We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in a Great Location”
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vatican View
Ranked #34 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place in a Great Location”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The staff was so friendly, and they had the best recommendations on restaurants in the area. I'd stay there again anytime! With the Basilica across the street and a few blocks from the Sistine Chapel, the location is second to none! Walking distance to so much.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Friend,

Thank you for the nice review :)

We're so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay thanks to our amazing location (just few seconds from St.Peter Church) and our friendly and crazy staff!
We always prefer to advice you restaurants where we normaly go with our friends and family. We want that you eat the real roman/italian food! So, it was a big pleasure to share it with you :)

We hope that you will come back at the Relais Vatican View soon!

Hugs,

Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    153
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
149
382
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our first stop on a month long tour of Italy and we couldn't have wished for a better experience. Fabio welcomed us with a warmth and generosity that made us feel immediately at home. We were privileged to be given what must have been the best room in the hotel because it had it's own top floor balcony and direct access to the roof from where the dome of St Peter's could be seen. Just a few minutes walk took us to the Cathedral where we were lucky enough to receive the Pope's New Year blessing, Urbus et Orbi. First impressions are the strongest and our first impression of Italy will always be a positive one thanks to the kindness of the wonderful staff at this delightful hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If available go for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Robert and family,

Thank you, thank you and again thank you :) :) :)

We're so happy to know that you enjoyed our Hotel! We have many kind of rooms.. all beautiful and each with its own peculiarities. Your room was the suite 413 (from 2 to 4 people) that it's the only one with balcony and private access to the terrace. For the other rooms, there is another access.. don't worry future clients ;) ihih. In this suite there is one double bed and one sofa double bed, so it's the best one if you have little children.
It was a big pleasure to meet you.. come back soon next here!

Hugs,

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have been traveling to Rome quite a lot since 5 years - I have been to many hotels in the city - but this is the best of the bests !!! Location exactly in the center of the world :-)) , very good quality of the rooms, and of course the crew - not the just clerks - Angels !!! - " anything you want - you got it" - impossible they do immediatelly - for miracles you have to wait a second ;-)
To be serious - I strongly recomend it.

Peter - Poland

Room Tip: they have any type of room you may need
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Piotr

Thank you for the nice and funny review.
We ain't angels but we do miracles!!! :D :D :D, kidding.
You have been many times in our Deluxe Double Room.
Relais Vatican View is a little but charming Hotel. As you wrote, from outiside you think is a normal building but, when you get in, you can feel on your skin the magic atmosphere that surround us.. A particulary stair, modern and luxury design, beautiful rooms, bathrooms with big (and in few rooms walk-in) showers, the panoramic terrace and a family staff!
What is the cherry on the cake? Absolutely our wonderful clients like you!!

A big hug from all of us.

Daniel - Receptionist - Relais Vatican View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our family enjoyed our stay at Vatican View during our summer vacation in July. We spent several nights in a large suite with a balcony. The suite was very clean, with contemporary and attractive furnishings. It was large enough to accommodate two adults and two children, which was the main reason we booked this hotel. It was hard for us to find a hotel to accommodate the four of us in one room, and we did not want to be separated from our young children. The suite had a private stairway and entrance to the rooftop terrace where at night there was beautiful view of the the Dome at St. Peter's. The one thing that could be made better would be the comfort of the bed mattress, which the owners should consider replacing. The bathroom was lovely, with lots of marble and modern amenties, again very clean. The location is fabulous; walking distance to the Vatican and near transportation. All the staff was helpful, however one of them did stand out: Alessandra, the concierge/front desk manager, is a gem. She was warm and welcoming upon our arrival, helpful with suggestions for restaurants, and without her advice we might have missed one of the most memorable moments of the trip which was an appearance by Papa Francesco at the Vatican balcony where he gave a blessing. Here's the topper: we forgot our passports when we transferred to our next hotel, and Alessandra hopped on her motorbike and drove them over herself to the hotel for us. Amazing!!! Thank you Alessandra!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Suite with the Balcony. Very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dctovegasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear my lovely family,

It's a bigggg pleasure to write you again :) I'm really happy to know that you didn't forget me! I love this job for all the clients like you!!! Trust me!
Thank you so much for this wonderful review..
When you wrote me the first e-mail to check your reservation, I understood your needs about the children and I gave you our suite (we have two kind of suite rooms) on the top floor. We have one solution to all our clients.. and I have many candies for your children ;) ;) ;) ihih.
For our future clients, I remember that Relais Vatican View is a modern Hotel where you will find design and clean rooms, we have also a wonderful terrace where you can see St.Peter Dome and Castel Sant'Angelo. Don't forget the crazy and funny staff :) Me, Daniel & Fabio!
We hope to see you again soon!!

A big hug to you all!

Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We planned a Christmas trip to Rome around attendance to the Christmas eve Mass at the Vatican. Hearing that public transit closed around 6:30 pm and the service ending around 11 pm, we selected Vatican View as the closest option for our trip. Everything worked out perfectly and we were able to even check the line beforehand and adjust our timing to ensure that we were able to get into the Cathedral and get a good seat. When the service was complete, we were back in the room in 5 minutes. Great access to public transit, which allowed us to get all around Rome in all directions. Staff was very helpful, attentive, and remembered what we were doing to make the stay memorable (way to go Daniel!). We'll stay again if we're ever in Rome in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Alan


Thank you so much for this wonderful review on tripadvisor.

We're very happy to know that we were able to give you a wonderful time in Rome.
Our hotel is very modern, design, with rooms equipped with everything and, in addition, we have a roof terrace where you can see the church of St. Peter's and Castel Sant'Angelo sitting comfortably in a sofa,
We have been "trained" to express our personality, kindness and sympathy. This means that the customers always have to feel like home, but with a bit of more luxury.
We love our job and we do it with passion and genuine love.
Everyday it's fantastic to meet Friends like you!
We hope to see you again in the future.

Hugs,

Daniel - Receptionist - Relais Vatican View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed overnight before a Vatican tour, and it really was lovely. Fabio was kind and helpful, the room itself was fresh and quaint, and the location was great. The bedroom itself was a little small, but not in a cramped way, in a you're-in-a-traditional-Rome-apartment-what-were-you-expecting way, but the bathroom was big and newly redecorated in a modern style. We went up to the roof and the view was very pretty, and rooftop real estate is fairly special in Rome. My fiance's only complaint is that the wifi is dodgy, so we wasted a fair amount of time waiting for wifi, where he said he might have preferred it if they hadn't advertised it at all, rather than providing weak service. All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Serena,

Thank you for the nice review.

I'm very happy to know that your stay was good but I'm sad to read that the wifi wasn't good. I'm so sorry for this inconvenience.. I want just happy clients, for this reason, during the check-in, I always ask to call me also every two minute if there are problems. In this way, I can try to resolve. All the routers are new and now the wifi is very high and fast! So, come back soon to check it ;) ;) ;)

A big hug!

Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas and its was lovely. It was a perfect location with only approx. 30second walk to Vatican, so we didn't have to fight with crowds for taxis after Christmas eve midnight mass or Christmas day message. We also found it very easy to walk to every other major landmark in Rome and didn't use the metro once. The staff were very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 693AmyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Amy,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review :)

We're sooooo happy to know that your stay and your Christmas were nice thanks to our amazing location and our friendly and funny staff.
From here it's very easy to go to the Vatican Church to see the Pope during the mass.. there are just five seconds walk! Also, I remember to all our future lovely clients that, during the holidays, we always put many gifts in all the rooms.. I hope you enjoyed it for Christmas. Now, you must come back to discover the next one (St. Valentine or Easter).. Come back soon!!! ;)

A big from us and Happy new year!

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#68 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#40 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Relais 6
#30 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#54 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Hearth Hotel
#102 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Property: Vatican View
Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing