We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Friday Eve in the Eternal city”
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vatican View
Ranked #41 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Upon returning from the battlefields of France ,and a business trip, we needed an overnight stay in Rome, I chose Vatican View for its location, but it is so much more. The staff were fantastic, and the rooms superb. They helped us out with a taxi problem and were there to farewell us in the morn. I spent dawn Good Friday in the Basilica which is only minutes away, magnificent, also, some amazing restaurants just around the corner. I will stay again when I come to enjoy Rome for a longer time. Thank you Vatican View.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with windows on the street, nice to look out in the morning, there's also a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed one night post cruise, so we could visit theVatican. The hotel staff was terrific. We arrived early,coming directly from the cruise ship. They happily stored our luggage while we wandered and visited. The room was very clean, and neatly decorated. Nice big shower, and a comfortable bed. The hotel fit our needs perfectly. We had to leave very early so we did not get a chance to thank our hosts. So thank you for a pleasant night stay in your hotel. The next time we travel to Rome, we would happily book again. I recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Family-run boutique hotel in a fantastic location, just a stone's throw from the Vatican but more importantly, the friendliest and most helpful reception staff that you can imagine. They clearly love their job! Thank you Daniel and Antonio for all your assistance and making our stay so wonderful.

The roof terrace has stunning views across the city and in particular of the Vatican dome. The standard room may not be the largest you'll stay in, but it's very comfortable, peaceful through the night, and the bathrooms are designed beautifully!

Grazie mille.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Di P,

Thank you for the nice review :)

We're so happy to know that your stay was good.. this is very important for us because we always want to give our best to all our Friends of the Vatican View Hotel. As you wrote, we love our job.
The room that you booked was the standard double..beautiful, modern, clean and super equipped. Anyway, for your next time here, I promise you a deluxe double with a good price like a "present" because you will come back! Are you happy??? :D ihih I hope so!

See you soon and don't forget to keep in touch with us through fb or e-mail.

Best Regards and a big hug also from Antonio.

Daniel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

In a city the size of Rome with so many hotel options, I find that staff can make all the difference. This is where Vatican View excels.

Yes, the location is outstanding, less than a five minute walk from St. Peter's. Yes, the rooms are cleverly decorated, the bed is comfortable, and the rain shower is a rare perk in a European hotel.

But what set Vatican View apart for my wife, daughter and me was the service. Daniel and Alessandra were always ready with an answer to our questions and a smile. This is a small hotel run by people who genuinely love what they do, and it shows.

Others have done a good job describing the above average accommodations and location, so I will leave it at praising a team that really makes your stay feel like home. We look forward to staying at the Vatican View again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viva_la_Spartans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Viva_la_S,

OMG! This is one of the best review!!! When we read it, we had tears! This is amazing and this is very very very important for us. So, THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!
We love our job, it's true and we can't hide it.. but we love even more our Friends like you! Everyday we spent with you many hours, so you automatically become part of our family and it's the best part of our job. For this reason it's a really pleasure to answer to all your questions :) Nice to know that you appreciated all this.

We hope to see you again in the future..

A bigggg hug and a lot of kisses to your lovely daughter!
Thank you again..

Kind Regards,

Alessandra & Daniel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in an excellent location next to the Vatican. Our room was great, very large for a European hotel. The staff were amazing, always friendly and willing to help out with suggestions for dinner, tours etc.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank stitty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Stitty

Thank you so much for the wonderful review :)
We're so happy to know that your stay was good! It' s very important for us that all our clients are happy and that they feel the Hotel like home.. We always reserve a special service because we want to take care about you!
You must come back also during the summer to enjoy the aperitif with us up to our wonderful and panoramic terrace..

A big hug from all of us

Daniel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at this elegant family owned boutique hotel for 3 nights this week. It was an excellent experience made all the more wonderful because of the great people working there. Daniel and Alessandra in particular were amazing and so helpful. Also, every time we enquired about something, it seemed to magically appear. You also could not be in a better location just next to The Vatican literally. Our standard room was a little on the small side, however, that was what we booked and we still loved it. We also used the rooftop patio every evening before dinner for cocktails and that was just typical of the great energy of this hotel. We loved our stay there and would definitely go back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Andrew

Thank you for the review.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our Hotel and your stay in general. The Hotel is located to 30 second walking distance from the Vatican Square, 5 minutes from Castel Sant'Angelo, 10/15 minutes from Navona Square and the others tourist sights.
Anyway, we hope to see you again in the future and if you want to come back to visit us, check our official website to find out all the offers available with the hope that next review will be of 5 points :D :D :D

Regards

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights at the Vatican view. The staff is exceptional. The room was fine. The location was very convenient to the Vatican and within walking distance of all the other attractions. It was 3 mins from the Vatican and 40 mins from the furthest attraction (colosseum). Wifi was great and available in the room. There is no lobby in the hotel or breakfast. Free water bottles are provided each day with coffee maker in room and a few simple snacks. Great place for a great price.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Cindyc710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Cindyc710,

Thank you for your nice review!

We are happy to know that your stay was good thanks to our amazing location, our rooms and our staff. The service that we offer to all our guests is one of our strengths! In fact, we always try to recommend the best things to feel like an Italian but, at the same time, you can live the perfect roman holiday! All accompanied by our beautiful rooms (standard, deluxe and/or suite) where you will find everything you need and more!

Come back again, we will wait for you!

Regards and hugs!

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,273 in Rome
1,414 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#80 of 1,273 in Rome
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels Michelangelo
#158 of 1,273 in Rome
1,150 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#51 of 1,273 in Rome
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £56 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing