We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, okay accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antica Dimora dell'Orso
Ranked #1,306 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, okay accommodations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for 4 nights while in Rome. The check-in process is awkward. The entrance isn't well marked and when you get there you have to call and wait for someone to walk over from the sister hotel (5 min away). This is basically the annex to a larger, more expensive traditional hotel. We were shown to our room "Erminia" and were really displeased - so small and worst room out of the 5. I could touch both walls when I put my arms out and there was a lot of black mold in the shower - eww! The reception did a nice job of accommodating us and put us in a nicer room, "Carminda" the next 3 nights. This room was 100 times better and the bathroom was much cleaner. We didn't think breakfast was very good, so we went the first day and skipped the rest of the days. The location is very nice - close to Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, etc. However, if I could do it over, I would probably choose somewhere different to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkukuk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    23
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
29
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a guest house not a Hotel. It does not have a reception at the premisses. The entry is a narrow door followed by an immediate dark staircase (yes staircase and no elevator, we were with toddler and a baby and two stollers) leading to a door about 13" to 14" wide (about 30 to 35cm) and about 60" tall (150cm).
The room again a couple steps to get to and same ordeal as to get into as the guest house door ( a door not designed for humans).
The art of photography is at its best in Rome as the rooms that you see on the web is not quiet what it is once you get there.
The breakfast is located at another location/hotel and not next door.
There is no parking at the guest house and the closest parking is a 10min walk through a winding roads over the bridge behind the court house of sort.

All and all if you are single or a young couple it may be a thrilling place to stay but stay away if you have kids, strollers, problem with stairs, if you don't care about having a reception or bell boy to guide you as to where to go and what to do.

I gave 2 stars purely for its location as it is very central, right at the heart of Rome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Upon arrival to the BB we found nobody to welcome us. Thus we were forced to ask a phone at nearby restaurants to connect with the reception. A woman at the reception told that personnel was there already, we came back, he met us, but the building we booked was quite far wway from the original place (called Navona Governo Vecchio BB), we knew that we booked the annex building, but couldn't imagine how far it was from the main. Ok, when we arrived at Antica Dimora we got the smallest room there (out of 5 rooms). Later on their website we learned it was a single room. We spent one night there, but next day asked to cancel our reservation, since were fully unsatisfied with the accomodation. All the talks with the reception were held over the phone, again. They refused to cancel our reservation. So I asked to change the room at least. Theh agreed. The new room was much more spacious, but again very very dark. The interior is strange, old not in style, but in reality. The breakfast and cleaning was good. Wifi is slow and several times a day needs to log in.

Room Tip: Angelica room ok. Armida awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antichedimoreromane, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Dimora dell'Orso, responded to this review, 8 January 2015
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking time to leave a review.

In our parnter site, it's very good specified that "Antica Dimora Dell'Orso" is an annexe building.
It's a Guest Houses connected to the main building, Hotel "Antica Dimora Delle Cinque Lune".
The distance between them is just 250 mts away.

Our company is called "Antiche Dimore Romane" that means that every of our Mansion is not "in style" but renewed following the original style of the Mansion, with really antique furniture.

In fact of our Mansion has got its own style.
Art deco
Bizantyne
Baroque
and so on.

It's a client chance to choose the one they prefer.

Hoping to welcome you again in one of our beautiful Mansion, we wish you
Best Regards

Il Burcardo
Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, I had read on trip advisor that the hotel was difficult to find & to notify the hotel of the time we would be arriving, which I did by email a few days before we were due to travel. It wasn't too bad finding the street but the actual hotel is down a very small street and does not actually have a sign to say it is there, it would be more helpful if there was a sign. Getting into the building was very easy, someone answered the bell and opened the doors for entry almost immediately, and a member of staff came within 5 minutes to check us in. The room was nice and large and very clean, the breakfast was as we expected and we ordered a number of each item as advised after one of the other reviews in Trip advisor. The location of the hotel is excellent, within easy walking distance of a lot of the tourist sites, restaurants and bars. Overall we had an lovely stay at the hotel, the staff were all very helpful and allowed us to leave our luggage to collect later on the day of our departure as our flight was not leaving until late evening. The only problem we had was trying to get a bus back to the Termini to get the airport shuttle bus during rush hour, we waited for 40 minutes, all buses were packed, we ended up having to get to the Termini by other means.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antichedimoreromane, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Dimora dell'Orso, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Mr Lc,

We would like to thank you for sharing your nice comment with us!

All our staff always try to do their best to satisfy client's needs and become a memorable stay!

Hoping to welcome you again at "Antica Dimora Dell'Orso" we wish you

Best Regards
Anna Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed in the Medora room, and we loved it. The room is very big, the bathroom is also big and very clean :)
We read on Booking.com that the breakfast is terrible, but it wasn't that bad... The coffee was OK, BUT you can get much much better (!!) when you go out, but the rest is quite right. don't expect royal breakfast for the money you pay.
When you arrive, they will ask you what time you would like to have you breakfast. Because we're a couple who likes to leave early to travel (and I have a read that there is a lot of noise from the main room in the morning as they prepare breakfast - and indeed there is noise), I asked the earlier time - 8 AM, so the noise was not really relevant and not really bothered us sleep :)
It's very easy to miss the entry to the place. Keep a sharp eye on the signs of the streets of every alley !!! we read about it on Booking.com, and because we knew it was a problem, we gave extra attention to the signs, and found the place easily. You should also do so.
In addition, there are some stairs to climb with luggage to get in, and it's not the most comfortable (eg older couple) but definitely doable.

It is a very good (!!) hotel for low budget trip. We enjoyed our stay.

**It is very important (!) to coordinate with the hotel of your arrival time, to have someone to welcome you, do not underestimate this detail!!!!**

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fozgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antichedimoreromane, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora dell'Orso, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Ms Fozgirl
Thank you for sharing with us and other travellers your positive experience during your recent stay at the “Antica Dimora Dell’Orso”. We usually inform all our guests about the breakfast list that they can choose everything and put on it also the quantity, it doesn’t matter if you would like to eat eg 4 croissant and you are just 2 people! Our first aim is to satisfy the guests in every need and become their stay memorable.
Hoping to welcome you again at “Antica Dimora Dell’orso” in the near future, we wish you
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is not for those who want a 24 hour hotel desk to hold their hand, it's more like living in an apartment where someone brings you breakfast. The service is friendly, but there is no one there after 7pm. The beds are large and comfortable, the bathrooms modern and the windows large with old fashioned wooden shudders. The small block it is on is close to many major attractions and across from the Trestevere. If you are arriving late let them know ahead of time and be sure to get which key is which straight before you go out for the evening. Here's to living like a local instead of staying in another tourist hotel!

Room Tip: They have two large rooms for a few more euro that are a little grander.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Villager421523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antichedimoreromane, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora dell'Orso, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you kind feed-back.
Comments like yours always encourage our service.

Hoping to see you again at Antica dimora dell'orso, we wish you best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently on our trip to Europe. The inn is a bit difficult to find (look for the Hotel Portoghesi and then turn right down the alley to left of that hotel), but it is in a great location within walking distance of most of the main historic sites (Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Vatican). We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and bathroom. The building has a lot of character and wood beam ceilings. To get character, though, don't expect a standard hotel. There is no real "lobby" and no staff on-hand at all times. The staff that checked us in and brought our breakfast each morning were very nice, though. The best things about the hotel were the location, bathroom, and large room size. The main drawbacks were not having a staff person to help with questions about Rome and the quality of the breakfast. The breakfast only included mediocre coffee, bread, and croissants...other items like water, juice, etc. were a la carte and cost extra. WiFi was free and reliable, and the hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuparosa412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antichedimoreromane, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Dimora dell'Orso, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comment, because all our clients feedback help us to improve our service.
We would like to inform you that we are a “spread hotel” that means that we have different structure in Rome and all releted to a central reception that it’s open from 8.30 am to 9 pm every day.
If needed you should have called 100 by the phone into your room and the person in charge gave some advices!
Our first aim is to satisfy our clients needs and become their stay memorable!
After 10.00 pm we have also a guardian that answer at the phone in the night and a video door bell in case of emergency, the same person in charge will be able to help you in any kind of eventualities.
Concerning the breakfast, at the moment we are changing some products to ameliorate continously our service.

Hoping to welcome you again in the next future, we wish you best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Orso
Relais Orso
#441 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#580 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora de Michaelis
Antica Dimora de Michaelis
#325 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
L'antica Locanda Dell'Orso
Campo Marzio
Condotti Inn
Condotti Inn
#168 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Dimora dell'Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Dimora dell'Orso

Property: Antica Dimora dell'Orso
Address: Vicolo Dell'Orso 55, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,306 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Antica Dimora dell'Orso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antica Dimora dell'Orso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Dimora Dell`Orso Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing