We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent option for Marriott Central Park guests”
Review of Taverna Sacchetti

Taverna Sacchetti
Ranked #2,312 of 12,523 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent option for Marriott Central Park guests”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

a family run italian eatery that is a wonderful option for marriott guests. all focus is on the food and the service. not a "fancy" dining experience, but one that is not to be missed if staying at the neighboring marriott. it's a family run business where even the young son takes pride in participating in the service. after dining here the first night of our 4 night stay, we gladly went back for our final night dinner in rome. though i don't usually like to "repeat" dining experiences, it was an experience we WANTED to have twice. you will, too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sdpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    133
    52
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great escape from the restaurants at the Marriott Coutyard”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Courtyard Central park for 5 nights. After eating at the hotel we decided we needed to explore the neighborhood some, and came across this place. What a great find. It was packed all three nights we ate there with locals and I think only one night were there other tourists there. The food was very good in taste and preparation with home made pasta and two "specials" of the night, one pasta and one second plate. We had something different every night and did not have a bad meal. The local wine was good and very expensive (6 Euros for a liter).
The staff was attentive and I thought went out of their way to make sure our food was good. Every once in a while they would come by with something we did not order but wanted us to try it.
It as a fun place to eat, and we enjoyed it as evidenced by us going there for three of the nights we were in the area.
If staying at the Marriott and looking for some good home cooked food at very reasonable prices then take the three block walk to this place.

BObK

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B0bK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved the Ragu!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We just happened on this little restaurant and ended up eating here twice. Service is good and you're around lots of locals. Highly recommend the ragu sauce and the pasta with mussels and clams. Price is very reasonable too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baldrjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This restaurant, without pretensions but recommended by staff at the nearby Courtyard By Marriott Rome Central Park, offers Roman cuisine that is decent local fare not created for Egon Ronay or food snobs. Service is adequate, the menu is basic but varied enough and prices are relatively low. I was the only tourist in there, which is always a sign that food is made to appeal to the locals rather than those unfamiliar with the authentic cuisine. Menus were presented in plastic sleeves and everything about the place said "homemade". Food was much better than the aura of the place suggested, though the house wine looked and tasted pretty ordinary. Cappuccino was good and dessert was adequate and, again, homemade. Prices were reasonable and not topped out by a need to travel into the city for something more expensive and perhaps more tourist oriented. All in all a good find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great deal for people at the Marriott Central Park”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A breath of fresh air compared to the hotel prices. 6 euros for a litre of house wine !

Menu limited but the pasta dishes are excellent.

Basic but tasty and full of locals - always a good sign.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scicoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Sacchetti also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Sacchetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing