We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff, great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vatican View
Ranked #37 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My friend and I stayed here during out visit to Rome and we received wonderful service from all the staff we met. They were so helpful in giving directions, restaurant recs and anything else we needed. I would absolutely recommend them to other travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Jenn,

Thank you so much for your review :)

It's very important for us to know that our clients enjoyed their holiday here at the Vatican View Hotel.. we love to give you all the info about Rome, it's a very pleasure for us! :D :D :D For this reason I advise to all our future clients to write us everytime that you need, we will help you to choose the perfect room for your needs.

Come back again!

A big big big hug.

Alessandra & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    152
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
149
372
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Dont even know where to start....location close to vatican, tour buses and restaurants was perfect. Staff was amazing and super helpful on everything from parking to booking restaurants and getting us back to the airport as effectively as possible. Metro was walking distance.. maybe 5-7minutes? Room was perfect, everything clean and it had a very charming small hotel feel. No big sign outside screaming this is a hotel...so keep your eyes peeled when you first look for it...almost mistook it for a gift shop. Daniel and Alyssa at the front desk were always available and super friendly!

Room Tip: If you need room for a crib...get the deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastCoastCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear EastCoast,

Me too.. I don't even know where to start to say you thank you :D :D :D
We're so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, it's very important for us!
It's a big pleasure for us to help you with pick up service, info about restaurants and just to listen how to spent your day in Rome :) we love this job and we love you all!

I hope to see you again next year.

Hugs!!!

Alessandra & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect for the vatican and it's surrounds. A cheap taxi from the city centre if you didn't want to walk too.
The staff were so helpful, they even ordered us in pizza one night!
The room and bathroom was nice. We had a kitchen in ours, it was totally pointless since you can only use the kettle for safety reasons.
The main downfall is that breakfast didn't come with the room, which is standard in all the hotels we've stayed in in Italy, also for the price we expected something more than a preserved bun in a packet.
This hotel has a lovely roof terrace which is usually empty, we got a pizza take away and wine from the room and chilled out up there one evening, it was ideal for a quiet night in after a day of walking tours.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsStacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear MrsStacie,

Thank you for the nice review.

We're glad to know that your stay was good :) but I will wait for your next time with us because I want that all my clients spend an excellent stay!
Relais Vatican View is a little Hotel and for this reason we haven't a breakfast room, but we have a free little kit inside the rooms with coffe, tea, cookies, cakes and milk.. If you prefer something more, we're always available for you :) :) Also, in some rooms you will find a kitchenette with a microwave, wine/water glasses, plates and cutlery... you need all this to go to our amazing and panoramic terrace to taste a good italian wine ;) ihih

We hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and kisses

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I had to go to Rome for three days and I spent so long looking for the right hotel. I would find one and then check it on Tripadvisor and the reviews would ruin it for me. I finally found this place and it had fewer bad reviews so I just decided to go with it. I am so happy I did. An amazing hotel. just under four minutes walk to St Peters Square which is already a plus point. I checked in late and Daniel, who was behind the desk was very friendly and smiley and told me everything I needed to know about the hotel. He also upgraded me which he didn't need to do but when I got to the room, I was blown away that he had. A very large room well decorated and a very comfy bed. A lot of the hotels in Rome suffer from decor stuck in the 1970's but they have made an effort to modernise the decor and I think it had worked really well. Good air con (a must in Rome in the summer). Bathroom was very modern and the shower pressure was superb (I had seen it mentioned in other reviews). Wifi in the room as well and it was free which is a bonus. Daniel showed me around the room and then left. Over the next two days the staff I bumped into were lovely and very friendly. Alessandra on checking out was great and very helpful. This is not a Hilton or an intercontinental so if you want that type of experience go there but if you want a very well located boutique hotel run by very friendly staff I would strongly recommend this hotel. I want to do another trip to Rome again soon and I will be definitely looking to stay here again.

Room Tip: I had 201 and I would say it is a huge room and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, at Vatican View, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Kensalris,

Thank you so much for this amazing review about us!

I'm very happy to know that your stay was great! This is very important for us because we want just happy clients ;)
As you well wrote, Relais Vatican View is not an Hilton or an Intercontinental, it's a little but so nice boutique Hotel where you can always find clean and super modern rooms, a panoramic terrace and the staff who will be your family during your holiday :) :) :) we love our job and all our clients! For this reason you can ask to us what you prefer everytime that you need!

This time was a short holiday but we're waiting for your next time ;) Keep in touch on Facebook!

A big hug and a special thanks from me and Daniel.

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed one night at the very end of a long trip and had an excellent stay. If you want to be near the Vatican, this is a great place (although you may not know you're there since it's lobby is tiny)! Still the rooms are fantastic and large and the staff is great. It was nice to end the trip with good WiFi and good A/C too. Over a dozen reviews for me and this will be my first 5 of 5. Thank you to all the staff - you make the difference and I'd recommend it to anyone wanting to be on that side of the river near the Vatican - especially with families. And don't forget to spend some time on the rooftop terrace at night when it gets cooler.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whammers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Whammers,

Thank you, thank you and again thank you!


Everytime that I read this phrase "you make the difference" about us of the staff, my eyes shine! I'm very happy to know that our love for this job and for our clients is visible :) This is just one part of your holiday at the Relais Vatican View! Here you will find also many kind of modern rooms and a panoramic terrace where you can see St.Peter church and Castel Sant' Angelo!
So, it's this your hotel in Rome! ;) Don't forget us and come back soon!!!

A big hug.

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights after a cruise. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a renovated room, with a huge modern bathroom that has a bathtub and a separate shower. It also had a small kitchenette; Wifi works great, staff is very attentive. It is located very close to the Vatican, the rooftop area is beautiful with St Peter's basilica view. Metro station is walking distance. The tiny elevator was not functioning the day of our arrival but it was repair the same day. Having say all the good things, the air conditioner was not enough to cool the bedroom. We know it was hot in Rome, but we previously stayed 3 nights in another Rome hotel, the temperatures were equally hot and the air conditioner cooled so well in the other hotel that I needed blankets!!! We spoke to the Vatican view staff and they said the air conditioner was working well and no other people have complaint. We asked for an electric fan and they had none. So, despite being a beautiful place in an excellent location and with an excellent staff, I can not give an excellent rating because the bottom line is that if you can not sleep well in a hotel due to temperature is uncomfortable, then the stay was not good. I can come back if going other time of the year but not summer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rvbolorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Rybolorin,

Thank you for the review.

I am very sorry to hear that your stay wasn't the best. For this reason, I hope you will return soon, I want just happy customers :) :)
Upon your arrival, as you had a lot of luggage and I had the opportunity, I decided to give you an upgrade to a deluxe double room (my favorite) which is more spacious than the standard .. I'm glad to know that you liked it! The air conditioning was controlled by both our technical and from an external technician who we called on purpose to be sure. Both haven't found anything, but they justified the case with the terrible hot (over 30 degrees) that there was in Rome in those days.. I'm so sorry!
It was a big pleasure to meet you both and I hope you will return in another period and in summer too .. I want to see you again because you are too cute ;)

A big hug for you Friends.

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Vatican View for 5 nights in June and found it to be a lovely place. The room was a typical size for Rome, had modern decor and was very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent, so close to the Vatican and just a short taxi ride to other significant sites. The only things that could be improved are access to laundry facilities (or at least an iron) and breakfast (packets of pastries are provided but not what we would prefer).
Overall a great experience and good value for money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank midwife83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Midwife83,

Thank you for the nice review :D

I'm very happy to know that your stay was good, it was a pleasure to meet you.
Relais Vatican View is a little Hotel where, unfortunately, there isn't a breakfast room, but, just for our clients, we resolve it with a free little breakfast kit (coffee, tea, milk, cookies, cakes and water) that you will find everyday inside the room. Also, we haven't an iron because in italy there is a special law about this.. anyway, we have the service for clean and dry your clothes.
Our location is one of our best points, we are so close to the St.Peter square.. 10 seconds walking distance! :)

Come back again soon at the Vatican View ! We will wait for you!

Kisses,

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#46 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#58 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Relais 6
#31 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#38 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#26 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Property: Vatican View
Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing