotel. The driver was waiting for us and helped us with our luggage. Perfect. We checked in, stored our luggage in the lobby, ate lunch nearby, and were able to go to our room early.

We enjoyed having a selection of four wines in the room for only 10 Euros each. The knowledgeable staff gave us great close by restaurant recommendations and we enjoyed the short walk and a chance to experience this part of Rome.

All personnel we encountered had great attitudes and seemed genuinely happy that we were staying there. A rare occurrence in any hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Chuck

First of all let me say: THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR THIS AWESOME REVIEW!!!!! We are so proud for what we do here, like we said many many times, we love our job and everything we do. we do it with truly passion, we love to cuddle and spoil our guests (before) / friends (after), we love to help you in each way possible from giving you advices for lunch and dinner to arrange any kind of request that you may have.
Also, being so close to the Vatican help a lot but all the main attractions in Rome are far 15/20 minutes far from us.
Next time that you want to visit us, take a look at our official website or send us a email and we'll treat you good :D :D :D :D :D

A big hug from all of us

Daniel - Receptionist - Relais Vatican VIew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

It took us a short while and continual pressing of the doorbell before we realised that the hotel reception was actually a "souvenir shop" beside the entrance. The rooms were spacious, well furnished with adequate amenities (e.g. a sink, cutlery, microwave oven shared by 2 rooms) for a comfortable stay. Breakfast muffins and instant coffee were provided, but that is no problem as guests can easily find food in numerous bars, osterie and restaurants nearby to fill their tummies. It is a big plus point for people who want to spend more time in the vatican city; you can get inside the basilica from the hotel by walking in about 5min or less. Most of the other attractions in Rome can be accessed via metro, bus or taxi or simply taking a stroll. For example, taking a stroll from the colosseum to the hotel took us about 1hour. We got the Rome Pass which proved useful for visiting certain museums and getting around in public transport. The staff were very friendly, jovial and gave excellent recommendations on what to do and where to eat during our 3 night stay. Overall it was a good experience, and i would recommend it if you are not too strapped for time for visiting places in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AequanimitaSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Aequanimita

First of all, thank you for the review on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to know that your stay was good.
Let me start with the point that ours it is a small (but old time style) and renovated building so we preferred build a reception close to the main entrance to give more space to all of our guest.
The staff it is one of our strong point, we truly care about how is going your stay in order to solve any possible problem and also we like to cuddle all of our guest at the same way.
So, next time that you want to visit our beautiful city, take a look to our official website to find out all the offers available on that period.

Again, thank you very much!!!

Daniel - Relais Vatican View - Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Aukum
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed two nights at the Vatican View and received some of the best customer service we have had in Italy. Fabio and Alessandra were wonderful and saw to our every need. Fabio even conversed with our taxi driver on arrival when he (Fabio) thought we were being overcharged.

Although small, the standard room was very clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. And, as stated in prior reviews, there is no breakfast, but cakes, cookies and coffee or tea in a tray by the window. Unfortunately, a decaf option was not available, but that is the ONLY negative to our stay. There were also several bottles of wine in the room for purchase. A quite evening on the rooftop terrace with a bottle of wine and the starry sky were a pleasant end to a busy day.

We were on the second floor and on Sunday morning could hear Papa Francesco speaking in St. Peter's Square from our window.

The location is perfectly located for visits to the Vatican Museum and literally just steps from St. Peter's Square. There is a good restaurant right next door and several others in the area all within walking distance. There is also an ATM machine just down the block.

Should we visit Rome again, The Vatican View Relais will definitely be where we'll stay.

Thank you, Fabio, Alessandra and all your staff, for making our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Layne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Layne

Thank you very much for this positive review. We do our best every day to welcome and help our guests in each way possible ( even talk with the taxi driver to see if it is everything ok).
Our building still retains that spirit of epochal palace and the standard room it is of a regular size but if you want a little bit of extra space, book a Deluxe double room, you will not be disappointed :D :D . In each room also you can find a mosaic shower and exposed and (ORIGNAL) wooden beams.
Thank you also for the little advice about the decaf coffee, we will make some change as soon as possible :D .
Next time that you want to come back and visit us, take a look ar our Official website to find out all the offers available.

Thank You.

Daniel - Relais Vatican View - Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A very clean hotel with everything you could need for a long weekend stay in Rome. I was a little confused at first that the reception was downstairs but that didn't matter! Roof terrace was lovely although would have been fab to have had the facility of having breakfast up there! Staff were very friendly though and we had a wonderful time! They even treated us to cute halloween cakes!!

Room Tip: Although room faced on to the street no traffic at night so very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Clarat56,

Thank you for the nice review.

We are so happy that your stay was good.

Vatican View is a particular and special Hotel where you always find clean, modern and design rooms, a panoramic terrace, open day and night, with an amazing view of St.Peter Square and Castel Sant'Angelo and, at the end, a funny and polite staff who will make all possible to give you a wonderful holiday :) Also, during the holidays, we like to make something special.. in this case we put halloween cupcakes, chocolates and candies in all the rooms.

We hope to see you again in the future.. don't forget to check all the special offers on our official website.

Hugs and Kisses

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the Vatican View for three nights and it suited us perfectly. We had two rooms which looked as if they could be used separately but we had them as a self contained suite for ourselves and our youngest son. Both were beautifully appointed and spotless, with very stylish bathrooms.

Be aware it isn't a hotel as you would generally expect - the reception is located in a souvenir shop next door and there is no restaurant - it really is just a few rooms. However, we have rarely met such friendly and helpful staff, and we've never returned from a day sightseeing to find in our rooms a plate of Halloween cakes with a hand written note! It's this sort of care that makes your stay just that little bit more special.

The location is perfect too; a couple of minutes from the Vatican. Overall we would thoroughly recommend the Vatican View if you value super friendly staff, and a beautiful room after a long day sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are really happy to know that your stay at the Vatican View was nice.
For large and small families, we have several solutions rooms. In this case, we gave you a suite consisting of two connecting rooms. In this way you and your husband have had your privacy and, why not, even your son ;)
As I always write on Tripadvisor and in our Facebook page, the events are very important for us .. In these days we try to pamper yourself to the fullest! For Halloween we gave to all our Friends cupcakes decorated with ghosts, pumpkins and witch hats, accompanied by chocolates and candies. The next few surprises will be at Christmas!

Hope to see you again soon

A big hug from all of us.

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#67 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#41 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Relais 6
#30 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#53 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Hearth Hotel
#96 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Property: Vatican View
Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing