We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely convenient location, Great staff”
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vatican View
Ranked #39 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I decided to take our 7-month old daughter to Italy to attend midnight mass at the Vatican for Christmas Eve so we wanted a convenient hotel. We could not have asked for a better staff. We were literally steps away from the Vatican wall and it took less than 5 minutes to get into St. Peter's Square from our room. Fabio and the entire staff were very warm and helpful throughout our stay and had a crib set up in our room upon our arrival. The hotel is conveniently located near several restaurants and near one of the main streets leading into downtown Rome lined with high-end stores. The room was immaculate and we would definitely stay here again. The only warning I would give is if someone is handicapped, the elevator was actually up half a flight of stairs and the bathroom was small which would make maneuvering around challenging.

Room Tip: The standard room might be tough for handicapped guests due to the narrow stairs and small bathroom.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Joe

Thank you for the beautiful review.

We are glad to know that your holiday with us was very good.
Relais Vatican View is a special Hotel where you will always find modern and clean rooms, a panoramic terrace and a funny and polite staff. Everything you like, it's available just here with us.
For this reason you must come back for your next holiday ;) ;) ;) Don't forget to check our special offers on our official website.

Warm Regards,

Daniel, Receptionist, Relais Vatican View

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
There are newer reviews for Vatican View
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

I am a frequent traveler and this was, without a doubt, the best hotel I have ever stayed in in my whole life (30 years). First of all, the service is excellent. We were welcomed by a receptionist with a big smile, who provided very useful information and made us feel at home. They were there for us whenever we needed help. The hotel is small but recently refurbished, comfortable and beautifully decorated, not to mention the location. The hotel is almost inside the Vatican and relatively close to train station. I recommend this option of accommodation, wholeheartedly, for location ,service and professionalism. Congratulations to Relais Vatican View Hotel!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alisson203040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear lovely Alisson,

Thank you so much for this amazing review!

When I read "The best Hotel I have ever stayed in my life", my heart is filled with happiness!
Relais Vatican View is a beautiful Hotel where you will always find modern, disegn and clean rooms, a wonferful and panoramic terrace and an helpfull staff! All these things you can find also in other Hotels.. The peculiarity and the uniqueness of the Vatican View Hotel is the special service that we offer to all our customers ... so much love!!! :) :) :) We love this job! And we love you! It is precisely the reviews like your to grow this love! I'm really glad that you enjoyed this! It's important!

You must come back ;)

A big big big hug,

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The staff was so friendly, and they had the best recommendations on restaurants in the area. I'd stay there again anytime! With the Basilica across the street and a few blocks from the Sistine Chapel, the location is second to none! Walking distance to so much.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mathew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Friend,

Thank you for the nice review :)

We're so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay thanks to our amazing location (just few seconds from St.Peter Church) and our friendly and crazy staff!
We always prefer to advice you restaurants where we normaly go with our friends and family. We want that you eat the real roman/italian food! So, it was a big pleasure to share it with you :)

We hope that you will come back at the Relais Vatican View soon!

Hugs,

Alessandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our first stop on a month long tour of Italy and we couldn't have wished for a better experience. Fabio welcomed us with a warmth and generosity that made us feel immediately at home. We were privileged to be given what must have been the best room in the hotel because it had it's own top floor balcony and direct access to the roof from where the dome of St Peter's could be seen. Just a few minutes walk took us to the Cathedral where we were lucky enough to receive the Pope's New Year blessing, Urbus et Orbi. First impressions are the strongest and our first impression of Italy will always be a positive one thanks to the kindness of the wonderful staff at this delightful hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If available go for a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Robert and family,

Thank you, thank you and again thank you :) :) :)

We're so happy to know that you enjoyed our Hotel! We have many kind of rooms.. all beautiful and each with its own peculiarities. Your room was the suite 413 (from 2 to 4 people) that it's the only one with balcony and private access to the terrace. For the other rooms, there is another access.. don't worry future clients ;) ihih. In this suite there is one double bed and one sofa double bed, so it's the best one if you have little children.
It was a big pleasure to meet you.. come back soon next here!

Hugs,

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have been traveling to Rome quite a lot since 5 years - I have been to many hotels in the city - but this is the best of the bests !!! Location exactly in the center of the world :-)) , very good quality of the rooms, and of course the crew - not the just clerks - Angels !!! - " anything you want - you got it" - impossible they do immediatelly - for miracles you have to wait a second ;-)
To be serious - I strongly recomend it.

Peter - Poland

Room Tip: they have any type of room you may need
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Piotr

Thank you for the nice and funny review.
We ain't angels but we do miracles!!! :D :D :D, kidding.
You have been many times in our Deluxe Double Room.
Relais Vatican View is a little but charming Hotel. As you wrote, from outiside you think is a normal building but, when you get in, you can feel on your skin the magic atmosphere that surround us.. A particulary stair, modern and luxury design, beautiful rooms, bathrooms with big (and in few rooms walk-in) showers, the panoramic terrace and a family staff!
What is the cherry on the cake? Absolutely our wonderful clients like you!!

A big hug from all of us.

Daniel - Receptionist - Relais Vatican View

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our family enjoyed our stay at Vatican View during our summer vacation in July. We spent several nights in a large suite with a balcony. The suite was very clean, with contemporary and attractive furnishings. It was large enough to accommodate two adults and two children, which was the main reason we booked this hotel. It was hard for us to find a hotel to accommodate the four of us in one room, and we did not want to be separated from our young children. The suite had a private stairway and entrance to the rooftop terrace where at night there was beautiful view of the the Dome at St. Peter's. The one thing that could be made better would be the comfort of the bed mattress, which the owners should consider replacing. The bathroom was lovely, with lots of marble and modern amenties, again very clean. The location is fabulous; walking distance to the Vatican and near transportation. All the staff was helpful, however one of them did stand out: Alessandra, the concierge/front desk manager, is a gem. She was warm and welcoming upon our arrival, helpful with suggestions for restaurants, and without her advice we might have missed one of the most memorable moments of the trip which was an appearance by Papa Francesco at the Vatican balcony where he gave a blessing. Here's the topper: we forgot our passports when we transferred to our next hotel, and Alessandra hopped on her motorbike and drove them over herself to the hotel for us. Amazing!!! Thank you Alessandra!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Suite with the Balcony. Very nice room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dctovegasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear my lovely family,

It's a bigggg pleasure to write you again :) I'm really happy to know that you didn't forget me! I love this job for all the clients like you!!! Trust me!
Thank you so much for this wonderful review..
When you wrote me the first e-mail to check your reservation, I understood your needs about the children and I gave you our suite (we have two kind of suite rooms) on the top floor. We have one solution to all our clients.. and I have many candies for your children ;) ;) ;) ihih.
For our future clients, I remember that Relais Vatican View is a modern Hotel where you will find design and clean rooms, we have also a wonderful terrace where you can see St.Peter Dome and Castel Sant'Angelo. Don't forget the crazy and funny staff :) Me, Daniel & Fabio!
We hope to see you again soon!!

A big hug to you all!

Alessandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We planned a Christmas trip to Rome around attendance to the Christmas eve Mass at the Vatican. Hearing that public transit closed around 6:30 pm and the service ending around 11 pm, we selected Vatican View as the closest option for our trip. Everything worked out perfectly and we were able to even check the line beforehand and adjust our timing to ensure that we were able to get into the Cathedral and get a good seat. When the service was complete, we were back in the room in 5 minutes. Great access to public transit, which allowed us to get all around Rome in all directions. Staff was very helpful, attentive, and remembered what we were doing to make the stay memorable (way to go Daniel!). We'll stay again if we're ever in Rome in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Alan


Thank you so much for this wonderful review on tripadvisor.

We're very happy to know that we were able to give you a wonderful time in Rome.
Our hotel is very modern, design, with rooms equipped with everything and, in addition, we have a roof terrace where you can see the church of St. Peter's and Castel Sant'Angelo sitting comfortably in a sofa,
We have been "trained" to express our personality, kindness and sympathy. This means that the customers always have to feel like home, but with a bit of more luxury.
We love our job and we do it with passion and genuine love.
Everyday it's fantastic to meet Friends like you!
We hope to see you again in the future.

Hugs,

Daniel - Receptionist - Relais Vatican View

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Relais 6
#35 of 1,267 in Rome
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#105 of 1,267 in Rome
1,207 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,267 in Rome
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £76 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing