We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Roma Scout Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roma Scout Center
Ranked #199 of 3,758 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I had a very brief one night stay at this hostel in mid-August. It was a tad bit tricky to find, but also located within walking distance from the Roma Tiburtina train station and the Bologna metro stop. The staff I interacted with was a bit of a mixed bag. The lady who checked me in was one of the nicest people I’ve met in Rome, but the one who replaced her later seemed very disinterested in interacting with me. The rooms were pleasant, and the AC is a very nice benefit. However, my power adapters would not work with any of the outlets in the room, but some of the outlets in the corner lounges did work with my electronics. The 4 person room I stayed in was fairly large and well lit, with large lockers that locked with a key given to you at check-in. From what I experienced, there wasn’t much of a community feel here, but I could be wrong about that. I believe there’s a restaurant on the bottom floor, but it was closed when I arrived. I think there’s also a breakfast included in the price, but I can’t speak on that either as I left before they began serving, which was at 7:30 I believe. The area in which this hostel is located seemed ok, but not great. There were some shops and restaurants around, but I never felt 100% comfortable walking around the area on my own. Perhaps that's just my suspicion of big cities kicking in, though.

Really, I can’t say much more about this place, good or bad. It served my needs well, which were just to have a place to sleep before leaving Rome the next day. But if you're looking for a place with a great community feel in the heart of Rome, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekking262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    148
    41
    9
    3
See reviews for
43
30
111
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

This hostel is really nice,
Staff are lovely and completely wheelchair friendly, appart from the location! Unfortunately I cut my stay here to move to a hostel closer to the centre and so I was able to see the sight more easily! There were buses and subways but extremely cramped and being in a wheelchair there was a chance I would not be able to get on!

The hostel itself however, as said above was more or less perfect (apart from location)!
They're prices are average for a hostel in Rome but the things at an added cost, like food, were reasonable.

The staff wanted to help however they could and the rooms very clean and spacious!

I guess it depends on the bunch staying there but I didn't find this hostel great for meeting fellow travellers (apart from those of whom are in the same room as you). This could be to do with the common room being quite small, the place being quite quiet or just my luck of dates and people staying there at this time!

Even though it wasn't right for me I would still recommend this hostel to others as it was nice, just the location was not good for wheelchair users!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole_Martine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed in 3 different rooms (4 beds girls dorm and shared bathroom, private with 3 beds and included bathroom) during my stay so I can say that the rooms and shared bathrooms are quite clean.
Most staff members that I encountered were very nice and helpful, suggesting us places to eat and helping us solve any issue, etc.
The breakfast could be a bit better but you get great italian coffee with it!

All in all, a very good hostel !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Solene0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Hostel is very well organized , very close to the Metro B, (3 minutes on foot) .
The restaurant is small but cheap and the food is very good , expecially Pasta cacio e Pepe and Amatriciana. People is nice and smart I suggest you for your holiday in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugano2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

The hostel is very simple and minimal, but not to the extent you feel anything has been left out. It has all you need for a good stay, and is always clean but if you're looking for a more homely hostel then this isn't for you - perhaps a little sterile.

We stayed in a 4 bed room, but for the majority of the trip it was only occupied by me and a friend which made a nice change from some of the bigger dorms.

It is close to the metro station, around 5 mins by foot (easy to reach both Termini and major attractions) and easy to find (those who say it's hard to find haven't looked on the map at all before going there).

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank amutualthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Really nice center with nice amenities, the location isn't central but close to a metro stop so it was easy to get to all the sights. The breakfast that is included is really great, but the staff weren't always as friendly or helpful as most hostels.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina_Therese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Everything was clean. Staff was always busy or on the phone with whomever. Not a hostel to chat or meet other travelers... many were from around Rome, families, or friends traveling who want to be left alone. I guess their website did say quiet but I didn't realize it was living at home again ie leave your keys at the desk when leaving and other guests get stopped when going to meet group in anOther part of the building. Breakfast was juice, bread, croissants and coffee. Metro close. Shop in Vatican city or barberrina as prices are lower. Buy a day, 2day, or three day pass better deal which are available a machines in the station. Trains readily available at termini station. From fco airport, take a train, payment separate from day pass and any other train ticket to termini the main station then take the blue Cornella line to bologna then follow directions from hostel page from there.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rcagayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel La Genziana
#457 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Hotel Capannelle
#547 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Next Door Guesthouse
#64 of 3,758 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Comics guesthouse
Comics guesthouse
#129 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,593 of 3,758 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Tiburtino
B&B Foscari House
B&B Foscari House
#210 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma Scout Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma Scout Center

Property: Roma Scout Center
Address: Largo Dello Scautismo 1, 00162 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 3,758 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roma Scout Center 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roma Scout Center offers air-conditioned rooms, set in a former convent renovated by Catholic Scouts. It is located near Bologna Metro Station,and Roma Tiburtina Railway, where the train to Leonardo Da Vinci International Airport stops. Rooms: 35. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Roma Scout Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing