We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in every way!”
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vatican View
Ranked #36 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have just spent 4 nights in this hotel and have to say it was absolutely amazing. The staff are wonderful, the location is amazing and it is decorated beautifully. The roof top terrace is another added bonus and was amazing to sit up there have some wine and just enjoy the views. We intend to go back to Rome and we won't even bother looking at other hotels! It was a home from home and deserves recognition for this!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear L M


Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We're flattered!
It 'been a real pleasure to meet you and spend some time with you.
You have described our structure to better .. we are happy to know that your stay was enjoyable and also that you find our hotel like a "home from home"!!!!
Come back soon ..

A big hug from all of us.

Daniel - Receptionist - Relais Vatican View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    156
    30
    6
    7
See reviews for
158
390
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Excellent place, clean and modern and very, very close to St. Peter's Square.
Friendly and helpful staff. Don't miss the roof terrace, with the beautiful view of the Basilica!
If we ever go back to Rome we will choose this place again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear M A

Thank you for the nice review.

We are so happy that your stay was good.

Vatican View is a particular and special Hotel where you always find clean, modern and design rooms, a panoramic terrace, open day and night, with an amazing view of St.Peter Square and Castel Sant'Angelo and, at the end, a funny and polite staff who will make all possible to give you a wonderful holiday :)

We hope to see you again in the future.. don't forget to check all the special offers on our official website.

Regards

Daniel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I decided to take our 7-month old daughter to Italy to attend midnight mass at the Vatican for Christmas Eve so we wanted a convenient hotel. We could not have asked for a better staff. We were literally steps away from the Vatican wall and it took less than 5 minutes to get into St. Peter's Square from our room. Fabio and the entire staff were very warm and helpful throughout our stay and had a crib set up in our room upon our arrival. The hotel is conveniently located near several restaurants and near one of the main streets leading into downtown Rome lined with high-end stores. The room was immaculate and we would definitely stay here again. The only warning I would give is if someone is handicapped, the elevator was actually up half a flight of stairs and the bathroom was small which would make maneuvering around challenging.

Room Tip: The standard room might be tough for handicapped guests due to the narrow stairs and small bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Joe

Thank you for the beautiful review.

We are glad to know that your holiday with us was very good.
Relais Vatican View is a special Hotel where you will always find modern and clean rooms, a panoramic terrace and a funny and polite staff. Everything you like, it's available just here with us.
For this reason you must come back for your next holiday ;) ;) ;) Don't forget to check our special offers on our official website.

Warm Regards,

Daniel, Receptionist, Relais Vatican View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I am a frequent traveler and this was, without a doubt, the best hotel I have ever stayed in in my whole life (30 years). First of all, the service is excellent. We were welcomed by a receptionist with a big smile, who provided very useful information and made us feel at home. They were there for us whenever we needed help. The hotel is small but recently refurbished, comfortable and beautifully decorated, not to mention the location. The hotel is almost inside the Vatican and relatively close to train station. I recommend this option of accommodation, wholeheartedly, for location ,service and professionalism. Congratulations to Relais Vatican View Hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alisson203040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear lovely Alisson,

Thank you so much for this amazing review!

When I read "The best Hotel I have ever stayed in my life", my heart is filled with happiness!
Relais Vatican View is a beautiful Hotel where you will always find modern, disegn and clean rooms, a wonferful and panoramic terrace and an helpfull staff! All these things you can find also in other Hotels.. The peculiarity and the uniqueness of the Vatican View Hotel is the special service that we offer to all our customers ... so much love!!! :) :) :) We love this job! And we love you! It is precisely the reviews like your to grow this love! I'm really glad that you enjoyed this! It's important!

You must come back ;)

A big big big hug,

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The staff was so friendly, and they had the best recommendations on restaurants in the area. I'd stay there again anytime! With the Basilica across the street and a few blocks from the Sistine Chapel, the location is second to none! Walking distance to so much.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Friend,

Thank you for the nice review :)

We're so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay thanks to our amazing location (just few seconds from St.Peter Church) and our friendly and crazy staff!
We always prefer to advice you restaurants where we normaly go with our friends and family. We want that you eat the real roman/italian food! So, it was a big pleasure to share it with you :)

We hope that you will come back at the Relais Vatican View soon!

Hugs,

Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our first stop on a month long tour of Italy and we couldn't have wished for a better experience. Fabio welcomed us with a warmth and generosity that made us feel immediately at home. We were privileged to be given what must have been the best room in the hotel because it had it's own top floor balcony and direct access to the roof from where the dome of St Peter's could be seen. Just a few minutes walk took us to the Cathedral where we were lucky enough to receive the Pope's New Year blessing, Urbus et Orbi. First impressions are the strongest and our first impression of Italy will always be a positive one thanks to the kindness of the wonderful staff at this delightful hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If available go for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Robert and family,

Thank you, thank you and again thank you :) :) :)

We're so happy to know that you enjoyed our Hotel! We have many kind of rooms.. all beautiful and each with its own peculiarities. Your room was the suite 413 (from 2 to 4 people) that it's the only one with balcony and private access to the terrace. For the other rooms, there is another access.. don't worry future clients ;) ihih. In this suite there is one double bed and one sofa double bed, so it's the best one if you have little children.
It was a big pleasure to meet you.. come back soon next here!

Hugs,

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have been traveling to Rome quite a lot since 5 years - I have been to many hotels in the city - but this is the best of the bests !!! Location exactly in the center of the world :-)) , very good quality of the rooms, and of course the crew - not the just clerks - Angels !!! - " anything you want - you got it" - impossible they do immediatelly - for miracles you have to wait a second ;-)
To be serious - I strongly recomend it.

Peter - Poland

Room Tip: they have any type of room you may need
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Piotr

Thank you for the nice and funny review.
We ain't angels but we do miracles!!! :D :D :D, kidding.
You have been many times in our Deluxe Double Room.
Relais Vatican View is a little but charming Hotel. As you wrote, from outiside you think is a normal building but, when you get in, you can feel on your skin the magic atmosphere that surround us.. A particulary stair, modern and luxury design, beautiful rooms, bathrooms with big (and in few rooms walk-in) showers, the panoramic terrace and a family staff!
What is the cherry on the cake? Absolutely our wonderful clients like you!!

A big hug from all of us.

Daniel - Receptionist - Relais Vatican View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Relais 6
#33 of 1,261 in Rome
1,881 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,261 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#97 of 1,261 in Rome
1,198 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#50 of 1,261 in Rome
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Property: Vatican View
Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing